Wenger 30°F Kastern Sleeping Bag - Long, Mummy

Closeouts. Thanks to Climashield® XP insulation, the Wenger Kastern long sleeping bag provides warmth down to 30°F, ensuring a comfortable night's sleep through chilly backcountry nights.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Reviewed by Flygal from St. Louis on Thursday, July 18, 2013
    While I thought the sleeping bag was well-made and would have worked for my trip, I returned it. I took one of the two bags I purchased out of the stow sack with the help of my husband. It took 2 of us to get the sleeping bag out of the stow sack. We tried and tried and tried to get it back into the stow sack but were unsuccessful. Had the stow sack been of a reasonable size so we could actually use it, I would have kept the 2 bags.
  • Reviewed by Aleks from Vancouver, Canada on Friday, June 28, 2013
    Came with defective stuff sack. Sleeping bag must have been placed in with a machine. I'm 6'2, 300lbs and it took my wife and I 20 minutes to get it out of the bag. Lets just say that there was no way we were even close to being able to put it back in (we tried lots). Contacted Sierra customer support, and they refused to send a new stuff sack and inferred that I was doing it wrong. Unfortunately I can't return it as I have an Alaska trip coming next week where we are backpacking.

    Actual Sleeping bag is alright. I'm a very large guy and it fits, but could use a little more room around the shoulders, My chest size is around a 52, but I do move around a lot a night. Zipper does not go all the way down which would be nice.
  • Reviewed by Eurpean traveller from Idaho on Monday, April 29, 2013
    I got this bag to hike the Camino de Santiago. It is very pack able, lightweight and warm. I am 6'0 and the long bag fits just right. Also plenty of room to maneuver unlike other mummy bags. The compressible bag it comes with is great too. Highly recommend if you're going to do any Spring thru fall camping or backpacking.
  • Reviewed by serge88 from New Jersey on Monday, April 22, 2013
    This isn't a one star bag but I wanted to get your attention to avoid possible buyer's remorse. There is NOT a full length draft tube as described . It is 2/3 length as is the zipper - no opening down near your tootsies on this one . This reduces the temperature range and comfort somewhat, and for me was a deal breaker. In my book a full length draft tube means a full length zipper . Otherwise it's a decent bag. The existing zipper is a double so you can open the bag up at the 2/3 length bottom if desired. Just FYI folks.
  • Reviewed by New home - New shades from New York City on Monday, April 15, 2013
    6 foot male and plenty of room in the bag. Used this past wkend and reached the thermal limit but still not cold with a bit of underclothing. A great buy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Billywill from Arkansas Ozarks on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    I'm 6'1" 220lb and I switch positions alot to stay comfortable when I'm sleeping on the ground. This bag was exceptionally roomy for me, taking in to consideration it's a mummy and the "long" lists up to 6'6". This bag did not twist up around me during the night as some mummy bags have in the past. I can move without the bag moving with me. It packed back into the stuff sack without much trouble a
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Looking Foward from North Georgia on Wednesday, January 19, 2011
    I tried other bags but this is a great fit 6.1 225lbs. Not like I'm duct taped in.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Backpacking
    • Cons: None, Only rated to 30 degrees
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Adjustable Hood, Lightweight, Packs Small, Roomy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flash from Byrdstown, TN on Friday, November 19, 2010
    We have purchased numerous items from Sierra and find the prices are great [...] We bought 2 of these bags to take on our camper. They are comfortable and light weight. You may need to find another carrying bag as they are very difficult to get back in the supplied pouch.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Roomy, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.