Wenger Genuine Swiss Army Tool Chest Microlight Pocket Knife - 2-Blade

Closeouts. Just when you thought your favorite pocket knife couldn't get any better, Wenger Genuine Swiss Army comes out with the Tool Chest, a multi-use pocket knife with a built-in micro LED light.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Reviewed by Londo Mollari from Centauri Prime on Wednesday, July 23, 2014
    Wenger is out of the knife business. Victorinox has re-branded some of Wenger's pocket knives to keep them available in its "Delémont Collection" — but not this one. If you want the Microlight Pocket Tool Chest, this is your last chance.

    The microlight is a 3.5 mm white LED powered by two lithium watch batteries (a common size which is easy to find). The batteries are in a pull-out tray and easy to replace. The LED is not just a keyhole-finder: it is powerful enough to find your footing with in the dark. The equivalent Victorinox keychain knives are the Midnite Manager and Midnite MiniChamp. Wenger's LED is 50% brighter.

    A few comments on the tools:

    The awl has a needle point and sewing eye but no edge, so it is not a good reamer.

    The scissor blades are serrated and self-sharpening. The scissors spring is more robust than Victorinox's but it is not replaceable.

    The cap lifter has a non-magnetic flat headed screwdriver tip. Buy Victorinox if you need a magnetic Phillips head screwdriver.

    The micro screwdriver was a very tight fit, but it worked on my eyeglasses after I cleaned the gunk out of the screw slots. Wenger put this tool on their no-blade Swiss Clipper (out of production) and one TSA officer told me "that's a lock pick." Having no locksmithing skills, I cannot comment on his knowledge or ignorance.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Christina Bellini from Eugene, OR on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
    I haven't used it much, but I like the weight and feel of this pocket knife. I am hoping the scissors will loosen up a bit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Judy from Denver, colorado on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    Okay, but very small compared to leathermans
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Auntie June from TN on Wednesday, August 22, 2012
    Great for women to have in their handbag
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Compact, Versatile
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rj from akron, oh on Thursday, July 19, 2012
    The scissors aren't as precision engineered as are those of Victorinox, their Swiss counterpart
    • Best Uses: Day Trips, Road Trips
    • Cons: Scissors not great
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable Grip, Compact, Durable, Easy To Use, Good Weight, Sharp Blade, Versatile
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gray Stromrider from CA desert on Saturday, August 27, 2011
    I carry a full size Swiss Army knife on weekends but it is too big for office wear. I still want, at a minimum, a blade, scissors, nail file, and tweezers, all of which you can get in several compact knives. This model adds two small screwdrivers, other tools, and a light, at the cost of being a little thick, but still acceptable. I work in a windowless office and having the light in the event of a power failure is a good thing. It can also be useful in a dark parking lot at night. So the tradeoff is added features, some of which you may not use, against the added thickness in your pocket.
    • Cons: A little thick
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Compact, Durable, Easy To Use, Has light, Has tweezers, High quality, Robust scissors spring, Versatile
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lynda from Colorado on Wednesday, August 17, 2011
    Great tool!
    • Best Uses: Backcountry Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Environmentalist
    • Pros: Comfortable Grip, Compact, Easy To Use, Good Weight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Traveller from California on Sunday, May 8, 2011
    I like the light--very useful. Also, the translucent case is pretty.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry Camping, Day Trips, Road Trips
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable Grip, Compact, Easy To Use
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by candyandbambi from CA on Monday, February 28, 2011
    very compact and useful for anyone and good and light gift item
    • Best Uses: Road Trips
    • Describe Yourself: Environmentalist
    • Pros: Compact, Durable, Easy To Use, Good Weight, Sharp Blade
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shoe Shopper from Kansas City on Thursday, January 6, 2011
    Wenger is always dependable. The price on this made it even better.
    • Best Uses: Great for the pocket
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Compact, Good Weight, Sharp Blade, Versatile
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.