Whitewoods 301 Backcountry Touring Ski Boots - 75 MM (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. 301 nordic boots from Whitewoods are designed to keep your feet warm and dry with Thinsulate® insulation and waterproof synthetic uppers. A moisture-wicking, quick-dry lining and generously padded collar and tongue add to the comfort level.

Average Rating based on 234 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 20 ... 24 »
  • 191-200 of 234 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dackron from New York on Saturday, December 5, 2009
    I bought these boots for if/when we get enough snow and I want to get out for an hour or so on gentle terrain. I also have an old set of rollerskis with 3-pin bindings that I can use with these boots. These boots look like they'll work OK for in-track skiing at nordic centers, or on gentle, smooth trails or golf courses. These boots seem warm enough for backcountry use, but they're rather floppy and soft, so I don't expect they'll give enough support for rough terrain, trail breaking or skiing all day with an overnight pack on. But I have other (much more expensive) boots for that.

    One thing I should mention is that I needed to shave down the sides of the front part of the boot soles behind the duckbill so that the boots would fit in my 3-pin bindings. This was necessary for three different makes/models of bindings, so I think this is not an isolated problem. The boot's rubber sole is soft, so it was easy to shave without mishaps.

    Because the boot sole rubber is so soft, I worry that the pin holes might get damaged too easily. If you misalign the boot in the binding, the binding pins could easily punch new holes in the duckbills. It will be necessary to be very careful when putting the boots in the bindings.

    The fabric upper seems pretty tough. The sewing appears to be adequate and the lacing works well enough. I had to order a size larger than I normally wear as the boots definitely run short. The fit is rather wide, though, especially in the forefoot. This might be a problem for people with narrow feet. The heels fit snugly and the lacing works well, so I had no problem getting a reasonable fit.

    All I can say is that at this price, these Whitewoods boots are a terrific value if you need a spare pair of recreational XC ski boots, or all you plan to do is take easy excursions on skinny skis over gentle terrain. They'd also be great boots for a beginner who already has a pair of skis with 3-pin bindings. These Whitewoods boots are a major improvement over the vinyl upper, low-cut boots that were the only inexpensive boots available ten years ago.
    • Best Uses: Gentle cross country
    • Cons: Too Much Flex
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Affordable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bear tamer from Island Park, ID on Thursday, December 3, 2009
    Need more time to give a better opinion
    • Best Uses: Nordic
    • Cons: Too Much Flex
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Lacing System
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jen from Bozeman on Monday, November 30, 2009
    Wonderful boots. Can't beleive the great price we got on these. Excellent quality and very comfortable!
    • Pros: Adjustability, Comfortable, Easy Lacing System, Good Traction, Look Cool, Quality Construction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by M&S from UP-Michigan on Friday, November 27, 2009
    Happy to find three pin boots! Saved our old skis/bindings. Looks like a good boot - fits well although my wierd shaped feet feel a bit tight at the toe. Still nosnow so haven't had them on the ground yet.
    • Best Uses: 3-pin x-country
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Quality Construction, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by uncle willie from Palisade, Co. on Thursday, November 26, 2009
    they appear to be a good general touring boot. I haven't had them on skis yet, but for the price if they last 3 seasons they're worth it.
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Adjustability, Comfortable, Easy Lacing System, Quality Construction, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New to skiing from Tripoli, Iowa on Tuesday, November 24, 2009
    The product is warm and of good quality
    • Best Uses: All Mountain
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner / Getting Started
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Lacing System, Quality Construction, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Demosthenes from Athens, TX on Tuesday, November 24, 2009
    Waterproof, warm and breathable in a comfortable, lightweight boot. Good combination.
    • Best Uses: All Mountain, Park
    • Cons: Difficult Lacing System
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Traction, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mulegirl from Western Colorado on Monday, November 23, 2009
    These are great boots BUT the sizing was way off. Had to send back and get a size bigger. The Euro size was wrong.
    • Best Uses: Cross Country
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Adjustability, Comfortable, Easy Lacing System, Good Traction, Quality Construction, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by JimL from Cleveland ,OH on Friday, November 20, 2009
    Its hard to find the old 3 prong shoes. I am glad STP had them. My size is 11.5 mens and my daughter is 9 women. I first ordered a 45 for me and 40 for my daughter. Both pairs were too small. Returned and got the 46 and 41.[...]I can't wait for the snow.
    • Best Uses: Park
    • Cons: Run small in size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy Lacing System
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Tree Dodger from Brooklyn, NY on Thursday, November 19, 2009
    I bought these for a lightweight pair to take to nordic centers or for roller-skiing.

    Pros:

    - Can't beat the price! These are lot better than the cheap, soft vinyl shoes-with-duckbills that used to be the only cheap 3-pin boots around.
    - The sole has a reasonable tread with decent traction.
    - The duckbill is fairly thin (12mm), so will fit those old 3-pin bindings on those wooden skis you've kept from the 1970s.
    - The boots certainly seem warm.
    - The laces and eyelets seem sturdy enough.

    The cons:

    - These run short for their size. My toes are crammed in the size 43 I got.
    - These also run *wide*, which means it may be really tough for some people to get these to fit. I think it might help if you wear really thick socks with them.
    - The soles and duckbills are definitely not very stiff. Don't expect great control over your skis, unless you're really strong. I'd recommend these for easy grades and track skiing only. Not for tough terrain or ungroomed trails in the backcountry.
    - The stitching doesn't look great to me. I worry that the boots may start coming apart with more than a couple of seasons of use.

    Long story short: If these fit your feet, and you're looking for a lightweight pair of boots for in-track skiing or sliding around a golf course, cow pasture or other mellow terrain, these would be great. If you need a burly pair of boots for skiing in the woods or deep snow, look elsewhere.
    • Cons: Poor Construction, Poor Fit, Too Much Flex
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Warm
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 20 ... 24 »
  • 191-200 of 234 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.