Whitewoods skis and boots will help you step up your game when it’s time to hit the trails this winter. Whitewoods skis feature laminated wood cores and are built with an even, single-camber flex for optimal grip and glide on virtually any terrain. Whitewoods rugged, comfortable ski boots are offered in a number of styles and designs, from NNN-compatible boots for classic XC and skate skiing to classic 75mm toe models. Whitewoods Nordic skis and boots are made of lightweight, reliable materials that allow you to enjoy your tour instead of worr ... Learn more about Whitewoodsying about your gear. ... Less
Average Rating based on 369 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 37 »
  • 11-20 of 369 reviews
  • Reviewed by VERY experienced XC, Alpine and Telemark skier from Upstate NY, USA on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    Fits well, nice and warm, non-restrictive, yet the NNN BC binding even gives good enough control for telemark turning in easy snow. Excellent value.
  • Reviewed by Skip from Connecticut on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    These boots are light weight and provide the support you need in a cross country boot.
  • Reviewed by Snowshoer for life from Minnesota on Wednesday, February 05, 2014
    Fits slightly small. Nice warm, sturdy boot.
  • Reviewed by Mountain Girl from Flagstaff, Arizona on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    Great value and product. I am very happy with this purchase.
  • Reviewed by McCall Cal from Idaho on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    Overall quality is very good. Sizing appears to run a little large however.
  • Reviewed by McSwigs from Staten Island on Monday, February 03, 2014
    Bindings hold well, easy to clip in and out off. Skis have competent grip on uphills. One gripe.....Skis don't glide that well. Probably just need a touch of wax.
  • Reviewed by Andrew from Boise,Idaho on Monday, February 03, 2014
    These are a pretty decent set of cross country skis. They are not full metal edges. Only partial metal edges. They are a pretty good set of skis for groomed nordic trails. The partial metal edges and slightly wider bases make going down hill much easier. The no wax climbing portion of the skis underfoot is not done as well as some other brands such as atomic or rossignol. The climbing portion consists of ground out grooves into the base of the ski instead of the usual "fish scale" pattern you usually see on most skis. This may only be a disadvantage to some skiers. I didn't notice any difference in the ski's climbing ability on a fairly steep ( groomed) trail. They are wide enough to give you a little more stability yet narrow enough to still ski within the tracks. I have skied on these a few times now on some groomed trails here in the Idaho mountains. The trail I use them on climbs about 500 feet in about 2 miles. I pull my 2 year old son along behind me in a chariot ski trailer. The partial metal edges are a must for me coming back down hill. I am able to snow plow and control my speed even with the extra weight behind me with these skis. For what I have used them for they work pretty well.

    The rossignal bc 65 has specs that are pretty comparable to this ski. Without actually trying the rossignol bc 65 i would say the rossignol is likely a little better. Full metal edges with a better base, but you will also likley spend at least $100 more for skis/bindings. I would have to say overall that I am fairly happy with this set of whitewoods skis, but also glad I only paid $175 for them. Much more than this and I would have rather spent just a little more and purchased a pair of rossignol bc 65 (or 70s) or even a pair of madshus glittertind's.

    In my opinion these whitewoods skis are pretty good for people who are looking to ski groomed nordic trails and just want a ski that will give them a little better control especially for the down hill portions over a more traditional edgeless skinny nordic ski. I would not call these "backcountry skis," although they may work okay on a few short jaunts through woods. But face it, if you are really serious about climbing through untrailed snow and hitting some virgin glades then you are going to have a full on Tele setup. The rottefella bindings are great, easy to step into and get out of. The bindings alone are worth about $80 to $90. Don't be confused by the boots recommbended by Sierra, you MUST buy NNN BC boots.
    I am 5'9 and 150 lb and purchased the 180's; the poles that came with these skis are just about the perfect size, they fit right under my armpit. Overall a pretty good ski for the money. I would make sure that you also at least get them an additional 20 to 30% off, otherwise you might be better off spending just a little bit more to get a little higher quality of ski.
  • Reviewed by kdschreck from Philadelphia, PA on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    While this is my first venture into owning cross country equipment, I could not be happier with the performance of this set. I have only skiied twice so far, and had to "break trail" both times. Knowing that I would be doing mostly "back country" skiing, I selected this set for the fact that the skis have edges are for the fact that they have a modest parabolic shape. Another bonus of this set is the binding. I really like this binding with its "rails", that fit into grooves on the bottoms of the boots for more stability when applying pressure on the skis. While the length of the poles is predetermined by the length of the skis, I found my poles to be the ideal length for me. Since I will be doing mostly back country, I bought 180 cm skis (shorter than recommended for skiing on open, groomed trails; but a good compromise for navigating in the woods) and I'm 5' 9" tall. The poles come up to the middle of my shoulders.
  • Reviewed by kdschreck from Philadelphia, PA on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    Very comfortable, easy to walk in while off the skis, like that they look like hiking boots. Very warm. It seems that they run a little big, so you might consider going one size smaller.
  • Reviewed by santo from OH on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    I used my new Whitewoods on groomed trails on packed snow, at the low 20's. They kept my feet on track, warm and comfortable. I felt a little loos at teh heel - they lifted up on my kick, but nothing I could not tighten up. The normal width still accomadated a thicker smartwool sock, but I did not need it. A middle weight sock would make for a better fit. A competent boot.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 37 »
  • 11-20 of 369 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;