Whitewoods skis and boots will help you step up your game when it’s time to hit the trails this winter. Whitewoods skis feature laminated wood cores and are built with an even, single-camber flex for optimal grip and glide on virtually any terrain. Whitewoods rugged, comfortable ski boots are offered in a number of styles and designs, from NNN-compatible boots for classic XC and skate skiing to classic 75mm toe models. Whitewoods Nordic skis and boots are made of lightweight, reliable materials that allow you to enjoy your tour instead of worr ... Learn more about Whitewoodsying about your gear. ... Less
Average Rating based on 371 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 13 »
  • 1-30 of 371 reviews
  • Reviewed by Skier from Michigan on Friday, May 16, 2014
    Going on 2 seasons with these. They are warm and comfy, and I ordered about 1/2 size up so I can wear heavy wool socks. The only minor thing I noticed is the binding pin rusted overnight (probably stepped in some salt in the parking lot). I just spray with some silicone prior to using now to keep the corrosion at bay.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joel the cyclist from Michigan on Friday, April 25, 2014
    These boots are a great value and seem quite durable. They are without a doubt waterproof and breathable. I really enjoyed them this last winter and can't wait to use them again next winter!
  • Reviewed by amcdlm from Indy on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    First time cross country skier, got this package at end of season savings.....looking forward to trying out next winter!
  • Reviewed by Kenny from Virginia on Sunday, March 23, 2014
    A nice beefy, lined boot with a high-cut over the ankles, which can negate the use of gaiters when the snow is several inches deep. In all, they are a good value in the hard-to-find 3-pin style.
  • Reviewed by RLM from Ohio on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    My sister liked them. Right sizing.
  • Reviewed by Charlene from Chardon, Ohio on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    Feel great, high quality materials, very satisfied and most important my daughters feet never got cold, even when it was 12 degrees! I wish they were in my size, but were sold out.
  • Reviewed by lbuck from PA on Saturday, March 01, 2014
    these boots fit well, but they are extremely hard to connect to bindings. the nose of the boot is slightly too long. I shipped them back
  • Reviewed by MTJohn from Montana on Thursday, February 27, 2014
    I purchased these for use with light touring skis. Although sold as a back country boot, I think are more suitable for use for touring on groomed trails. The boots are comfortable. The materials are all synthetic. I will be curious to see how well they hold up.

    In spite of a couple of reviews that say otherwise, I think these boots run small, at least small relative to the stated American sizes. I ordered according to the European size, which, according to the American sizing, was one size larger than I normally wear, and the boots fit fine.
  • Reviewed by Bob from CNY on Monday, February 24, 2014
    Used these boots the day they arrived. Comfortable, nice and warm. True to size.
  • Reviewed by JohnTyler from Lake Tahoe on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    I bought these with the matching Whitewoods NNN shoes. Like I said in the shoe review, these products have performed adequately but I would not rave about them. They have been good for what I was looking for, which was an affordable set of cross country skis that I might use "occasionally". If we get any snow here in Tahoe, Im at the ski resorts...but if we dont have much, I take these out to the flatlands. Overall I think it is a good product but if you are trying to get into Cross Country skiing more avidly, I would recommend investing in something nicer.
  • Reviewed by JohnTyler from Lake Tahoe on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    Boots were a great deal. Fit is pretty true to size, maybe a bit on the small side. If you are inbetween sizes I would recommend going higher. My main criticism is that the tongue is not gusseted so snow can sneak in on the front. I have taken them out 3 times now and they have performed adequately. I alpine ski 90% of the time and Nordic ski 10% of the time. For me they work and I would give an average rating. I understand you are going to get what you pay for. If you plan on Cross country skiing more than "occasionally" I would recommend making an investment in a nicer pair though
  • Reviewed by Blaster Master from Wind River Mountains, Wyoming on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    Great fitting kicks, and you get more than what you pay for. I thought I was only going to ski on flats when I got them, but I've been using these for some powdery backcountry downhill, and they have been great. If you're really hardcore, you may want to put down a little more coin for a higher cuff and little more support (I think there's a backcountry version). When I bought them, I was worried about my feet getting cold, but my feet have always been warm and happy... which makes me happy.
  • Reviewed by VERY experienced XC, Alpine and Telemark skier from Upstate NY, USA on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    Fits well, nice and warm, non-restrictive, yet the NNN BC binding even gives good enough control for telemark turning in easy snow. Excellent value.
  • Reviewed by Skip from Connecticut on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    These boots are light weight and provide the support you need in a cross country boot.
  • Reviewed by Snowshoer for life from Minnesota on Wednesday, February 05, 2014
    Fits slightly small. Nice warm, sturdy boot.
  • Reviewed by Mountain Girl from Flagstaff, Arizona on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    Great value and product. I am very happy with this purchase.
  • Reviewed by McCall Cal from Idaho on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    Overall quality is very good. Sizing appears to run a little large however.
  • Reviewed by mcswig from Staten Island on Monday, February 03, 2014
    Bindings hold well, easy to clip in and out off. Skis have competent grip on uphills. One gripe.....Skis don't glide that well. Probably just need a touch of wax.
  • Reviewed by Andrew from Boise,Idaho on Monday, February 03, 2014
    These are a pretty decent set of cross country skis. They are not full metal edges. Only partial metal edges. They are a pretty good set of skis for groomed nordic trails. The partial metal edges and slightly wider bases make going down hill much easier. The no wax climbing portion of the skis underfoot is not done as well as some other brands such as atomic or rossignol. The climbing portion consists of ground out grooves into the base of the ski instead of the usual "fish scale" pattern you usually see on most skis. This may only be a disadvantage to some skiers. I didn't notice any difference in the ski's climbing ability on a fairly steep ( groomed) trail. They are wide enough to give you a little more stability yet narrow enough to still ski within the tracks. I have skied on these a few times now on some groomed trails here in the Idaho mountains. The trail I use them on climbs about 500 feet in about 2 miles. I pull my 2 year old son along behind me in a chariot ski trailer. The partial metal edges are a must for me coming back down hill. I am able to snow plow and control my speed even with the extra weight behind me with these skis. For what I have used them for they work pretty well.

    The rossignal bc 65 has specs that are pretty comparable to this ski. Without actually trying the rossignol bc 65 i would say the rossignol is likely a little better. Full metal edges with a better base, but you will also likley spend at least $100 more for skis/bindings. I would have to say overall that I am fairly happy with this set of whitewoods skis, but also glad I only paid $175 for them. Much more than this and I would have rather spent just a little more and purchased a pair of rossignol bc 65 (or 70s) or even a pair of madshus glittertind's.

    In my opinion these whitewoods skis are pretty good for people who are looking to ski groomed nordic trails and just want a ski that will give them a little better control especially for the down hill portions over a more traditional edgeless skinny nordic ski. I would not call these "backcountry skis," although they may work okay on a few short jaunts through woods. But face it, if you are really serious about climbing through untrailed snow and hitting some virgin glades then you are going to have a full on Tele setup. The rottefella bindings are great, easy to step into and get out of. The bindings alone are worth about $80 to $90. Don't be confused by the boots recommbended by Sierra, you MUST buy NNN BC boots.
    I am 5'9 and 150 lb and purchased the 180's; the poles that came with these skis are just about the perfect size, they fit right under my armpit. Overall a pretty good ski for the money. I would make sure that you also at least get them an additional 20 to 30% off, otherwise you might be better off spending just a little bit more to get a little higher quality of ski.
  • Reviewed by kdschreck from Philadelphia, PA on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    While this is my first venture into owning cross country equipment, I could not be happier with the performance of this set. I have only skiied twice so far, and had to "break trail" both times. Knowing that I would be doing mostly "back country" skiing, I selected this set for the fact that the skis have edges are for the fact that they have a modest parabolic shape. Another bonus of this set is the binding. I really like this binding with its "rails", that fit into grooves on the bottoms of the boots for more stability when applying pressure on the skis. While the length of the poles is predetermined by the length of the skis, I found my poles to be the ideal length for me. Since I will be doing mostly back country, I bought 180 cm skis (shorter than recommended for skiing on open, groomed trails; but a good compromise for navigating in the woods) and I'm 5' 9" tall. The poles come up to the middle of my shoulders.
  • Reviewed by kdschreck from Philadelphia, PA on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    Very comfortable, easy to walk in while off the skis, like that they look like hiking boots. Very warm. It seems that they run a little big, so you might consider going one size smaller.
  • Reviewed by santo from OH on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    I used my new Whitewoods on groomed trails on packed snow, at the low 20's. They kept my feet on track, warm and comfortable. I felt a little loos at teh heel - they lifted up on my kick, but nothing I could not tighten up. The normal width still accomadated a thicker smartwool sock, but I did not need it. A middle weight sock would make for a better fit. A competent boot.
  • Reviewed by Sarah from Minnesota on Monday, January 27, 2014
    The skis and bindings seem well made so far, however the poles snapped my second time out this season.
  • Reviewed by flyfish from Colorado on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    Great boots great price.
  • Reviewed by Kathy from Southern California on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    I usually wear 8 1/2 ladies and after reading the reviews, bought 9 1/2 (eur 41). I haven't skied in them yet (no snow in California), but they seem to be sturdy and comfortable, with room for a thick sock. I was happy to find boots that fit my old bindings.
  • Reviewed by Skully McNature from PA on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    We have used these at my environmental education center that I work at for years now. I now lean towards purchasing the Whitewoods brand than others due to when sizing the participants they are true fits, with other brands that are narrow I tend to have to run back and forth a bit to get the people sized up properly. Everyone always comments how warm they are as well as the generous padding that adds in comfort. We also find these boots to be very durable.
  • Reviewed by Debi Cullison from Golden CO on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    Excellent price, great value . Best I found in 3 pin boot in an economical price range. I have used these boots since they arrived and all I would add is to wear gaiters in deep or we t snow. Very satisfied.
  • Reviewed by Critter from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    got my wife a pair for x-mas, she said they keep her feet warm and dry. ordered a pair for myself but have not had a chance to use them yet. read another review that says that they run small, I ordered mine 1 whole size larger than the European conversion, and they fit fine.
  • Reviewed by swood41 from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    I am just getting into XC skiing/ backcountry touring and these boots are perfect for me. They were a great price and they keep my feet warm. I did get a full size bigger than I usually wear (for regular shoes) and they fit fine, especially with wool socks on. I would recommend these to any beginning skier.
  • Reviewed by MJ from colorado on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    Excellent value
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 13 »
  • 1-30 of 371 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;