You'll be paddling in familiar waters when you go with South Carolina-based Wilderness Systems. This company delivers tide-tested kayaks and spray skirts specifically tailored for touring, recreation, and fishing. Wilderness Systems even offers sit-on-top kayaks for beginners and calmer waters. Stable multi-chine hulls and cockpits with features that keep your ride comfortable and paddling efficient come standard on all Wilderness Systems kayaks. Face rough coastal waters on your long-distance excursions in one of Wilderness Systems' capable T ... Learn more about Wilderness Systemsempest-series touring kayaks with a spray skirt. Or check out one of their Angler sport kayaks for stealthy, motor-free fly fishing action. As always, Wilderness Systems also offers some of the best kayak accessories out there, so look to Sierra Trading Post for their rugged nylon spray skirts that tightly seal out water or PFDs crafted just for kayakers. ... Less
Average Rating based on 102 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 11 »
  • 1-10 of 102 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from CA on Tuesday, July 29, 2014
    Nice handles for carrying. Convenient cup holder and dry storage in front of seat. Tracks well in the water.
  • Reviewed by frankie from Canby, OR on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    I got this kayak after trying some Jacksons, Ocean Kayak, and the Tarpon 12. For touring, fishing, this kayak fits my perfectly. Its a little heavier than the Ocean Kayak, but you're giving up weight for comfort. The seat is light years ahead of the Ocean Kayak seats. I also like how it sits a little higher in the water than the OC. On the other hand, because of that weight up higher, the OC is a little more stable. I like the storage options on this yak, as well as the slide trax which will give me the ability to quickly and easily had rod holders, fishfinders, etc.
  • Reviewed by Moose from Comox, Vancouver Island, BC, Canada on Saturday, September 29, 2012
    I bought one of these from Sierra Traders 2 years ago and have been delighted with it. I am 6'3" and 240 lbs. I have found that not many serious kayaks are available to suit larger paddlers; but this one is great. The cosmetic flaws were almost undetectable, the rigging is excellent, and the boat has proven very durable over the course of some frequent rough useage on rocky shorelines. I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends whom it might fit. Definitely not, however, a boat for petite folks.
    • Best Uses: Extended Or Daylong Trips
    • Cons: Fairly heavy, So-so Maneuverability
    • Pros: Good Choice For Big Guys, Lots of carrying capacity, Stable, Tracks well
  • Reviewed by Paddling chick from Neenah WI on Thursday, September 13, 2012
    I've been wanting a 14' Tsunami kayak for a while now and this is a very good deal. I received it 4 business days after I ordered it. UPS waited for me to unwrap and inspect it before I signed for it. Since it was a 2nd I didn't know quite what to expect. Other than a few minor scratches it is awesome. The hatches fit tight and you have to struggle with them for a season, but I already own one and I knew that going in.
  • Reviewed by The Bullet from Santa Barbara CA on Wednesday, March 28, 2012
    I have been surfing this Kayak for 10 years. I traded in my longboard for the Kaos because of some physical problems (bad shoulder) and never looked back. More manuverable than a long board, just as fast, cut backs, bottom turns, floaters, Planes across the face. It paddles into waves long boards cant catch. It saves on energy paddling back out (doesnt hurt my shoulder) and sits you up and out of the cold water while waiting for a set. Great performance. Great durability. ( I had to stop leak the rear hatch door as I have read others had to do also. The storage door was a bad idea. Other than that I can HIGHLY recomd the Kaos!!! (Just dont get caught inside...there is no such thing as a duck-dive on the Kaos instead you get launched backwards head over teakettle.) LOL
    • Best Uses: Ocean Swells, Up to 6 foot surf
    • Cons: Need 3 large fins
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Best surfing kayak, Compact, Easy To Lift, Easy to Paddle, Good Maneuverability
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Folsom Yaker from Folsom CA on Monday, February 06, 2012
    I have been spoiled by my touring kayaks. That said, this is the best paddling recreational kayak I have been on. I owned the 140 a few years ago and liked it, but am enjoying the 160 more. It is very stable, and I was averaging around 3.5-4mph per two GPS's (mine and a buddy's)at an easy and sustainable pace.

    It tracked very well, but I am adding a rudder for wind and current. Not bad for a 75 pound sit on top.

    The front hatch is very roomy and easy to access but the smaller hatch by the seat was a tad too small to whip my DSLR in its dry bag out in time to capture a friendly river otter we came upon. I think I could fix this with a different dry bag and found that inserting it lens toward the seat worked much better. It was the diameter, the space is roomy.

    The 160 has the build quality typical of Wilderness Systems. No skimping anywhere. Solid build and well outfitted. Very long and sleek in the water.

    I needed a sit on top that could keep up with friends in their touring yaks due to some recent medical reasons and the 160 has filled the bill. I am looking forward to many more paddles in this yak and will probably get a little fishing in too.

    The weight is partly size, and partly because this thing is built like a tank. We regularly drag our yaks over rocks to access tidal nature areas, and ride up on beaches and rocky shores to have a meal or wander through nature. It is hard to imagine anything hurting this thing. It is nice not to worry about a fiberglass or composite hull getting damaged by this treatment.

    I was actually shopping for something else when I came accross Sierra Trading Posts' listing. This was advertised as a blem but agressively priced. I have never bought a blem before and was a little unsure until I received it. The blemmish was hard to spot and the yak came with the owners manual, registration card, scuppers and everything a non-blem would. If you see one of these deals here and are in the market, do not hesitate.

    I am very happy with my purchase, and with Sierra Trading Post. This was my first purchase here, and based on this experience I have ordered several more items and will regularly visit for my paddling and outdoor needs.
    • Best Uses: Day Trips, Flat Waters, Rivers
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Easy to Paddle, Nice looking, Stable, Well built quality
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by UT from Washoe Valley Nv. on Sunday, March 20, 2011
    Twin 11 yr. old girls on Lake
    • Best Uses: Day Trips
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Comfortable, Compact, Easy Entry & Exit, Easy To Lift, Easy to Paddle, Good Maneuverability, Stable
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Robbie from North Carolina on Saturday, February 26, 2011
    I have been kayaking for over 30 years and currently have seven in the stall. I sold an older tarpon 160 the same day I took delivery on my new one. It is a great, quality product. This kayak is a second. It did have a cosmetic blemish on the right side but nothing that I wouldn't put on it the first time I hit a tree or rock. Otherwise the kayak looks fine. [...] I got this kayak for almost half price.
    • Best Uses: Day Trips, Flat Waters, Kayak Camping, Ocean Swells
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Easy to Paddle, Good Maneuverability, Stable
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fink from VA on Wednesday, September 29, 2010
    it looks like a solid spray skirt but the sizing chart is wrong you need to order the next size up if you want any chance to have it fit your boat could not get on with two people
    • Best Uses: Day Trips, Recreational Paddlers
    • Cons: Difficult To Attach, Not Functional
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Rugged
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jo from MA on Tuesday, September 07, 2010
    XS Size is too small for anyone but a child. Could not save it for my little brothers because a small child would not be strong enough to use this safely.
    • Cons: Not Functional
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 11 »
  • 1-10 of 102 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;