Wolverine Northman Gore-Tex® Work Boots - Waterproof, 8”, Plain Toe (For Men)

Closeouts. With Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable protection, a removable padded insole and a Vibram® rubber outsole, Woverine's Northman Gore-Tex® work boots provide excellent protection and comfort throughout the workday.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Buyer from Northern Calif on Monday, June 23, 2014
    Heavy duty work boots which is why I purchased them. Definitely not hiking boots if that's what you're looking for . . . too heavy and stiff. They do run large by at least a half size and for me, a full size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joshua from Boone NC on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
    Wow, hands down the best pair of work boots I have ever owned! The quality, finish, design, and structure is what you would expect from a 300$ US made leather work boot. With the price from STP, how can you pass up a deal like this?! The boots are all leather and are 8 inches from top of sole to top of boot. The toe is fairly hard and provides rear ankle support too. The shoe strings are sturdy and take a few days to get worn in and stretched out. The Gore tex membrane is great and keeps my feet cooler and drier than any other 2 lb work boot I've ever owned. The vibram soles are solid as a rock and will take tons of abuse. It does take about about 2 weeks to get the boots completely broken in, and I suggest using some mink oil the first few weeks or so as soon as you get them. They are pretty comfortable, I would say a 8 out of 10. I've worn them for 10 hours straight and was still comfortable. Remember, these are heavy duty work boots, so they aren't gonna feel like tennis shoes haha. As far as size, they run about a size big. I am usually a 9 in boots. I got these in an 8 and they fit perfectly. If you want an all leather USA made work boot for a steal of a price than these are your boots!!
  • Reviewed by Beach Bound from Maryland on Thursday, May 8, 2014
    Seems to be a quality product, stitching is even, no flaws in leather. But -
    Do not purchase 'extra wide' expecting a true extra wide men's size boot.
    I purchased 8WW. This is a higher volume boot ( toebox area higher than average) and insole is removable if you need orthotics. But the length was true to size - if you are between sizes and have a narrow foot, you might size down. But the width through the ball of foot and toebox is little if any wider than a Men's "D" width. As a female I find them very nice looking, but IMHO would not purchase for a man. I'm going to try wearing indoors to see if I think they will 'break in' enough to work, but I believe will be too narrow. Fortunately Sierra Trading Post has great return policy, but love the Gore-Tex, vibram sole, and made in USA - would be great if they work.
  • Reviewed by Asetic Wayfarer from Nirvana on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    Plaugue of the northen european is high arches; this boot did not have sufficient arch support for my narrow foot and high arch, but I had high hope given the deep gusset and lacinng design that goes all the way down to the tow line. I loved the outstanding stitching and quality upper and sole, but the fit simply wasn't sufficient. The price was incredible for the product. The tabs at the top of the boot heal both pulled away, which is more cosmetic than functional and may be the reason the boots are offered at such an incredible price.

    This boot is an excellent value for people with low arches or that use arch inserts.

    Beautiful boot!
  • Reviewed by Woodlot owner from Tonasket on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    Not so hot. The heal and toe backing have already failed. the leather have several deep cuts in the leather.
  • Reviewed by Blanco Feo from Seabrook, Texas on Friday, December 13, 2013
    Great looks...hmmm...don't judge them until you man handle them...well, to my disappointment the Pull Loops easily broke loose...what happen?
  • Reviewed by Dick the Carpenter from South Carolina on Monday, October 21, 2013
    Great boot. Fits slightly large as I expected from reading a previous review before my purchase but since I wear a tick sock with work boots they are prefect for me. I would have preferred the tan boot rather than the black which was the only color available in my size.

    I would recommend this boot to anyone and especially getting a quality product produced in the USA!
  • Reviewed by Joseph from mass on Sunday, October 20, 2013
    Bought for work seem durable time will tell hard to break in
  • Reviewed by Heli-Pilot Adam from Central/Upstate NY on Saturday, October 19, 2013
    Here's the deal, I have had every kind of boot, spent up to $400.00 on a pair. These boots are not only the most comfortable out of the box, but the quility of the construction truly is old school made in the USA. The leather is flexable/supple but also tough. The Gore-Tex liner makes them a sinch to slip in and out of. I was so impressed with the fit, finish and quility that I purchased a second pair for when these wear out, which I am guessing will be many years in the future. No joke folks, these boots feel as though your wearing a comfy broken in pair of sneakers!
  • Reviewed by lapstraked from Wyoming on Tuesday, October 8, 2013
    Being wary of ordering boots online I tried to be extra careful to make sure I got the right size. Wolverine's website has no sizing chart. Contacting their customer service I was told that they were "true to size", whatever that means. I finally found an agent who told me that a 10.5 boot is 29.5 cm long. I thought that was odd since almost all other boot and shoe companies list size 10.5 as 27.5 cm. I normally wear a 10 to 10.5 and wanted them a little loose for wear with thick socks. So, assuming they were "true to size" I ordered the 10.5. Needless to say they were huge! There was a good 1-1.5 inches between the end of my toe and the end of my boot. So, I had to return them and went down a full size to 9.5 and they fit almost perfectly although they seem a bit narrow. The boots seem well built with sturdy leather and I am happy to finally have a quality boot made in the USA for a change so I am going to give them a try. I've worn them for a few day but not on any major hikes yet but so far they are solid and comfortable. I think the boot quality is good, just be wary of the sizing.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.