Wolverine Northman Gore-Tex® Work Boots - Waterproof, 8”, Steel Toe (For Men)

Closeouts. With Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable protection, a removable padded insole and a Vibram® rubber outsole, Wolverine's Northman Gore-Tex® work boots provide excellent protection and comfort throughout the workday.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by Hard Workin' Woman from Washington on Friday, March 21, 2014
    I am a huge advocate of Dr Marten and Caterpillar Boots but these beat them out. No break in period necessary. I work on on ships and subs, deck plates and concrete all day long and my feet feel like they are literally in pillow lined boots. They are soft and comfortable inside, yet give the structure and stability a good boot needs to support feet. They have withstood hard wear and tear and feel new every day. I like to have more than one pair of boots to rotate out with and I will be getting another pair of these to use. If you are not accustom to the taller boot it may take a couple weeks for your shins and ankles to break in the leather but it is well worth it.
  • Reviewed by Hard Workin' Woman from Washington on Friday, March 21, 2014
    I am a huge advocate of Dr Marten and Caterpillar Boots but these beat them out. No break in period necessary. I work on on ships and subs, deck plates and concrete all day long and my feet feel like they are literally in pillow lined boots. They are soft and comfortable inside, yet give the structure and stability a good boot needs to support. They have withstood hard wear and tear and feel new every day. I like to have more than one pair of boots to rotate out with and I will be getting another pair of these. If you are not used to the taller boot it make take a while for your shins and ankles to break in the leather but it is well worth it.
  • Reviewed by Mark Francis from Cornelius, NC on Tuesday, December 03, 2013
    These are very nice boots, a little wide in medium. I have a normal size foot. The only issue I had and someone else stated this, the tongue is a 2 piece deal and is folded over at the seam. It protrudes at your ankle and is very uncomfortable, unwearable. One boot was better than the other. I called wolverine and got a generic person on the phone who was no help, they said to return them or they would give me 25$ to get them fixed. I was kind of shocked, these boots actually have a youtube video about their construction and how proud wolverine is of this boot, all hand made in the USA. The customer service person had no idea how to fix the issue nor any suggestions and basically the buck stopped with her. The problem is easily found, just run your hand down into the boot along the tongue and if yours has this issue you will feel a massive fold at the seam, hard to miss and it makes me wonder how Wolverine inspectors or the maker could miss this. Are they selling seconds here, don't know. Anyway I sent them back for another pair, this pair was much better, the left boot perfect the right one protrudes but is manageable if the boot is not tied to tight. I hope it will eventually go away. Needless to say I was very surprised by this considering the care that Wolverine says goes into every one of these boots on the YouTube video.
  • Reviewed by spiderlegs from Taos, NM on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    Ordered these to replace my well-worn previous work boots (that I also bought from STP). They seem to be made exceedingly well. Look like a real heavy duty, quality made product. They fit right on the money size-wise in the foot area. Very nice. However, up into the shaft of the boot, they chafed the inside of my ankles very noticeably (both feet). Seems to be related to the tongue and boot shaft fit (for me). It would have been nice to keep them, but I didn't want to take the chance of wearing out my ankles over a few months just to find out. So I returned them. Also, the steel toe would have been better had it covered more of the forefoot like my other work boots. I use my boots for heavy chainsaw/logging work, and I really need good protection there.
  • Reviewed by Ephblum from Amherst, NY on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    These boots are well-made and should wear well. I specifically searched for these and was very happy to find them at STP after learning about them on the Wolverine site as I was looking for quality un-insulated work boots that are waterproof (this seems to be a hard-to-find combination for some reason). These are very similar in terms of construction and look (aside from the UL listing for/and chainsaw protection) of my Matterhorn MT2000 boots which I have used for years and been very satisfied with (just not quite as tall which is what I was looking for). Fit is fine although I was getting a bit of a hotspot on the outside front from the lace rivets it seemed to subside right away with some walking around. EH rated is also a plus and has all the safety features you normally look for (steel toe, shank, no slip, etc.). I was pleasantly surprised at how lightweight they seem to be vs some other work boots I have. Heavy duty means takes some time to break in, but that is part of the fun of new boots. I have only worn them a few times before getting the review reminder (if I don't comment now I will probably never remember later) so durability issues can't be addressed aside from the observation that they seem well-constructed and the leather seems very durable.
  • Reviewed by Square Feet from Missouri on Monday, November 11, 2013
    Didn't have a chance to test these out as I ordered an Extra Wide and they were still too narrow. Other than that, they were as depicted, looked like well made, sturdy boots. Note that the toe "flap" is only attached to the laces, so it is removable if you choose.
  • Reviewed by theoprastus from Pennsylvania on Saturday, November 02, 2013
    Waterproof warm but comfortable and light. If you have wide feet the extra wides can't be beat. These are the best boots by a wide margin. You will want to wear these for leisure as well as work.
  • Reviewed by Judd from Washington on Monday, September 30, 2013
    Boots are excellent for the price. My only issue is the upper and lower tongue is stitched together creating a terrible pressure point on the ankle. I am surprised this has not been mentioned, maybe it is just me. I am hoping the seam will relax and not be an issue long term.
  • Reviewed by Al from Ohio on Friday, July 05, 2013
    Well made, high quality work boots, true to size, short break-in period, would buy again.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.