Woolrich Melton Wool Aviator Hat (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. A stylish, comfortable and warm accessory for cold winter days, the Woolrich Trooper aviator hat features toasty Melton Wool, soft flannel lining and protective ear flaps with adjustable chin strap.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by Bird Counter from West Virginia on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    These requests to review are sent too soon; product has not been used much. Have not worn hat outdoors. Looks and feels OK, with these few points. Chin strap does not secure very closely. Will have to see if that necessitates wearing neck gaiter or scarf. Hat seems just slightly too big [I am a petite woman] so that the front flap is going to slide down and ride on the top of my glasses. I like shieding my eyes from the sun, but do hope vision will not be obscured.
  • Reviewed by Lawn bliss from Tennessee on Tuesday, December 24, 2013
    Fits well, much warmer than expected... good value...
  • Reviewed by Sunshine from N.C. on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    I got this for my husband. He likes it. He hopes it will block the cold wind on the mountain. It was a good buy. Compared to Woolrich Co.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dj from Monroe, NC on Tuesday, December 27, 2011
    Product was delivered in a timely manner and was a high quality product for the price.
    • Pros: High Quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by malls not my thing, prefer mail order from Atlanta, GA on Tuesday, December 27, 2011
    Gave as gift to boy who loved it and didn't take it off for days.
    • Best Uses: Cold weather, Sporty look
    • Pros: Versatile, Warm, Well constructed
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Field Biologist Girl from Washington State on Tuesday, December 20, 2011
    I'm going to return it. The chin strap is HUGE. The ear flaps meet under my chin by themselves, then there's this huge wide chin strap that would go all the way around my head. Plus, the metal snaps are oversized, and there's no fabric under them - cold metal snaps sitting directly on your face. I thought of ways to adapt it, starting with removing the chin strap entirely, but then I remembered I already have a jury-rigged hat and was looking for something better than that. I need something that fits close enough to keep the wind out, and this won't do it, even with the chin strap removed and the ear flaps fastened under my chin.
    • Cons: Metal snaps contact skin, One Size way too big
    • Pros: I do like the color
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by yoellis from Baltimore MD on Monday, December 19, 2011
    The hat runs small - or at least looks quite small - and doesn't really work as a man's hat, though it is listed as being for both men and women. Also - it is not what I would call a substantial winter hat - perhaps a 6 on a scale to 10 for warmth. Other than that - it's good looking and well made...
    • Best Uses: Fashion Accessory
    • Cons: Not very warm, Runs Small
    • Pros: Attractive to look at, Good quality workmanship
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pumacreek from Coast Range, Oregon on Sunday, December 18, 2011
    Fairly nice looking hat, and comfortable to throw on, but the head portion over the skull is not terrifically warm; it feels thin there and not very wind resistant. Also the snaps that hold the chin flap are spaced so there is a large gap at the chin and neck, which defeats the warmth feature of the chin flap. I use it to go outside around the house, but I wouldn't wear it if I were going to be outdoors for an extended period in weather cold enough to really want a hat. It's fun though.
  • Reviewed by Kelly from Prescott AZ on Thursday, December 15, 2011
    I bought one in the charcoal and one in the oatmeal. The grey one I had to exchange because of a defect, and STP made that very easy. This is a cute hat at a great price. I love aviator hats because they keep your ears and neck warm and don't smash your hair down like a beanie, but I hate the poofy ones with faux or (worse) real fur. This is a pretty low-profile aviator hat. What you can't see from the picture is it's lined with a cute plaid-type fabric and the brim and ears are lined with wool. You can wear the outer ear flaps up or down, which is nice, because a lot of aviators have them sewn in one position. My only complaint is that the neck strap has three giant snaps which are cold and heavy. I'm thinking of removing the strap.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.