Wusthof Silverpoint II Knife Block Set - 10-Piece

Closeouts. An entry-level knife set for the aspiring cook, Wusthof's Silverpoint II knives are lightweight and laser-cut to incredible sharpness. Makes a great starter knife set or wedding gift.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Natonthelake from Indiana on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    Good value - this set meets most prep needs, the knives handle well - a bit lighter weight than I'm used to but serviceable nonetheless.

    They clean up easily & seem to keep their edge.
  • Reviewed by John from Kentucky on Wednesday, December 25, 2013
    Bought these for my mother for Christmas. She was thrilled to have a matched set of knives and raves about their performance!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dealshopper from Lansing, MI on Saturday, December 29, 2012
    It's been a while since I treated myself to new high-quality knives. These are extremely sharp. The steel is on the thin side and I don't know how that will hold up through sharpenings over time but, for now, these are a pleasure to use. The wooden block is very nice too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pame from northern california on Friday, December 21, 2012
    It seems to be very good quality for the price. It was bought as a gift and the recipient is very pleased.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BakerBoy from La Grande, Oregon on Wednesday, October 31, 2012
    I bought this knife set for my wife. She is an excellent cook but has never really had a quality set of knives. I think these will serve her well. Great, sharp, quality knives at a discounted price.
    • Best Uses: Meat
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Cook
    • Pros: Quality Construction, Stays Sharp
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Knittingmami from Astoria, NY on Wednesday, July 4, 2012
    Great value for high quality knives
    • Best Uses: Veggies
    • Cons: Dulls Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Cook
    • Pros: Quality Construction
  • Reviewed by rbrband from OKC, OK on Tuesday, April 17, 2012
    A good set for those starting out with German steel. Somewhat small knives--the bread knife is relatively small--that can prove a plus. (I think that this set has an even smaller bread knife, also--quite handy, and a very nice bonus!) This steel won't rust as cheaper Chinese steel will....

    The scissors/kitchen shears do separate--making cleaning easier. (This feature induces the shears more readily to come apart unexpectedly over time, though.) Unfortunately, the shears' blades thicken--closer to the handles--this makes them hard to sharpen--especially with an electric sharpener--or a "cross" device with ceramic sharpening stones. The sharpening steel works fine--it will take quite a long time with the scissors, though: That will prove very frustrating and annoying. (Other reviewers on other sites also have noted that the shears, available separately and for a relatively small price, aren't all that great.)

    For one thing, the shears won't cut certain things well (at least, given the way the shears "end up" over time)--notably, tendons in chicken. The blades, given certain materials or foods, may tend even to "hesitate" and "slip"--not cutting well at all.

    Thus, I've "cheated"--I now sharpen both sides of blades for the shears--that wasn't intended by Wusthof. The shears now perform somewhat better, but that's certainly not the best thing for the steel. It's also tedious to get to the best sharpening possible (over time), in this manner--given the frustrating blade thickness. Really, I prefer my Japanese Henckels scissors: Those are far more dependable and always work relatively well.

    My block for this set has become separated--I must re-glue that. It's been over a decade since purchase, though.

    This set likely won't be the last fine cutlery purchase for a traditional couple/nuclear family or an amateur chef (or, alternately, a gift that will prove sufficient far into the future). Given prices these days, though, it's a good start into quality--and, a nice gift.

    Perhaps, given better scissors/shears (virtually any other better shears from a good competitor brand should be superior), the set then should prove satisfactory. Given the handy sizes of the knives, I'm keeping mine around.
    • Best Uses: Bread, Gifts, Meat, Veggies
    • Cons: Dulls Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Cook
    • Pros: Comfortable Grip, Easy To Clean, Quality Construction
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Striker from Corpus Christi, TX on Wednesday, April 11, 2012
    These are a good quality knife with a great price tag. I would recommend them to anyone who likes to cook and anybody who likes well made knife.
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cook
    • Pros: Great steal, Stays Sharp
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.