Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Ahnu Calaveras Hiking Shoes - Waterproof, Leather (For Women)

Item #425YH
$49.99 Save 58% Compare at $119.95
M Reset selected width
Loading
 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Ahnu Calaveras Hiking Shoes - Waterproof, Leather (For Women)

Closeouts. With high-performance features in a low-profile design, Ahnu's Calaveras hiking shoes carry you off the beaten path with confidence and comfort. Ahnu's waterproof breathable membrane provides full moisture protection, and Numentum® Hike technology with a stabilizing TPU shank and a lugged Vibram® rubber outsole deliver outstanding support and all-terrain traction.

Specs

Specs about Ahnu Calaveras Hiking Shoes - Waterproof, Leather (For Women)

  • Waterproof (All)
  • Waterproof materials: Ahnu's waterproof membrane
  • Gusseted tongue
  • Upper: Leather and textile
  • Lining: Textile
  • Removable insole
  • Midsole: Ethylene Vinyl Acetate (EVA)
  • Outsole: Vibram® rubber
  • Heel height: 1-1/4"
  • Weight (pair): 1 lb. 8 oz.
  • All specs based on size 8
  • Made in China
  • Visit our Hiking Footwear Guide
  • US shipments only

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.568181 5 Overall Rating: 4.6 Based on 44 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Sturdy, true to size hiking shoes
Reviewed by Monica from Portland on Thursday, April 26, 2018
I’m very happy with these shoes, I am a solid size 9 in most shoes, but sometimes have to get a 9.5 in hiking shoes so that my toe doesn’t bump the front going downhill—not with these, the 9’s are perfect and fit a true euro size 40. The toebox is generous and the shoe is overall very well cushioned... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Ahnu-Calaveras-Hiking-Shoes-Waterproof-Leather-For-Women Remove reviews search
  • Nice hiking shoe
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Slipstream from Blue Ridge mountains on Monday, August 13, 2018
    Comfortable and very good looking.
  • leather quality so so, not wide
    Reviewed by MP Chicago from Chicago on Tuesday, August 7, 2018
    If you have a narrow to normal foot, this would work for you. Leangwise true to size. Leather quality is much lower than Ahnu used to make 5-10 years ago. Leather is stiff and feels like plastic. It says waterproof but i havent tested it yet. Decising whether to keep them or to return.
  • Painful
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Amber in the garden from Wisconsin on Sunday, July 29, 2018
    I got these to work in the field because of the waterproofing and potential to brush mud off of the leather. When I tried them on they seemed okay, but the first day I wore them my feet just hurt all day. There isn’t enough height in the toe area, so they press down on my toes and the ball of my foot. My feet hurt all the next day! I’m definitely not going to wear them anymore.
  • More like a duck boot
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by BeautifulDreamer from Western Colorado on Saturday, July 28, 2018
    Waterproof, more comfortable and stable with an orthotic insole. Size seems just right.
  • Comfortable and Waterproof
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mari from New Jersey on Friday, July 27, 2018
    I needed hiking shoes that were comfortable, waterproof, and would not take up a lot of space in my bag (or be too heavy) for an upcoming trip. These shoes were perfect and look great.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “is it better to go up a size? I've heard different opinions on it”
    Asked by Sabrina from WY on 7/24/2018 6:31:53 PM
    • Size 10 is my usual size and I’m happy in that size. Width is generous, too
      Answered on 7/24/2018 6:43:51 PM by Treehugger from SE MASS
    • I went 1/2 a size up and they were a little big but will allow me to wear thicker socks ( which I wanted to be able to do). Love the shoes. Bought two pair!!
      Answered on 7/24/2018 6:48:24 PM by MaryAnn from Pennsylvania
    • My regular shoe size is 9 1/2; difficult to find. I routinely buy size 10, which these are. They fit well, but I also wear orthotic inserts which require some space. Toe box is roomy. I love mine. Walk our dogs 4 - 6 miles most days (not all at once). Truly waterproof.
      Answered on 7/24/2018 6:53:59 PM by Leo's Mom from MN
    • Ordering my regular size was perfect for me. I have very high arches and wide at the toes. I felt these shoes were made just for me. I haven’t had the opportunity to wear out and about as it still hot in N.C. I liked the so much I ordered a pair of Ahnu walking shoes. They are perfect. I hopes this helps you. My 68 yr old feet loves them.
      Answered on 7/24/2018 7:42:56 PM by Sleepypeepers from Winston-Salem
    • I would say no, these are true to size. My pre-children shoe size was a true 6.5; I've "expanded my footprint" to a post-children (x3) size 7. I bought a 6.5 (because it was the only size available at the time in yellow).

      I wear these shoes at work in 12-hour shifts. They were initially a bit tight (because I knowingly purchased a 0.5 size too small) but, after a few shifts, now fit fine. A 7 would've been perfect. If I'd sized UP to a 7.5 they would definitely be loose and would cause blistering. If you wear these for hiking (as intended) and plan to wear thick socks, order your usual size and just break them in slowly.
      Answered on 7/24/2018 8:40:44 PM by Michelle the Nurse from Raleigh, NC
    • As with most hiking and athletic shoes, I ordered a half size larger in the Ahnu to allow for extra toe room and thicker socks. It worked out fine with this shoe and allowed me to put in a cushier insole.
      Answered on 7/24/2018 8:46:02 PM by Querque Girl from Albuquerque
    • Yes, I went up 1/2 of a size because I felt the toebox was a tiny bit too short. When hiking up and down hills especially you need to have some toe room. They fit great good luck they’re really good looking on.
      Answered on 7/24/2018 8:52:44 PM by Yosemite girl from California
    • I don't think so. My experience is that they run somewhat wide, and possibly a little long. I wear a 6.5 and have very narrow heels and sort of wide ball of the foot. The heel is perfect for me and stays put! I hiked in Switzerland with them and had trouble walking across a 30 percent grade because they were slightly wide. It didn't work with the angle. It's so hard to give advice on this, because sometimes I think Sierra gets "seconds" which may have become "seconds" because they were not uniform in size. But, in any case, I absolutely love these shoes, and they ARE waterproof and all-made. I guess if your feet swell when hiking, sizing up would be a good idea. Good luck!
      Answered on 7/24/2018 11:04:35 PM by buckyball59 from Blaine, Washington
    • I ordered my regular size and they were fine.
      Answered on 7/25/2018 6:34:58 AM by mjb from Wisconsin
    • No, I did not go up a size. I wear a 7.5 and the 7.5 Ahnus I bought fit perfectly.
      Answered on 7/25/2018 6:39:56 AM by Jhlibrarian from Chicago suburbs
    • True to size for me.
      Answered on 7/25/2018 7:53:30 AM by Cara from Minnesota
    • These are wonderful shoes. I use the regular laces that are included in the box.
      I am technically a 6 1/2 Wide; but I buy size 7 Medium.
      Answered on 7/25/2018 8:37:49 AM by AndTotoToo from Georgia
    • Hi Sabrina--I normally wear a size 9 shoe, and I purchased the Ahnu Calaveras in a size 9. They fit me perfectly. I hope this is helpful to your decision.
      Answered on 7/25/2018 8:47:17 AM by DLD from Tallahassee, Florida
    • I found it to be true to size. I have 3 pairs.
      Answered on 7/25/2018 9:12:12 AM by Zoey from Oregon coast
    • For me my regular size worked the best
      Answered on 7/25/2018 1:14:43 PM by Arina from Kansas
    • I highly recommend to size up. My true size is 8 but I always go for 8.5 for Ahnu hiking shoes. Going for one size up is just the perfect fit with hiking socks. I have enough room for my toes left (no pinching and pain) which you need especially for downhill trails. Enjoy your new Ahnus and happy trails!
      Answered on 7/25/2018 7:29:41 PM by PQHiker from San Diego
    • Yes I would definetly go up a half size and you might be ok. I have very wide feet and overal they were just too small so I had to return them.
      Answered on 8/2/2018 10:36:25 PM by Freja from ME

About Ahnu

Ahnu is about balance. Ahnu footwear uses their Neutral Positioning System technology to encourage natural biomechanics. Each of the five Ahnu NPS systems are designed for a specific activity: hiking (HIKE), running, trail running and speed hiking (XTR), cross training (OXT), walking and casual comfort (3D-i), stability in elevated heel models (HI). Ahnu shoes are designed to respond with comfortable support that perfectly matches the demands of your outdoor activities. Ahnu also has a balanced style that takes you from the coffee-shop, to the trail, to the theater, all in perfect comfort. Ahnu footwear designs are casual-rugged shoes perfectly suited to multi-tasking, modern lifestyles. Wherever the adventure du jour leads, you can confidently trust Ahnu shoes to supply support, cushioning and great style.