Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Alico Made in Italy New Guide Mountaineering Boots - Leather (For Men)

Item #64724
$199.99 Save 53% Compare at $429.99
Brown (05) Reset selected color
Loading
 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Alico Made in Italy New Guide Mountaineering Boots - Leather (For Men)

Closeouts. Handmade in Italy of Perwanger leather, Alico's New Guide hiking boots are built for years of use in rigorous alpine terrain. The durable speed lacing system ensures a supportive fit, and the leather-lined interior is breathable and nearly friction free.

Specs

Specs about Alico Made in Italy New Guide Mountaineering Boots - Leather (For Men)

  • Waterproof (All)
  • Waterproof materials: Waterproof materials and construction
  • Upper: Perwanger® leather
  • Lining: Leather
  • Outsole: Vibram® Montagna
  • Height: 6-1/2"
  • Heel height: 1-1/2"
  • Weight (pair): 6 lb.
  • Made in Italy

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.601744 5 Overall Rating: 4.6 Based on 344 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Finest boots I've ever worn
Reviewed by DD from Baltimore on Saturday, December 31, 2011
Toughest and most comfortable boots I've owned in 35 years of heavy duty boot abuse. Bought a pair nearly 9 years ago and they are still going strong. Unfortunately I did not look after them as well they looked after me, and allowed the lining leather to dry out and crack- my fault. Beyond that, not... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Alico-Made-in-Italy-New-Guide-Mountaineering-Boots-Leather-For-Men Remove reviews search
  • The BEST
    Reviewed by Judge Pete from Georgia on Wednesday, August 29, 2018
    These are absolutely the best hiking boots I’ve ever purchased/used! I bought them in March and find they fit better every day! I toured Europe for 12 days in June without the back pain I usually experience with extensive walking!
    GREAT PRODUCT!
  • Best value boot on the market -
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by James from Colorado on Tuesday, August 14, 2018
    This is my 3rd pair of Alico boots in the last 14 years. My first pair of hiking boots were Alico summits ordered from the Sierra Trading Post catalog, back when people used to order things over mailed catalogs. My dad knew what to look for in a boot for my Outward Bound trip when I was 16. I remember feeling invincible stomping through the backcountry in those leather tanks. They soon molded to my feet, as good leather boots will, and those boots were a big part of my continued interest in backpacking and wilderness adventures on through college. I wore that same pair working for a logging company after my college internship - and this was 6 years into their heavy use. On top of that, this was before I discovered Obenaufs! I was using snow seal periodically, but not cleaning the red clay and horse manure from them as often as I should. So I eventually had to buy a new pair from Sierra Trading Post. That pair is still going strong today, 5 years later. They're currently being resoled, but the leather is absolutely where I want it and more comfortable than I could describe after years of hard tree work, just by cleaning, saddle soaping, and applying Obenaufs and TLC every couple of days or so. I was really getting them in the mud and dust and trees and rocks, so the weekend wearer of these boots can expect their Vibram soles to last longer than mine did.
    I've been breaking in my new pair of New Guides (get a half size or so up - depending on the shape of your foot) for the last 3 weeks, and they're already great after an uncomfortable day or two. No hotspots or blisters. I've been using obenaufs leather oil, neatsfoot oil, and obenaufs LP on rotation each night to assist in the break in and invest in the longevity of this truly worthy pair of boots. I will always buy Alico from Sierra Trading Post as long as they sell them. As an arborist who loves backpacking in the rockies, and chasing elk every fall in the high country, and who has worn Alico boots equally for work and play, I highly recommend any of Alico's products. They'll hold up and give you the support only good leather can. So far I love the roller bearings on the lace grommets - it helps them evenly tighten across tarsals. They seem to grip trees really well when I climb for work ( the steel shank actually makes them nearly perfect boots for arborists. At least those who don't mind the weight of real footwear) as well as wet rock.

    Take care of these boots and they will take care of you for a lifetime!
  • Very well built boot.
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from TX on Thursday, August 9, 2018
    I'm 6'6" and around 240 lbs. with a narrow foot, so I'm very hard on my footwear. I had a pair of Asolo Fugitive GTX come apart on a backpacking trip in New Mexico after not nearly enough mileage. They were very disappointing for what I paid. I decided that it was time to step up to an all leather boot that was stitched down to the sole. I bought a pair of Danners first but they didn't fit my foot correctly and I sent them back. I found these and gave them a try. The 14 D is a good fit. I've got a narrow foot with a high arch and a narrow heel. These are stiff but didn't rub me badly on my first hike. They'll take a fair amount of breaking, but I expect them to last me for many years to come. Much better than a glued together boot. If hadn't fit, I was going to step up to a custom made boot. Great value for the money if they fit your foot.
  • Unsatisfied
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Falco from Austin on Friday, June 22, 2018
    The toes of the boots I got had already worn out. I asked a replacement and the second pair had the same issue.
  • First Impressions
    Reviewed by George the happy hiker from Cartersville GA on Wednesday, June 20, 2018
    My first impression of these boots is they are HEAVY and STIFF! The quality of the Alico New Guides is unbelievably high. I have been searching for a pair of boots of good quality at a fair price for a long time and I have hit the jackpot. Compared to many of the other brands such as Danner, Keen, Merrell, Cabella's and the rest the New Guides are absolutely a tank. I love these boots. I wear a size 12 B, which is long and very narrow, and they fit perfect in the 12D size I ordered. I suggest anyone with a D width or more buy the wides because they run narrow. I took wore them on a 3 mile hike this morning, my first time wearing them, and I got no blisters but my heel did get a hot spot. Follow the advice of others and break them in slowly. Walking up a mountain with 3lbs of weight on my feet did make me tired faster, however, Once I get used to them it will be just fine. I wear out a pair of Merrells every 8 to 10 months, walking about 600 miles in that period. I feel I'll get thousands more miles out of my New Guides and then replace the sole and keep going. I'll update you on a few months.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “When you guys getting 12 wide back in stock?”
    Asked by Nick from Alaska on 5/31/2018 4:02:32 PM
    • Due to the nature of the closeout business, we often receive items in limited quantities. Therefore, some sizes and colors can sell out quickly. Occasionally we are able to reorder a product, but closeout items are typically unable to be reordered. We suggest signing up for the My Updates as the best way to monitor incoming products. You will receive email notifications of our newest stock items.
      Answered on 5/31/2018 5:51:00 PM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “What is the length of the insole size 13 ?”
    Asked by Little Bard from Paris on 5/24/2018 3:15:01 AM
    • The insole is approximately 29cm.
      Answered on 5/30/2018 10:56:28 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Will other sizes be restocked? Be I would like to pick up another pair in 11m”
    Asked by Anameforme from Arkansa on 5/6/2018 8:36:04 PM
    • Due to the nature of the closeout business, we often receive items in limited quantities. Therefore, some sizes and colors can sell out quickly. Occasionally we are able to reorder a product, but closeout items are typically unable to be reordered. We suggest signing up for the My Updates as the best way to monitor incoming products. You will receive email notifications of our newest stock items.
      Answered on 5/8/2018 3:51:06 PM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Do these boots come in Size US Mens 8?”
    Asked by Greg from KS on 3/28/2018 10:07:11 AM
    • Not sure if they have that size in stock, however I ordered a full size larger then my normal size, I do use an orthotic insert, and they fit great.
      Answered on 3/28/2018 10:13:34 AM by Josh from California
    • Currently the smallest size that we have available is size 8.5. Due to the nature of the closeout business, we often receive items in limited quantities. Therefore, some sizes and colors can sell out quickly. We suggest signing up for the My Updates as the best way to monitor incoming products. You will receive email notifications of our newest stock items.
      Answered on 3/28/2018 11:25:35 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Do these boots take crampons well?”
    Asked by awlareau from Colorado on 2/11/2018 8:18:45 PM
    • I don't know what kind of crampons you use, I think it's for the general public not for professional ice/snow mountain climber.
      Answered on 2/11/2018 11:16:47 PM by Mel from NY
    • Have not used crampons yet. They seem stiff enough to accommodate them
      Answered on 2/12/2018 9:41:29 AM by Desertgrass from NV

About Alico

Nestled within the Italian Alps, the Dolomites are known for jagged peaks and deep crevasses that have challenged climbers for centuries. Alico boots are crafted by artisans who have perfected their craft in this awe-inspiring region. This rugged terrain has inspired a rugged line of boots designed for trekking, cross country skiing and telemarking. Alico hiking boots are made from oil-tanned, water resistant leather with moisture-wicking linings and state-of-the-art comfort. Alico ski boots for Nordic touring are equally robust and well-crafted. Whether your outdoor sport takes you to the highest alpine peaks or snow-covered forest trails, Italian-made Alico boots are sure to provide the superior stability, support and traction you need to go the distance.