Free Shipping on Orders $0+ With Code: FREESHIP. See Details.

Alico Made in Italy Summit Hiking Boots - Leather (For Men)

Item #61270
$179.99 Save 47% Compare at $339.99
Loading
 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Alico Made in Italy Summit Hiking Boots - Leather (For Men)

Closeouts. Nestled within the Alps, the Dolomites are known for jagged peaks and deep crevasses that have challenged the climber's craft for centuries. Alico's Summit hiking boots are handcrafted by artisans in this awe-inspiring region and built for exploring rugged landscapes. The durable, full-grain leather upper is water-resistant, and the leather lining and moisture-wicking insole reduce friction and blisters.

Specs

Specs about Alico Made in Italy Summit Hiking Boots - Leather (For Men)

  • Waterproof (All)
  • Waterproof materials: Seam-sealed leather
  • Fur: Dyed Fox, Fur Origin: Finland
  • Upper: Color (01) is smooth leather; color (05) is greased nubuck
  • Lining: Brushed Leather
  • Removable insole
  • Midsole: Leather and Nylon
  • Outsole: Vibram® Montagna
  • Height: 6"
  • Heel height: 1-1/2"
  • Weight (pair): 4 lb. 6 oz.
  • Made in Italy
  • Visit our Hiking Footwear Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.584722 5 Overall Rating: 4.6 Based on 720 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Trust me... these boots are that good!!!
Reviewed by 50th State Scoutmaster from Waipahu, Hawaii on Monday, February 11, 2013
I just picked me up another pair of Alico Summits... and this is the 5th pair of Alico boots that I have purchased. I currently have 2 Alico Tahoes, 1 Alico Guide and now 2 Alico Summits and I can honestly comment on each and every model.

The Alico Tahoe is a good overall hiking shoe that is very c... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Alico-Made-in-Italy-Summit-Hiking-Boots-Leather-For-Men Remove reviews search
  • Excellent Boots
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Person who does not buy a pig in a poke from Tennessee on Tuesday, July 31, 2018
    This is my initial evaluation based on only 20+ miles of use, by an old-school, traditionalist hiker. First, the fit is true. In a heavy boot I always purchase a half size large in order to wear double socks, a light inner & a heavy wool outer sock. In all my walking these boots were able to be tightened to give plenty of freedom in the toe box with no movement in the heel. I've had no hot spots or blister while breaking in these boots. After 20 miles, they are already starting to conform to my feet so that re-adjusting is not necessary every few miles. Second, these are well made boots that should last a long time carrying medium to heavy loads. The one-piece leather upper is thick and will be easy to keep waterproof with normal maintenance. The 6 inch tall collar can be tightened to give full support to my very small ankles. They feel wonderful on both my feet & ankles. And they weigh only four #s total. I will use them for most backpacking except for mountaineering when ill use my 40+ year-old Lowa' s. This was a good purchase & recommend them for anyone needing a medium to heavy backpacking boot.
  • Superior Boot
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by George from Arizona on Monday, July 30, 2018
    I did a lot of review searches before finally deciding on this boot, but I feel that I made a good choice as these really are well made boots. I like the fact that they can be re-soled as I usually only get about two years on cheaper boots. Although not yet broken in, I have 8 hours on these boots and feel that the fit is far superior to any boots I have had before.
  • So far so good
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Johnny from Kansas city on Tuesday, July 17, 2018
    They are beautiful boots and they will be perfect for backpacking. I'm still breaking them and it will be awhile before they're ready for a trip. The only complaint I have has been said before but the insole is hard as a rock so I put new insoles in. It did the trick. Alico knows what they're doing.
  • Very pleasantly surprised :-)
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frances from SC on Sunday, July 15, 2018
    Previously I went through 3 pairs of another European-made brand of boots that were extremely comfortable, but I ended up having to prematurely throw them away due to the glue on the soles falling apart. Tired of throwing away expensive boots, I decided to try a different brand with sewn-down soles. Did a lot of research, and found that Alico seems to be one of very few companies still making boots with sewn-down soles. Read a lot of reviews on each of the Alico models I was considering, and finally settled on the Summit.

    The boots arrived very quickly. I inserted my own arches bought from my foot doctor, put the boots on, thinking I would have to break them in gradually. But surprise of surprises, they felt surprisingly comfortable right out of the box, and I ended up wearing them all day long. I had ordered the wide size. These boots are shaped very generously around the toes, so I wear heavy socks with them. I wear them just about every day, all day long, and they are becoming even more comfortable as they mold to my feet. The leather is thick and of good quality, the tongue is well padded, they offer good support for my ankles, the soles grip very well, and they appear to be made very well. Plus, at some point in the future, these soles can be replaced and resown. I'm anticipating that these will be the last boots I need for a very long time! :-))))) I'm a very happy camper!!
  • Sturdy and well-built, but sized wide
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jacob from CA on Sunday, July 15, 2018
    So far very happy with the the construction of these boots; they are extremely sturdy and well made. The leather lining is feels great and the craftsmanship is really excellent overall. (There only visible imperfection is a cut on the leather on the inside of the tongue.) I did have some difficulty with the sizing. My first pair in my normal size and D width were far too wide, even with thick socks. Sizing a half-size down, the boots are still a very little bit wide, but I don't want go down any further for length. If you have slightly narrow feet like me, I'd advise sizing down a half size.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Considering that these are all leather and old school, what kind of clothes should be worn with them when hiking and backpacking? Do old school boots go better with old school clothes? Or can they work well with the nylon hiking pants worn nowadays? ”
    Asked by A Naturalist from San Angelo, TX on 8/18/2018 10:24:03 PM
    • Old School clothes are mandatory with these boots. Perhaps a pair of Lederhosen? They just wouldn't go well with those new hipster knickers the kids are wearing these days. You definitely don't want to try a top knot or man bun with these babies. No way to pull that off with boots such as these.
      Answered on 8/18/2018 10:34:26 PM by Opuseti from Vancouver
    • In my opinion you can wear these with anything. When it comes to socks I prefer Darn Tough wool socks. If you haven't tried those socks give them a try. These boots combined with those socks never smell, and no sweat. Style wise these boots work with everything.
      Answered on 8/19/2018 4:35:14 AM by Ken Landscaper from Scarborough, ME
    • I'm in my seventies & have been hiking/backpacking for over 50 years. While I love these old school boots, I mix & match the new & old based on functionality. I love the newer clothes that include sun protection, insect protection (Insect Shield), & odor prevention, as well as being very light & packable. In addition, much of the newer gear has better features. My old Kelty Tioga pack in not near as comfortable as current backpacks that have internal frames that are incredibly adjustable for a better fit, better pocket configurations, sternum straps, lighter weight, etc. At the same time, my ancient Gerry winter sleeping bag & The North Face Crysalis (sp) summer bag have retained their functionality.

      If an old school item still does the job well, use it. If the newer designs & materials are better, use them.
      Answered on 8/19/2018 6:26:58 AM by Person who does not buy a pig in a poke from Tennessee
    • These boots (and all Alico boots I have 3 pair different) go well with any clothes. I wear mine with very lightweight synthetic Columbia PFG fishing pants and an Exofficio Airstrip synthetic shirt. Synthetic liner socks and synthetic Wrightsock over the liner. Also a synthetic hat. Julbo sunglasses. :-)
      Answered on 8/19/2018 7:04:51 AM by bill from California
    • My opinion is that comfort is more important than style. I wear clothing to fit the situation.
      Answered on 8/19/2018 7:06:40 AM by George from Arizona
    • I'm a piker amateur hiker who just wanted a nice leather hiking boot that holds up after 5 years. I wear cheap WalMart "Russell" brand nylon air breathing T shirts and regular cotton jeans.
      Answered on 8/19/2018 8:53:57 AM by Chuck Beatty from Pittsburgh
    • They work fine with any fabric of pant. I really don't understand the question.
      Answered on 8/21/2018 7:29:46 AM by Gary the Skier from Idaho
  • “Can you describe the Summit shank? Is it a full shank or a partial shank? If partial, is it 1/2...3/4? Please compare and contrast with the Tahoe (which I own).”
    Asked by Old Fart Hiker Dude from Ohio (yeah...boring) on 6/16/2018 6:27:35 PM
    • The shank is a 3/4. It seems a bit stiffer that the Tahoe (I also own a pair of Tahoes). I am glad that I bought the boot because of the extra ankle protection. Much better than the Tahoes.
      Answered on 6/16/2018 6:39:08 PM by Gary the Skier from Idaho
    • I don't consider the boot to have a shank.
      Answered on 6/16/2018 7:02:39 PM by minerjohn from NM - NEW MEXICO
    • it is a 1/2 steel shank in the Alico Summit.
      you might check this review out
      http://www.backpackgeartest.org/reviews/Footwear/Boots/Alico%20Summit%20boots/Owner%20Review%20by%20Richard%20Lyon/

      also try this
      http://www.alicosport.it/TREKKING%20BOOTS.htm
      Answered on 6/16/2018 10:06:18 PM by bill from folsom, ca
  • “My feet (without socks) are 29,4 cm long and of average width (D) : should I take size 12 or size 13 ? M or W ? Thanks !”
    Asked by Little Bard from Paris on 5/20/2018 12:18:47 PM
    • I would guess you are an 11.5 or 12 Medium. If the boot is too small you will be unable to wear it. If it is too big, you can probably make up the slack with a thick sock. If you want to save time, order a few different sizes and send back the ones that do not fit. Try them on with the socks that you plan on using. As long as you wear them strictly indoors and leave the tags on and save all the packaging STP is great on returns.
      Answered on 5/20/2018 1:04:55 PM by bill from folsom, ca
    • My boots are size 13 (US), which is also size 12 (UK), or size 47 (EU). When I use a metric scale I'm between 28 and 28.5 cm. I suggest you have your foot measured at a store, try on various boots, and pick the size that feels good to you. You will most likely be a 1/2 size larger than me, or 13 1/2. But they may not have 1/2 sizes after 13 (US).
      Answered on 5/20/2018 3:02:47 PM by minerjohn from New Mexico
    • My first pair received didn't fit, so I estimated how to adjust the size and width, which for me was keep the same width and increase the size by 1/2 size. The new pair arrived, and I'm breaking them in for the last couple months. So far, so good.
      These are stiff boots, I'm doing 2 hour hikes, done about 6 hikes so far, still breaking the boots in, get better each each hike.
      Answered on 5/20/2018 3:31:03 PM by Chuck Beatty from Pittsburgh, PA
    • Bon jour, I looked it up on the internet and a 29.4 centimeter foot is 11.6 inches long. This corresponds to size 13.
      Answered on 5/20/2018 3:43:27 PM by Gary the Skier from Idaho
    • Bon Jour, J'ai regardé sur Internet et un pied de 29,4 centimètres est 11,6 pouces de long. Cela correspond à la taille 13 largeur moyenne
      Answered on 5/20/2018 3:47:25 PM by Gary the Skier from Idaho
    • I would go up a size. I did and I’m glad. I can see from reviews that a lot of folks find these true to size but I found them a bit short. The last thing you want is to be banging the end of your nails on descents. That being said, the toebox is roomy width wise. I took a size up but stuck with a M width.
      Answered on 5/20/2018 5:19:49 PM by Opuseti from Vancouver
    • Sorry for late reply, was in Peru for hiking. I am not an expert but I believe that you should take size 13 as you will be wearing some socks and with medium width. As for me, I like to wear thick hiking socks and now the width of my boots are becoming a little loose and can pull the lace a little tighter. Hope that helps.
      Answered on 5/25/2018 9:21:59 PM by L.Au from So Cal
  • “There isn't much for women to chose from in this type of boot. How do you size for a woman. I wear between a 9 1/2 and 10 in women's boots and never purchased hiking boots before. These got great reviews and want to try them.”
    Asked by Yogibear from texas on 5/8/2018 9:08:49 AM
    • My wife wears a 8 1/2! She bought the men's 7, and it fits fine! She went to a store to check sizes. Since no women 8 1/2, she tried on a couple different boots for men that are 7's. Worked for her! PS - she got the Tahoe! A little lower on the angle than the Summit.
      Answered on 5/8/2018 9:20:39 AM by minerjohn from New Mexico
    • There is a 1.5 size difference length. width is same. so buy men's boots smaller to get women's sizes. 10 - 1.5 = 8.5. 9.5 - 1.5 = 8.0. So you might be looking at men's boots in the 8.0 to 8.5 range. Depending on thickness of your socks you can adjust if you get too big of a boot, but if you are too small of a boot then you are out of luck. Also - UK sizing is different than USA sizing. Now i would think that women's heels tend to usually run more narrow than men's, so if your heels look narrow they might slip in a wide boot, go for a medium width if given a choice. In general, until you are familiar with a brand's last, ordering online you should be prepared for a lot of incorrect fits. STP has a great return policy which you probably will need. Good Luck. https://www.shiekhshoes.com/t-SizeChart.aspx
      Answered on 5/8/2018 9:24:16 AM by bill from folsom, CA
    • Hi Yogibear, for me it was trial and error. From my findings, the boots runs true to size. Go to a department store and have your foot measure, or you can do it at home with socks on and using guide from one of the website for boots sizing, such as:
      https://www.customfit.me/BootSizeGuide

      That is the website I use to get my boot size.
      I think that would give you a more correct sizing. When you try on the boots, make sure the length is right, the width needs to be a little snug as the boots will widen a little after breaking in.
      To exchange for another boots is $2.95, it's not that bad. Remember to use SHIP89 coupon code.
      Answered on 5/8/2018 12:04:53 PM by L.Au from So Cal
    • Hmm. The size 10 men’s was too short for my normal men’s 10.

      The return size 10 1/2 fit perfect for my 10 men’s (I’m 10 men’s in all my other shoes).

      My guess a men’s 10 would thus be if anything just right for a woman’s 10 or it might be a fraction too big.

      That’s my best guess.

      These boots I’ve taken on 5-6 one hour hikes and still breaking them in and they are stiff but comfortable.

      Feel better each hike.

      I’m a narrow medium width and the 10 1/2 mediums suit my narrowish foot fine.

      They are made to really give your ankles strength carrying a full pack and do hours of trudging. For days at a time.

      I like the stiff but comfortable support.

      If avg women’s is 1/2 size below same number for men’s then the sizing in medium of these if I were you give the same men’s size as yours a try and just return and adjust. Their return policy I found easy and fast.
      Answered on 5/8/2018 7:43:02 PM by Chuck Beatty from Pittsburgh
  • “What's the best way to treat these boots? I was thinking of using Obenauf's or Mink oil. Which should I use, and should I use anything else? ”
    Asked by A Naturalist from San Angelo, TX on 4/6/2018 10:10:50 PM
    • I am from a 'snowy' state (Idaho) and so I use a product called snow seal. This also helps the boots waterproofness.
      Answered on 4/7/2018 4:24:03 AM by Gary the Skier from Idaho
    • Obenhauf's very lightly at first works great for me. Rub it carefully into the stitched area of the welt.
      Answered on 5/9/2018 10:51:55 AM by David from Nashville

About Alico

Nestled within the Italian Alps, the Dolomites are known for jagged peaks and deep crevasses that have challenged climbers for centuries. Alico boots are crafted by artisans who have perfected their craft in this awe-inspiring region. This rugged terrain has inspired a rugged line of boots designed for trekking, cross country skiing and telemarking. Alico hiking boots are made from oil-tanned, water resistant leather with moisture-wicking linings and state-of-the-art comfort. Alico ski boots for Nordic touring are equally robust and well-crafted. Whether your outdoor sport takes you to the highest alpine peaks or snow-covered forest trails, Italian-made Alico boots are sure to provide the superior stability, support and traction you need to go the distance.