Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$149.99 Save 46% Compare at $279.99
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About ALPS Mountaineering Chaos 3 Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. A best seller with outstanding ventilation, ALPS Mountaineering's Chaos 3 tent features mesh walls, roof vents and an easy-to-attach weatherproof fly for storm protection.

Specs

Specs about ALPS Mountaineering Chaos 3 Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

  • Seasons: 3-Season
  • Capacity: 3-Person
  • Packed weight: 6 lb. 10 oz.
  • Pack size: 7x24"
  • Peak height: 44"
  • Floor dimensions: 90x66"
  • Floor area: 41 sq.ft.
  • Bathtub floor: Yes
  • Tent floor material: 75 denier 185T polyester taffeta with 3000mm coating
  • Number of doors: 2
  • Number of vestibules: 2
  • Vestibule area: 22 sq.ft.
  • Number of poles: 3
  • Tent pole material: 7000 series aluminum
  • Tent wall material: Polyester mesh and polyester
  • Rain fly material: 75 denier polyester
  • Stakes: Aluminum
  • Stuff sack: Yes
  • Recommended use: Backpacking
  • Made in China
  • Visit our Tent Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.666666 5 Overall Rating: 4.7 Based on 6 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

So far, so good!!
Verified Buyer Reviewed by lazy hiker from New Mexico on Thursday, May 22, 2014
I've only taken this tent out once for a couple days, but here's what I can tell you. It is indeed as beautiful as it looks. It set up in a flash, with just me, a 5'5" out of shape girl. I bought it for myself and a giant viking, and it is plenty comfortable for that. Double doors are quick to zip a... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for ALPS-Mountaineering-Chaos-3-Tent-3-Person-3-Season Remove reviews search
  • Awesome tent
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by BigHueso from Texas on Wednesday, June 20, 2018
    This tent is extremely easy to set up, has very good ventilation, and is very roomy inside. Perfect for my 2-3 day backpacking trips.
  • Great Tent, High quality, Lots of room!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Burlyman from Rocky Mountains on Monday, August 4, 2014
    I have only had a chance to use this tent once, but my first impression is that it will serve all of my purposes. It's not the lightest tent out there but for the size of it the weight is impressive. I have taken this backpacking and it performed nicely. Would I recommend it to my friends... YES! Buy this tent, you won't regret it. Especially for the price point.
  • Love it
    Reviewed by Chuck B from Durham on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    Got this tent years ago and love it. Been through down pours and hot summer nights. Easy set up even in the dark. Keeps me dry. not much on pockets but I love this tent.
  • WORTH IT!!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Johnny the TD Passer from Ohio on Friday, July 11, 2014
    We enjoyed the Chaos 3 ... For the price it is a Very Good Deal. The combination of tent and rain fly kept the heat in, but also ... over time, may have caused some condensation. A perfect, nice weather summer tent because of the large % of open mesh layering.

    WORTH IT!!
  • So far, so good!!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by lazy hiker from New Mexico on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    I've only taken this tent out once for a couple days, but here's what I can tell you. It is indeed as beautiful as it looks. It set up in a flash, with just me, a 5'5" out of shape girl. I bought it for myself and a giant viking, and it is plenty comfortable for that. Double doors are quick to zip and awesome. Star gazing is near perfect. As with all mesh tents, you may wake up soaked with dew, but hey free shower from mother nature, right? As far as the rain fly, I first set it up in the garage and checked the seams where folks have said the rain could get it, and where the pole hooks meet on the seams do need sealer. But there aren't many spots and it does go quickly. And that is ALL I had to seal on this tent. Now as far as durability, some loud kids set up next to us on the trip, so we carried this beauty fully assembled through the woods and it held up perfectly, even after being folded and dragged and run into a tree. Poles didn't even let go of the tent. So rad. Went back down on the ground perfectly. Kept spiders off of me. I loved it. It didn't rain, but giant grey clouds hung out, so I did a test run of throwing the rain fly up and had no problems getting it on.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Does it come with footprint?”
    Asked by Ncraygunner from NC on 5/16/2018 11:59:17 AM
    • This does not come with a footprint.
      Answered on 5/18/2018 5:03:11 PM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Is this tent a pop up tent or a easy one person set up, will be using for myself on job sites as a fire fighter in the forest and other areas would like to know how to set up and take down how easy how hard are the poles already connected.”
    Asked by Doug forest fighter from Idaho on 4/13/2014 1:07:37 PM
    • The tent has two poles. One branches out and goes down to all four corners, and the other goes sideways across the top. I have set up and packed up the tent by myself without too much trouble, though it's faster with a partner.
      Answered on 4/13/2014 7:18:24 PM by AM from Cincinnati

About ALPS Mountaineering

When Dennis Brune founded ALPS Mountaineering in rural Missouri, he had a singular goal: create the best outdoor gear at the most affordable prices possible. As a truly homegrown company, this brand listens to customer feedback and updates products accordingly. From Alps Mountaineering tents built to withstand alpine winds to Alps Mountaineering sleeping pads designed to help you get a restful night’s sleep, products from this company have been tested and approved in some of the most demanding conditions on earth. Whether you’re setting up Alps Mountaineering chairs around the campfire or packing for your next adventure in an Alps Mountaineering backpack, you can feel confident that you’ve chosen an American brand with integrity and an eye for innovation.