Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$99.99 Save 50% Compare at $199.99
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About ALPS Mountaineering Summit Tent - 6-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Get a phenomenal buy on this roomy, high-quality ALPS Mountaineering Summit tent with a free-standing, two-pole design.

Specs

Specs about ALPS Mountaineering Summit Tent - 6-Person, 3-Season

  • Seasons: 3-Season
  • Capacity: 6+ People
  • Packed weight: 16 lb.
  • Pack size: 25x6"
  • Peak height: 72"
  • Floor dimensions: 120x120"
  • Floor area: 100 sq ft sq.ft.
  • Bathtub floor: Yes
  • Tent floor material: Polyethylene sheeting
  • Number of doors: 1
  • Vestibule area: n/a sq.ft.
  • Number of poles: 2
  • Tent pole material: Fiberglass
  • Tent wall material: 170T polyester with 1000mm polyurethane-coating
  • Stakes: Aluminum
  • Stuff sack: Yes
  • Recommended use: Family camping
  • Made in China or Bangladesh
  • Visit our Tent Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

3.745098 5 Overall Rating: 3.7 Based on 51 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Great Camping Tent
Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rainy play group from Alabama on Thursday, October 2, 2014
All the great points: 6' 2" tall interior cabin, nice quality rain fly with taped seams, 2 gear pockets, lantern hook on ceiling, easy to assemble- like 10 minutes, bag actually room for the tent- could easily add a footprint and it would fit in bag with tent. Footprint not included and you should... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for ALPS-Mountaineering-Summit-Tent-6-Person-3-Season Remove reviews search
  • Good enough for car camping.
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by EddieTX from TX on Wednesday, May 2, 2018
    This fits the bill for space and no frills. I really wanted to spring for the North Face or REI tent with vestibule and reliability. But I couldn’t justify spending $200+ more for a couple weekends a year.

    Tent itself is OK. It had plenty of space for my wife and theee boys, and we brought our bags inside the tent. It’s tall, which is great for space. But it makes for interesting set up for shorter people. It does breathe really nicely. Fortunately it was pretty windy on a recent trip so it wasn’t stuffy.

    However, don’t expect thoughtful details or high end materials. I knew this but was surprised to see that The floor is pretty thin - it actually resembles the woven nylon used for blue tarps so a foootprint is a must. The side wall did not stay taught at all. It constantly flapped throughout the night. I had the fortune of sleeping next to one of the mesh pockets... which of course brushed up against me several times. The rain fly is nice when all you want is coverage at night. It’s not large enough to keep rain from getting in the tent if you have to exit. And I’d be concerned about any kind of side rain. The window on the door and back (only two) can only be zipped up from the inside. Nice for when you’re inside the tent... but design wise that means the moisture can collect between the exterior mesh window and the inside flap.

    It’s a big tent. Fit what we need at this point in our lives. But coming from higher end tents, this leaves a lot left to be desired.
  • Good enough for car camping.
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by EddieTX from TX on Wednesday, May 2, 2018
    This fits the bill for space and no frills. I really wanted to spring for the North Face or REI tent with vestibule and reliability. But I couldn’t justify spending $200+ more for a couple weekends a year.

    Tent itself is OK. It had plenty of space for my wife and theee boys, and we brought our bags inside the tent. It’s tall, which is great for space. But it makes for interesting set up for shorter people. It does breathe really nicely. Fortunately it was pretty windy on a recent trip so it wasn’t stuffy.

    However, don’t expect thoughtful details or high end materials. I knew this but was surprised to see that The floor is pretty thin - it actually resembles the woven nylon used for blue tarps so a foootprint is a must. The side wall did not stay taught at all. It constantly flapped throughout the night. I had the fortune of sleeping next to one of the mesh pockets... which of course brushed up against me several times. The rain fly is nice when all you want is coverage at night. It’s not large enough to keep rain from getting in the tent if you have to exit. And I’d be concerned about any kind of side rain. The window on the door and back (only two) can only be zipped up from the inside. Nice for when you’re inside the tent... but design wise that means the moisture can collect between the exterior mesh window and the inside flap.

    It’s a big tent. Fit what we need at this point in our lives. But coming from higher end tents, this leaves a lot left to be desired.
  • Nice design, reasonable setup
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by ellenhof from Western North Carolina on Saturday, March 31, 2018
    Let me start off with that I have only set up the tent in my basement at this point, and have not yet used it on any camping trips, so I can't say how well it will hold up or how waterproof it will be.
    I am short - 5ft 4in - and could not set up the tent according to the directions, but then figured out a trick. Put in the poles according to the directions. Put a tie (cord or nylon) on the center of one pole, then raise the poles and tie it to the center of the other, such that the poles are ties at the center. Open the door. Stand on the floor in the open door and attach the upper clips on both poles on the far side. Then on the door side. The rest according to the directions.
    The rain fly was easy, attaching both clips on one side then walking it over to to far side.
    There is no gear loft, I will miss that.
  • good start
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by luke from dc on Thursday, November 23, 2017
    Only used it once, but it was in driving rain and heavy winds. No leaks and withstood the wind just fine. Easy to set up. Poles are thick and seem pretty strong. Overall pretty impressive quality for the price.
  • Good Tent right price
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by NMMom from New Mexico on Friday, June 30, 2017
    Just took this tent to camp in GlacierNP. It is very easy to set up as well as take down and pack. This is for car camping, of course. We fit three cots,3 packs under the cots in it with plenty of space to walk. You could get 6 people in it if all slept on the floor, but it would feel cramped. Bring an S hook to hang your lantern.
    Ventilation was good, the fly was easy to attach and it kept out the dew and the very little rain we had.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Do the roof vents close up?”
    Asked by Compassmam from Illinois on 4/7/2018 7:44:34 PM
    • No. It's the standard open screen roof,
      Answered on 4/8/2018 9:15:06 AM by ellenhof from north carolina
  • “can this tent be set up and used without staking it down? ”
    Asked by ellenhof from north carolina on 3/16/2018 9:14:30 AM

    • i ask because there are times when the ground is too rocky, or the opposite, too soft, to set stakes properly
      Answered on 3/16/2018 10:18:29 AM by ellenhof from north carolina
    • Yes, this should work without stakes.
      Answered on 3/19/2018 12:38:53 PM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “I need a rain replacement rain fly for this tent. How could I just obtain the fly? Please help, I love this tent.”
    Asked by Sunny from Nevada on 8/30/2016 12:55:33 PM
    • We do not sell just a rain fly separately. You may need to contact the manufacturer.
      Answered on 9/2/2016 11:33:29 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “does the tent have sealed seams?
    Thank you”
    Asked by David from Florida on 4/21/2014 7:35:38 AM
  • “Does this tent come standard with a fly? What is the total cost to ship this product to the Denver Colorado area including shipping?
    Thanks”
    Asked by norm from denver area on 8/30/2013 7:35:25 AM
    • There is and image of the tent with the fly that it comes with in the thumb nail below on the right. Our shipping rates are based on order cost. For more about our shipping rates go to this link. http://www.sierratradingpost.com/lp2/shipping-policy/#usshippingrates
      Answered on 8/30/2013 9:23:52 AM by Jack from Sierra Trading Post

About ALPS Mountaineering

When Dennis Brune founded ALPS Mountaineering in rural Missouri, he had a singular goal: create the best outdoor gear at the most affordable prices possible. As a truly homegrown company, this brand listens to customer feedback and updates products accordingly. From Alps Mountaineering tents built to withstand alpine winds to Alps Mountaineering sleeping pads designed to help you get a restful night’s sleep, products from this company have been tested and approved in some of the most demanding conditions on earth. Whether you’re setting up Alps Mountaineering chairs around the campfire or packing for your next adventure in an Alps Mountaineering backpack, you can feel confident that you’ve chosen an American brand with integrity and an eye for innovation.