Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$119.99 Save 45% Compare at $219.99
Sage/Coal (03) Reset selected color
Loading
In Stock 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 2 AL Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. The improved design of the Zenith 2 AL tent by ALPS Mountaineering offers maximum weather protection and more headroom for sitting up during a downpour.

Specs

Specs about ALPS Mountaineering Zenith 2 AL Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

  • Seasons: 3-Season
  • Capacity: 2-Person
  • Packed weight: 5 lb. 8 oz.
  • Pack size: 18x6"
  • Peak height: 38"
  • Floor dimensions: 58x88"
  • Floor area: 31 sq ft sq.ft.
  • Bathtub floor: Yes
  • Tent floor material: Polyurethane-coated nylon
  • Number of doors: 2
  • Number of vestibules: 2
  • Vestibule area: 18 sq ft sq.ft.
  • Number of poles: 2
  • Tent pole material: Aircraft aluminum
  • Tent wall material: No-See-Um® mesh
  • Rain fly material: Urethane-coated polyester taffeta
  • Stakes: Aluminum
  • Stuff sack: Yes
  • Recommended use: Backpacking
  • Made in China or Bangladesh
  • Visit our Tent Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.316062 5 Overall Rating: 4.3 Based on 193 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Great little tent
Verified Buyer Reviewed by jack and jill from VT on Monday, August 3, 2009
I just used my tent this past weekend for the first time and was very pleased with it. My husband and I hiked with the tent and other gear for about an hour up and off a fairly steep forest trail. The tent was lightweight, and the small footprint made it easy to find a good spot where there wasn't a... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for ALPS-Mountaineering-Zenith-2-AL-Tent-2-Person-3-Season Remove reviews search
  • Perfect Tent for 1 or 2
    Reviewed by Tammy in OR from Oregon on Friday, July 20, 2018
    I love this tent. I've had it for two years and used it a number of times backpacking, hiking about 150 miles carrying it. It is fast and easy to put up or pack up. I've never had an issue with condensation. There is room at my feet for my pack if I want to bring it in, but there are two vestibules to store it outside under the rain fly. I like that the mesh is closer and the rain fly is further out--I feel both snug but not claustrophobic in it. I *love* that when sharing this tent, each person has their own door and vestibule--much easier than climbing over each other! I will say that sharing this with my large husband and his giant air mattress was too crammed. But sharing with any two average middle aged ladies is very comfy. And it is not so bulky that carrying it for just myself doesn't make sense.
  • Great tent
    Reviewed by MrFantana from Utah on Monday, June 25, 2018
    I really have loved this tent! Easy to set up and take down. Its a bit snug for a 2 man... but it works. I did have some huge rain storms that caused it to leak at the zipper seams. It was at the same spot on both sides right by the small plastic window. I'm not exactly happy about that, but I just bought a foot print to tie up above when I go where its going to rain a lot. I recommend this tent.
  • Light, Basic and Full Coverage
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Down River Dan from Michigan on Monday, April 16, 2018
    Unit is used to insure bug protection and heavy rain. Full Coverage.
  • No complaints
    Reviewed by Wilson from Colorado on Thursday, April 12, 2018
    I've had this tent for about 3 years and haven't run into any problems. Great tent especially for the price. My dog has been in and out of this tent a million times and it hasn't shown any signs of leaking.
  • Great value
    Reviewed by Sam from Burlington VT on Tuesday, September 5, 2017
    I've had my tent for 5 years and have used it a lot in various conditions. The only downside to it is that the price continues right climb on it. I bought it for $75. This tent will hold up to some serious rain and wind but I've never used it below 40 degrees. In Vermont we see 40-50 regularly in the summer and it's done very well. I'd buy another one if this one wore out, but thankfully they hold up well!

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Can you purchase a footprint for this ten?”
    Asked by Ed from South Carolina on 10/29/2016 1:54:24 PM
    • yes. it is $22.81 cents on Amazon. but i suggest you get a piece of Tyvek instead. lighter, cheaper.

      https://www.amazon.com/ALPS-Mountaineering-Zephyr-Floor-Saver/dp/B003HLOI0M/ref=pd_bxgy_468_2?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B003HLOI0M&pd_rd_r=GAHRMJ0RH499CGAP4BQM&pd_rd_w=IYC5A&pd_rd_wg=Yt2Nc&psc=1&refRID=GAHRMJ0RH499CGAP4BQM
      Answered on 10/29/2016 4:54:24 PM by bill from folsom, ca
    • We do not currently carry a footprint for this tent.
      Answered on 11/1/2016 9:15:23 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
    • Yes, but as far as I can tell not from Sierra Trading Post. The Zenith and the Zephyr are essentially the same tent. Just different color schemes. You can buy a Zephyr 2 or Zephyr 3 footprint from numerous online retailers and it will fit your Zenith tent perfectly. Hope that helps!
      Answered on 11/1/2016 10:15:44 AM by Diana Prince from California
  • “I purchased my tent from a consignment gear shop and found 14 stakes in the packaging. How many stakes do I actually need to properly stake down the tent?

    From what I recall I would need:
    4: Corners
    2: Head tassels (upper and lower)
    1: Foot of the tent
    2: Sides

    Therefore I would bring 9 stakes plus 1 spare. Does this sound correct?”
    Asked by Michelle from Salt Lake City on 8/31/2016 9:07:03 AM
    • my tent (new) came with fifteen sturdy aluminum stakes. remember there is a footprint and fly also. so i think that adds at least four stakes, they are in a hook type shape. personally, i use titanium stakes when i backpack, mostly for bragging rights. thank you for asking.
      Answered on 8/31/2016 1:42:42 PM by bill from folsom, ca
    • You are correct, I also bring small compression bag's to fill when stakes can not be emplaced. If you cant afford them just use old wool socks and fill them with rocks or sand to tie your tent off. Hope this helps and enjoy

      V/R

      Earl
      Answered on 8/31/2016 2:19:14 PM by eowens from Colorado Springs
  • “i got my tent. love it. what is the small piece of mesh for? it is about 12 by 6 inches, has little hooks on it. ”
    Asked by bill from folsom, ca on 7/20/2016 10:58:57 PM
    • It attaches to the inside and uppermost area of the tent and allows you to store things off the floor.
      Answered on 7/21/2016 4:58:21 AM by George from Massachusetts
    • That item is called a "Gear Loft". It attaches to the inside roof of the tent to allow for storage of smaller items.
      Answered on 7/21/2016 9:32:46 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “please tell me the weight of the tent without the fly and stakes. Thank you in advance.”
    Asked by bill from folsom, ca on 7/13/2016 5:53:13 PM
    • The tent weighs 3 lbs 8 oz without the poles and stakes.
      Answered on 7/14/2016 3:36:36 PM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “This or Marmot Ajax 2? What are the pros and cons?”
    Asked by Adrian from Michigan on 3/6/2016 6:30:21 PM
    • I don't know of the Marmot Ajax 2, Sorry! I don't think you'll regret getting the ALPS :)
      Answered on 3/6/2016 11:35:17 PM by Stephanie from San Diego
    • Sorry. I don't know the Mamot. I am sure a pro is the Alps price. I don't know tents well enough, but my son has a 2 man Kelty and this Alps is very similar, with the star gazing design. We have just used this tent 3 times, and happy so far.
      Answered on 3/7/2016 9:23:48 AM by Pat from So Cal

About ALPS Mountaineering

When Dennis Brune founded ALPS Mountaineering in rural Missouri, he had a singular goal: create the best outdoor gear at the most affordable prices possible. As a truly homegrown company, this brand listens to customer feedback and updates products accordingly. From Alps Mountaineering tents built to withstand alpine winds to Alps Mountaineering sleeping pads designed to help you get a restful night’s sleep, products from this company have been tested and approved in some of the most demanding conditions on earth. Whether you’re setting up Alps Mountaineering chairs around the campfire or packing for your next adventure in an Alps Mountaineering backpack, you can feel confident that you’ve chosen an American brand with integrity and an eye for innovation.