Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Asolo Ascender GV Gore-Tex® Mountaineering Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Item #148CC
$229.99 Save 36% Compare at $360.00
A516 Graphite (01) Reset selected color
M Reset selected width
Loading
 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Asolo Ascender GV Gore-Tex® Mountaineering Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Asolo Ascender GV mountaineering boots deliver the strength and support of an alpine boot with the padded comfort of a hiking boot. The Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable upper is made of durable nylon and suede, and the Vibram® outsole is crampon-compatible.

Specs

Specs about Asolo Ascender GV Gore-Tex® Mountaineering Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

  • Waterproof (All),Waterproof (Gore-Tex®)
  • Crampon compatible
  • Waterproof materials: Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable membrane
  • Gusseted tongue
  • Upper: Suede and Cordura® nylon
  • Lining: Textile
  • Removable insole
  • Midsole: Polyurethane
  • Outsole: Vibram® rubber lug
  • Height: 7"
  • Heel height: 1-1/2"
  • Weight (pair): 4 lb.
  • All specs based on size 10
  • Made in Romania
  • Visit our Hiking Footwear Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.636363 5 Overall Rating: 4.6 Based on 11 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Very happy with these
Verified Buyer Reviewed by Raoul Miller from CT on Wednesday, December 28, 2016
I finally decided to replace my almost 30 years old Asolo hiking boots and ordered a couple of different pairs to try from STP. These were the beefiest and most technical, but fit perfectly from the moment I tried them on - just as comfortable as my long-lasting old pair of boots.
They do have a s... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Asolo-Ascender-GV-Gore-Tex-Mountaineering-Boots-Waterproof-For-Men Remove reviews search
  • Summit right out of the box
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Conroy from Washington on Monday, July 16, 2018
    Great fit and comfortable boot. Plenty of room in toe box for running socks under thick wool socks. Sizing seems to be right on. I did have mole skin on both my heels just in case. Wore them for a quick hike up heliotrope to get a feel for correct lacing tightness. Then summited mt adams next weekend. Boots feel great going up or down with or without crampons.
  • Boots
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by LM the old man from Indiana on Tuesday, June 5, 2018
    They appear to be solid boots. I've been asked to write this review shortly after I received the boots. They look good and feel good but I haven't given them any real world test yet, ask me in two months and I can give a better assessment.
  • GREAT PRODUCT
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by GERRY THE HIKER from ATLANTA on Thursday, January 11, 2018
    THESE SHOES ARE GREAT I JUST GOT THEM AND THEY ARE VERY HEAVY BUT THEY HAVE A STEEL SHANK IN THE MIDDLE WHICH MAKES THEM A LITTLE STIFF.
  • Nice Boots
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jake from California on Thursday, December 28, 2017
    Haven't had them out on the trail, but i'm overall very pleased with the fit and build quality. Will update after a wintertime trip on Mt. Shasta this spring.
  • Good value
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by BBEAGLE from Liberty, MO on Thursday, June 29, 2017
    NOT a winter boot

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Hi are these boots grade b1 or b2 and are they compatible with C1 crampons? Thanks Christian ”
    Asked by Arcticoakesy from Florida on 3/26/2017 10:51:38 AM
    • I wasn't previously familiar with the b1, b2, & b3 labels but from my understanding I'd say these are b2 and could fit a normal step in crampon.
      Answered on 3/26/2017 3:26:12 PM by Raoul Miller from Connecticut & New Zealand
    • These boots do not have a toe welt and while you may be able to fasten C2's I'd recommend strap-on C1's
      Answered on 3/29/2017 11:05:52 AM by Pucknuts61 from Massachusetts
  • “Hi are these boots grade b1 or b2 and are they compatible with C1 crampons? Thanks Christian ”
    Asked by Arcticoakesy from Florida on 3/26/2017 10:44:33 AM
  • “What type of treatment should be given to the exterior suede & nylon part of the boot? ”
    Asked by Mountain Man from Vermont on 2/8/2017 7:48:34 PM
    • As of now I haven't treated them with anything at all and they have retained their waterproofness - I have put between 50-100 miles on them in dry, wet, and snowy conditions.

      I've had good experience with spray on Nikwax products in the past - this article references a special treatment for mixed material goretex boots - http://www.nikwax.com/usblog/dear-professor-nikwax-how-do-i-care-for-my-footwear-2/

      This article from gore-tex says you shouldn't need to treat the boots at all - just keep them clean. http://www.gore-tex.com/blog/how-to-clean-hiking-boots/
      Answered on 2/8/2017 7:55:31 PM by Raoul Miller from CT

About Asolo

Designed for people with a passion for outdoor exploration, Asolo boots and shoes reflect more than 40 years of innovative solutions driven by an unyielding commitment to superior all-terrain performance. From advanced features like Duo Asoflex for incredible support to waterproof breathable Gore-Tex®, Asolo hiking boots are built to give outdoor athletes the best possible protection, traction and stability in a wide range of conditions. Whether you need crampon-compatible mountaineering boots to take on an alpine summit, backpacking boots for an extended trek or a lightweight pair of trail shoes for day hikes, you can trust Asolo shoes and boots to go the distance, wherever your next adventure takes you.