Customer Reviews Of:
Asolo Mantra GV Gore-Tex® Approach Shoes - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Asolo's Mantra GV Gore-Tex® approach shoes take you through summer hikes and wet scrambles in the comfort of a Gore-Tex® waterproofing system, an anatomic Lite 2 footbed and Vibram® Tenere rubber outsole that grips in changing trail conditions.

Average Rating based on 216 reviews 4.560185 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 22
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Russ from Seattle on Monday, November 13, 2017
    These are my second pair of these because they fit my foot perfectly and I use inserts which work real well in them. The first pair I wore down to the foam on the soles and they were still going, not even leaking. I only buy Asolo boots and hiking shoes due to their performance, fit and being well made.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Turf1996 from Virginia on Wednesday, November 8, 2017
    Nice workmanship, the body— wise near mid arch is narrower than the other 5 pairs of Asolo that I have or currently own.
    I have wore them about 3 weeks and they are slowly becoming more flexible in the sole.
  • Reviewed by Bandits from Tennessee on Sunday, October 29, 2017
    I wore these shoes casually for 2 years and they are great, sturdy for hiking & technical approach, and also great for wearing casually.
    Then I wore them almost every day for a year, working in the woods.
    after 3 years, the soles are worn through but the entire uppers are still in great shape, and still waterproof.
    I've bought a pair for my brother & father in law, and am ordering a 2nd pair for myself finally.
    I ordered 1/2 size smaller than my normal size and they fit great, my feet are normal width.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John S from Madison, WI on Thursday, October 5, 2017
    This is my second pair, and right out of the box I hiked 14 miles in them yesterday, with no discomfort and full confidence in their grip on the trail, and their support of my foot. I'll be sad if or when the maker discontinues these.

    The long laceable section allows me to snug them to the unique shape of my foot; the suede uppers hide scuffs; the Gore-Tex moisture protection really works; the soles are grippy without being clunky.

    I was able to buy my first pair from STP for many dollars less than this latest pair, but even at more than $100, these are a great value.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Paul from Mountains of North Carolina on Saturday, September 30, 2017
    This shoe is no only good looking but a true fit and comfortable for hiking or everyday use. The full lacing provides a custom fit.
  • Reviewed by STP Fan from Pocono Mts, PA on Wednesday, September 6, 2017
    These shoes are really well made, with lots of attention to detail in the pattern, design, materials, etc., and worth trying, even at the relatively high price for STP. However, there are two issues, which others have already pointed out: (1) the shoe is somewhat tight at the front, at the widest part of the foot, even after loosening the laces there; (2) the sole and insole combination used are quite hard, with almost no padding or arch support. (There is a little curve in the sole design that provides a little support that would be OK for those not needing much). For these reasons had to return them. But I would have gone larger if they had that size, and tried them with another insole, with more cushion and arch support. Re: sizing - I tried these in my baseline 'sneaker' size (1/2 size up from dress shoe size) and they still were too tight in the front.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RussRuss from Montana on Tuesday, August 29, 2017
    I don't know how these fit anyone. They are so skinny, I could barely get my feet in them. Horrible fitting shoes!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gar from Rhode Island on Thursday, August 24, 2017
    Nice looking shoe. Very grippy and great for scrambling up a stream bed with rounded rocks where the flexible foot bed and sticky lug sole does seem to allow for good grip; but not sure what else it is good for. Was attracted by the design and the knowledge that climbing shoes and good approach shoes have stiff toes which I need just for walking. Yes it is a striking shoe; but not stiff in the toe and the lug sole, which was fine for me, would also make it useless for climbing (my son is a climber). So at least a good walking shoe I thought, but no. The foundation transmits everything, so you feel the lugs pressing into your feet with each step. Hope mine are defective and this is just a mistake; but they fit so well as is, not sure they were not designed this way. Not good for climbing, so so for walking. Even worse for hiking on difficult terrain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colorado Mike from Colorado on Tuesday, August 1, 2017
    Well made, hiking shoe for easy trails. Serves well also as a casual shoe.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Porter hay from colorado on Tuesday, July 4, 2017
    THese kicks have incredible grip, and my husband needed something for up and out on he slick platform of the stack wagon. This is his second pair, and he is a going kind of guy...really likes them.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 22