Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Asolo Neutron Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Item #5486Y
$149.99 Save 42% Compare at $260.00
Loading
 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Asolo Neutron Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Thanks to their Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable membrane and grippy, Vibram® Radiant outsole, Asolo's Neutron hiking boots comfortably and confidently carry you over the most difficult terrain.

Specs

Specs about Asolo Neutron Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

  • Waterproof (All),Waterproof (Gore-Tex®)
  • Waterproof materials: Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable membrane
  • Gusseted tongue
  • Upper: Suede and nylon mesh
  • Lining: Textile
  • Midsole: Ethylene Vinyl Acetate (EVA)
  • Outsole: Vibram® rubber
  • Height: 6"
  • Heel height: 1-1/2"
  • Weight (pair): 2 lb. 13 oz.
  • All specs based on size 10
  • Made in Romania
  • Visit our Hiking Footwear Guide

Sizing

Asolo Mens Footwear Size Chart

US Size 5.5 6 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5 11 11.5 12 12.5 13 13.5 14 14.5 15 15.5 16 16.5 17
Eu Size 38 38 2/3 39 1/3 40 40 2/3 41 1/3 42 42 1/2 43 1/3 43 2/3 44 1/2 45 46 46 1/3 47 47 1/2 48 49 49 1/2 50 50 2/3 51 1/2 52 52 2/3
UK Size 5 5.5 6 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5 11 11.5 12 12.5 13 13.5 14 14.5 15 15.5 16 16.5 17

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.620065 5 Overall Rating: 4.6 Based on 608 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

AWESOME,PERIOD!
Reviewed by Connecticut Panda from Connecticut on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
I am worse than my wife when it comes to shoes-my closet is full of Scarpas, Merrels, and Asolos.

I got these to hike in and also to walk to the train and to work here in the NYC area (I wear my ski clothes to work then change into shirt tie at work) and they are totally comfortable of the 4 mile... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Asolo-Neutron-Gore-Tex-Hiking-Boots-Waterproof-For-Men Remove reviews search
  • Boot review
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by James from NV on Saturday, October 20, 2018
    The price and quality of Sierra Trading is excellent. I love love my new Asolo Gore-Tex Boots.
  • Hiking, working, etc etc etc
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Plumber Pat from Newville, Pa on Wednesday, October 17, 2018
    Great boot, if your looking for a piece of footwear that'll just about do it all, stop looking. It's stiff enough for a pack hiking type boot. It's got a high enough ankle support that you don't feel like your going to twist something that shouldn't type boot. It's stable enough as a construction site type boot. It's stiff enough that it's not going to flex if you try to hop on a shovel type boot. This is very similar as the Asolo Flame GTX, which is a great boot too, but I feel it's a tad better for two main reasons. It is slightly higher in the ankle for a little bit more support in that area and it's got Vibram soles which grip and wear a little better.
  • Asolo boots
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sierra Sam from Oregon on Wednesday, October 10, 2018
    My first pair of Asolo boots required about 6 months of break-in time. I wore them on short hikes of a mile or two, and the heel rubbed since they were so stiff. My second pair were the above Neutron model and did not require much breaking in at all--about 3 weeks, so I have bough another pair as a backup even though the Asolo website claims this model can be re-soled with rugged vibram tread. Anyway, my second pair is holding up well after over a year of almost daily wear, hiking from 2 to 8 miles in total comfort.
  • Excellent
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from NC on Wednesday, October 10, 2018
    This is the 2nd pair of Asolo boots I have. They are the most durable boots I've ever owned!
  • Good boots
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by 12teachscience from Wyoming on Tuesday, October 9, 2018
    I have had several Asolo boots. They have always been durable and comfortable. These boots are comfortable and offer good support.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Are these boots adequate for backpacking as opposed to hiking. I am looking for a backpacking boot that can provide good bottom support from rocks, etc. and provide enough stiffness to support medium sized loads for 3-7 day trips.”
    Asked by Steve from missouri on 6/25/2018 12:35:10 PM
    • These are good quality boots that should give enough support to be used for backpacking.
      Answered on 6/26/2018 9:22:55 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Are these boots adequate for backpacking as opposed to hiking. I am looking for a backpacking boot that can provide good bottom support from rocks, etc. and provide enough stiffness to support medium sized loads for 3-7 day trips.”
    Asked by Steve from missouri on 6/25/2018 12:33:26 PM
    • I purchased a pair of Neutrons recently. I have had the Asolo Fugitive (very similar to the Neutron) for 8 YEARS of hiking and multi-day backpacking in all types of terrain and conditions, in Oregon, Washington, Utah, Idaho, Nevada, and Arizona. The rigidity of the "shank" or arch support has been important to me. These boots have exceeded every expectation. They are lightweight considering how much support and protection they offer. After these many years of torture, the rubber midsole started deteriorating. I got the new Neutrons and in just these last 2 weeks I have hiked and backpacked over 60 miles - The North Kiabab Trail in the Grand Canyon, The Hop Valley route to LaVerkin Creek, other trails in Zion, Buckskin Gulch Slot Canyon, and other misc. trails in the area. Love these boots. I've considered going to trail-runners, but they would NOT give the arch protection, the ankle protection, and would not keep the dust and gravel out of the inside as well as a mid-height boot like this. I am very happy with a tiny bit more weight to get this kind of foot safety. My arches and ankles are fully protected while sprinting over boulders and going through streams with feet under water over slippery rocks. Highly recommended!
      Answered on 6/25/2018 2:14:29 PM by Adventure Addict from Oregon
    • Hi Steve, Yes, you'll find these boots are most adequate for backpacking. Last year I hiked down into the Grand Canyon, and then in October hiked up to Mt. Everest Base Camp in Nepal. This was an 82 mile round trip and the boots held up just fine. I retired the boots after that last trip with about 700 miles on them.
      Answered on 6/25/2018 7:22:16 PM by Kent Drummond from Divide, CO
    • I believe that you will be happy with this boot. The sole is heavy duty. I walking occasionally takes me onto volcanic rock fields and boot protects my feet. These boots are heavy and durable. I have noted that this boot is hotter than the Asolo Flame that I used prior to this boot. It is not a light hiking boot.
      Answered on 6/25/2018 7:47:33 PM by Bill from Colorado
    • These are good quality boots that should give enough support to be used for backpacking.
      Answered on 6/26/2018 9:22:42 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
    • I have hiked many miles in mine. Usually carry enough in my pack for just two nights. They had plenty of support on many different types of terrain
      Answered on 6/26/2018 2:20:54 PM by Veggie gal from Ohio
  • “I've had the Asolo Neutron for 3 1/2 years and they have started leaking, the left one badly. I think above the toes. I am a medium hiker, not heavy duty. Is this normal? What can I do the stop the leaking?”
    Asked by markdouglas from Upstate New York on 6/24/2018 2:35:41 PM
    • Hello Mark,

      I've have gone through several pairs of Neutron Waterproof boots over the past years. They are very waterproof when they're new, but over time the fabric material in the toe area breaks down and ultimately will begin to leak a little bit. My solution is to rub Sno-Seal into the fabric when I'm also waterproofing the leather area. That seems to help, at least until the boots are completely worn out and needing to be replaced. I hike an average of 700 miles a year, so a pair of boots wears out fairly quickly.
      Answered on 6/24/2018 9:06:36 PM by Kent Drummond from Divide, Colorado
    • Unfortunately, waterproofing does wear out over time.
      Answered on 6/25/2018 10:24:00 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Hi
    I am debating between the Asolo Neutron and Asolo Drifter. What are the difference between these boots.
    I am planning to use them for a 10 day hike in Colorado and New Mexico this summer.
    Thanks”
    Asked by Joe from Austin on 3/1/2018 2:37:06 PM
    • Hi Joe,
      I've never owned the Drifter so I don't know. They look very similar.
      Sorry I couldn't help.
      Answered on 3/2/2018 8:27:40 AM by mt goat from pennsylvania
    • Hello Joe,

      I don't know anything about the Drifter model, other than what one can read online. I will say that I've had very good experience with the Neutron model. I hike an average of 700 miles a year, and am on my third pair since the model was introduced by Asolo.
      Answered on 3/2/2018 10:38:47 AM by Kent Drummond from Divide, Colorado
  • “Are goretex boots hot in the summer compared to non - goretex boots?
    Thanks ”
    Asked by Paul from Wisconsin on 1/31/2018 8:46:50 PM
    • I have not noticed a great difference between goretex and non-goretex boots with regard to sweating, etc.YMMV.
      Answered on 1/31/2018 10:01:43 PM by Phil from Massachusetts
    • Yes, they are, Paul. I still highly recommend these boots though.
      Answered on 2/1/2018 4:51:07 AM by Big White Bear from Virginia
    • Gore-Tex is a highly breathable waterproof material to keep you from getting too hot.
      Answered on 2/1/2018 8:11:11 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
    • Actually an all weather boot, in the summer it's all about the socks, I suggest smartwool-medium to heavy for winter(depending on where you live) and medium to light weight for summer(again, depending on where you live)
      Answered on 2/1/2018 9:26:55 AM by SMAK from Texas
    • The Gore-tex lining does make them somewhat less breathable (thus a little warmer). I still wear them all year round, and if you are doing any extended hikes where you need dry feet, waterproof is more important than cool. Asolos actually make my feet sweat less than many Gore-tex options.
      Answered on 2/1/2018 10:06:34 AM by Ana from Maine
    • Yes goretex boots are slightly warmer in the summer.
      Answered on 2/1/2018 1:45:16 PM by Loren from West Virginia
    • Hi Paul,

      One of the nice things about gortex is that the material breathes. Since I live in Colorado, I can't say whether gortex would be hotter in summer, because it's generally cool in the higher mountains where I hike. I wear one pair of wick-dry socks, and have never had a problem with my feet getting hot.
      Answered on 2/1/2018 2:34:10 PM by Kent Drummond from Colorado
    • gortex is briethable, but just got my first pair last month, herein new england and it's witer and cold. they are great boots though excellent qulity
      Go! Patriots!
      Answered on 2/1/2018 3:36:44 PM by rb from North eastern CT

About Asolo

Designed for people with a passion for outdoor exploration, Asolo boots and shoes reflect more than 40 years of innovative solutions driven by an unyielding commitment to superior all-terrain performance. From advanced features like Duo Asoflex for incredible support to waterproof breathable Gore-Tex®, Asolo hiking boots are built to give outdoor athletes the best possible protection, traction and stability in a wide range of conditions. Whether you need crampon-compatible mountaineering boots to take on an alpine summit, backpacking boots for an extended trek or a lightweight pair of trail shoes for day hikes, you can trust Asolo shoes and boots to go the distance, wherever your next adventure takes you.