Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Asolo Neutron Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Item #5486Y
$149.99 Save 42% Compare at $260.00
Loading
 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Asolo Neutron Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Thanks to their Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable membrane and grippy, Vibram® Radiant outsole, Asolo's Neutron hiking boots comfortably and confidently carry you over the most difficult terrain.

Specs

Specs about Asolo Neutron Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Sizing

Asolo Mens Footwear Size Chart

US Size 5.5 6 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5 11 11.5 12 12.5 13 13.5 14 14.5 15 15.5 16 16.5 17
Eu Size 38 38 2/3 39 1/3 40 40 2/3 41 1/3 42 42 1/2 43 1/3 43 2/3 44 1/2 45 46 46 1/3 47 47 1/2 48 49 49 1/2 50 50 2/3 51 1/2 52 52 2/3
UK Size 5 5.5 6 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5 11 11.5 12 12.5 13 13.5 14 14.5 15 15.5 16 16.5 17

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.634353 5 Overall Rating: 4.6 Based on 588 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

AWESOME,PERIOD!
Reviewed by Connecticut Panda from Connecticut on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
I am worse than my wife when it comes to shoes-my closet is full of Scarpas, Merrels, and Asolos.

I got these to hike in and also to walk to the train and to work here in the NYC area (I wear my ski clothes to work then change into shirt tie at work) and they are totally comfortable of the 4 mile... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Asolo-Neutron-Gore-Tex-Hiking-Boots-Waterproof-For-Men Remove reviews search
  • Pretty hard to beat
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark the Landscaper from Abbotsford, bc on Tuesday, July 17, 2018
    I’ve been using Asolo hiking boots for work as a landscaper for years now and they have been outstanding. I prefer these neutrons over something full grain leather because they’re lighter, and my feet stay cooler and the gore-Tex keeps me dry. Cons are cheaper laces and less suitable for cooler weather. The durability is about on par with other Asolo boots. I turn and burn a pair ever 12-14 months. Also I wish this brand wasn’t excluded from most sales
  • Back from another brand
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cowboy52 from Tennessee on Monday, July 16, 2018
    I have owned a pair of these for 7 years. This exact model. About 2 years ago purchased another brand name. They lasted 2 years leaked and the seams tore apart. The 7 year old pair are still going. Repurchased a new set and they feel as good as my broken in old set. I love these boot and they last and last!
  • Great right outta the box
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by They call me Pedro from Iowa on Sunday, July 15, 2018
    I do a lot of conservation work in tall grass prairies and a lot of walking. The gore-tex recently failed in in my favorite summer boots. I bought these about 2 weeks ago based on the significant number of positive reviews. They felt great right out of the box. I walked around town for a few days with no issues then went into the field and have been quite pleased. No hot spots and no wet socks!

    Over the years I have wasted tons of money on popular brand name boots that were made in China, I was lucky to get a year out of any of them - I am a slow learner! From now on I will only invest in boots that are made in the Europe
  • Awesome boots
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by JCK ‘71 from Missouri on Tuesday, July 3, 2018
    I have three pairs of Asolo boots. Oldest is five years old and are still rock solid. Well worth the price. I was in a hiking shop in Jackson, WY and they were getting full retail MSRP. These are a deal. My favorite boots.
  • Jury still out
    Reviewed by SWNH from New Hampshire on Thursday, June 28, 2018
    Bought these boots in late winter in preparation for summer hiking. I had two previous pairs of Asolos and they were awesome. Couldn't say enough about them. Fit like a glove, no break in, no issues period. I have completed four aggressive hikes in the White Mts of NH (Moosilauke, Lafayette/Lincoln, North/South Twin, Monroe/Washington). On my second hike, I developed a small blister on my left pinky toe and there was pressure on my right one. I have also been getting tremendous pressure on my left inside ankle knob, from what I presume is from the tongue. I constantly have to move it around to get it from rubbing. Needless to say, I developed a blister from that on my Washington hike yesterday. I change my socks at the top so I am running dry ones down, but with no difference. Also feeling hot spots under my big toes. For what it is worth, I wear with orthotics and the same ones used in the last boots. I am going to try sock liners and maybe new socks. Am crushed if this is a boot issue as I have/had nothing but praises for Asolo.

    They do provide nice sticky traction and support. Have gone through some shallow stream crossings with no leaks. For what it is worth, I just took measurements (toe box width, length) from both boots and there is really no difference. I hope I can resolve this soon.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Are these boots adequate for backpacking as opposed to hiking. I am looking for a backpacking boot that can provide good bottom support from rocks, etc. and provide enough stiffness to support medium sized loads for 3-7 day trips.”
    Asked by Steve from missouri on 6/25/2018 12:35:10 PM
    • These are good quality boots that should give enough support to be used for backpacking.
      Answered on 6/26/2018 9:22:55 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Are these boots adequate for backpacking as opposed to hiking. I am looking for a backpacking boot that can provide good bottom support from rocks, etc. and provide enough stiffness to support medium sized loads for 3-7 day trips.”
    Asked by Steve from missouri on 6/25/2018 12:33:26 PM
    • I purchased a pair of Neutrons recently. I have had the Asolo Fugitive (very similar to the Neutron) for 8 YEARS of hiking and multi-day backpacking in all types of terrain and conditions, in Oregon, Washington, Utah, Idaho, Nevada, and Arizona. The rigidity of the "shank" or arch support has been important to me. These boots have exceeded every expectation. They are lightweight considering how much support and protection they offer. After these many years of torture, the rubber midsole started deteriorating. I got the new Neutrons and in just these last 2 weeks I have hiked and backpacked over 60 miles - The North Kiabab Trail in the Grand Canyon, The Hop Valley route to LaVerkin Creek, other trails in Zion, Buckskin Gulch Slot Canyon, and other misc. trails in the area. Love these boots. I've considered going to trail-runners, but they would NOT give the arch protection, the ankle protection, and would not keep the dust and gravel out of the inside as well as a mid-height boot like this. I am very happy with a tiny bit more weight to get this kind of foot safety. My arches and ankles are fully protected while sprinting over boulders and going through streams with feet under water over slippery rocks. Highly recommended!
      Answered on 6/25/2018 2:14:29 PM by Adventure Addict from Oregon
    • Hi Steve, Yes, you'll find these boots are most adequate for backpacking. Last year I hiked down into the Grand Canyon, and then in October hiked up to Mt. Everest Base Camp in Nepal. This was an 82 mile round trip and the boots held up just fine. I retired the boots after that last trip with about 700 miles on them.
      Answered on 6/25/2018 7:22:16 PM by Kent Drummond from Divide, CO
    • I believe that you will be happy with this boot. The sole is heavy duty. I walking occasionally takes me onto volcanic rock fields and boot protects my feet. These boots are heavy and durable. I have noted that this boot is hotter than the Asolo Flame that I used prior to this boot. It is not a light hiking boot.
      Answered on 6/25/2018 7:47:33 PM by Bill from Colorado
    • These are good quality boots that should give enough support to be used for backpacking.
      Answered on 6/26/2018 9:22:42 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
    • I have hiked many miles in mine. Usually carry enough in my pack for just two nights. They had plenty of support on many different types of terrain
      Answered on 6/26/2018 2:20:54 PM by Veggie gal from Ohio
  • “I've had the Asolo Neutron for 3 1/2 years and they have started leaking, the left one badly. I think above the toes. I am a medium hiker, not heavy duty. Is this normal? What can I do the stop the leaking?”
    Asked by markdouglas from Upstate New York on 6/24/2018 2:35:41 PM
    • Hello Mark,

      I've have gone through several pairs of Neutron Waterproof boots over the past years. They are very waterproof when they're new, but over time the fabric material in the toe area breaks down and ultimately will begin to leak a little bit. My solution is to rub Sno-Seal into the fabric when I'm also waterproofing the leather area. That seems to help, at least until the boots are completely worn out and needing to be replaced. I hike an average of 700 miles a year, so a pair of boots wears out fairly quickly.
      Answered on 6/24/2018 9:06:36 PM by Kent Drummond from Divide, Colorado
    • Unfortunately, waterproofing does wear out over time.
      Answered on 6/25/2018 10:24:00 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Hi
    I am debating between the Asolo Neutron and Asolo Drifter. What are the difference between these boots.
    I am planning to use them for a 10 day hike in Colorado and New Mexico this summer.
    Thanks”
    Asked by Joe from Austin on 3/1/2018 2:37:06 PM
    • Hi Joe,
      I've never owned the Drifter so I don't know. They look very similar.
      Sorry I couldn't help.
      Answered on 3/2/2018 8:27:40 AM by mt goat from pennsylvania
    • Hello Joe,

      I don't know anything about the Drifter model, other than what one can read online. I will say that I've had very good experience with the Neutron model. I hike an average of 700 miles a year, and am on my third pair since the model was introduced by Asolo.
      Answered on 3/2/2018 10:38:47 AM by Kent Drummond from Divide, Colorado
  • “Are goretex boots hot in the summer compared to non - goretex boots?
    Thanks ”
    Asked by Paul from Wisconsin on 1/31/2018 8:46:50 PM
    • I have not noticed a great difference between goretex and non-goretex boots with regard to sweating, etc.YMMV.
      Answered on 1/31/2018 10:01:43 PM by Phil from Massachusetts
    • Yes, they are, Paul. I still highly recommend these boots though.
      Answered on 2/1/2018 4:51:07 AM by Big White Bear from Virginia
    • Gore-Tex is a highly breathable waterproof material to keep you from getting too hot.
      Answered on 2/1/2018 8:11:11 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
    • Actually an all weather boot, in the summer it's all about the socks, I suggest smartwool-medium to heavy for winter(depending on where you live) and medium to light weight for summer(again, depending on where you live)
      Answered on 2/1/2018 9:26:55 AM by SMAK from Texas
    • The Gore-tex lining does make them somewhat less breathable (thus a little warmer). I still wear them all year round, and if you are doing any extended hikes where you need dry feet, waterproof is more important than cool. Asolos actually make my feet sweat less than many Gore-tex options.
      Answered on 2/1/2018 10:06:34 AM by Ana from Maine
    • Yes goretex boots are slightly warmer in the summer.
      Answered on 2/1/2018 1:45:16 PM by Loren from West Virginia
    • Hi Paul,

      One of the nice things about gortex is that the material breathes. Since I live in Colorado, I can't say whether gortex would be hotter in summer, because it's generally cool in the higher mountains where I hike. I wear one pair of wick-dry socks, and have never had a problem with my feet getting hot.
      Answered on 2/1/2018 2:34:10 PM by Kent Drummond from Colorado
    • gortex is briethable, but just got my first pair last month, herein new england and it's witer and cold. they are great boots though excellent qulity
      Go! Patriots!
      Answered on 2/1/2018 3:36:44 PM by rb from North eastern CT

About Asolo

Designed for people with a passion for outdoor exploration, Asolo boots and shoes reflect more than 40 years of innovative solutions driven by an unyielding commitment to superior all-terrain performance. From advanced features like Duo Asoflex for incredible support to waterproof breathable Gore-Tex®, Asolo hiking boots are built to give outdoor athletes the best possible protection, traction and stability in a wide range of conditions. Whether you need crampon-compatible mountaineering boots to take on an alpine summit, backpacking boots for an extended trek or a lightweight pair of trail shoes for day hikes, you can trust Asolo shoes and boots to go the distance, wherever your next adventure takes you.