Customer Reviews Of:
Backpackers Pantry Gourmet 2-Person, 3-Day Vegetarian Meal Pack

Closeouts. Backpackers Pantry's lightweight Gourmet Vegetarian meal packs help you enjoy tasty, healthy vegetarian meals on the trail without carrying extra weight.

Average Rating based on 118 reviews 4.186440 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Reviewed by Amanda from Florida on Wednesday, October 21, 2015
    My boyfriend and I keep these in our pantry and just grab a few whenever we go do something outdoorsy. We're much more likely to go backpacking or camping when we don't have to worry about meal planning and grocery shopping. We can pack a bunch of them into our bear canister or bear bag. The ones we've had so far taste great. I'm grateful there's a vegetarian box available! That's super convenient. Considering each packet is usually about $8 individually, this is an incredible price and I need to buy more.
  • Reviewed by Julie A from Oregon on Wednesday, September 9, 2015
    This kept me perfectly fed on my 4 day, 3 night backpacking trek. The lasagna was the best dinner. The dinners with rice need a fair amount of time to rehydrate, as does the huevos rancheros because it has beans. Just be sure to read the instructions carefully, as some items are cooked in a pot, and with others you can just add hot water to the bag. This was very convenient at times when we were cold and exhausted and didn't want to do dishes. The deserts were a nice treat, especially the apple cobbler and the cheesecake. This saved me all of the trouble of having to come up with and shop for the menu. I shared with my boyfriend, and he brought a few additional things since he is not a vegetarian and we had more than enough.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mosin Kid from Oklahoma on Tuesday, September 1, 2015
    Food tasted great and was easy to store. Great product!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Jer from Directly over the center of the earth! on Wednesday, August 26, 2015
    To call this a 3 day pack is putting the receiver on starvation rations. This wouldn't even feed a one soldier for 2 days.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by @adventuresofk8 from Indiana on Friday, August 21, 2015
    We like the food choices. The mashed potatoes, blueberry granola and red beans are rice are delicious.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alice from Missouri on Tuesday, August 4, 2015
    Husband and I ordered as a gift for our son's upcoming backpacking trip. The product has not been used as yet, but, the speed of shipment and the coupon along with the extra meal was a nice little surprise. Thanks.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TDS76 from Saint Paul, MN on Wednesday, July 29, 2015
    The meals we ate were delicious and filling. Unfortunately we just didn't see a need to have 3 desserts. I don't know about you, but I get enough sweets in the snacks we eat on the trail. And we weren't hugely fond of having two egg breakfasts, only because it requires a couple of steps for preparation and more cleanup than other meals. We generally don't have a lot of time for dilly-dallying in the morning.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elaine from Minnesota on Tuesday, June 30, 2015
    We took this on the GR20 in Corsica. Meals were easy to prepare and tasty. Portions were a bit on the small side after lugging a pack up and down mountains. However, i was impressed enough to order more for a trek in the Rockies this summer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WIO from Michigan on Tuesday, June 16, 2015
    Good price on these but the dates are getting close so plan on using then this season or next.
    Several of the dessert things require a separate pan so if you're a minimalist leave those at home and use for car camping.
    I've eaten most of these items before and they are all pretty good at the end of a long day but freeze dried backpacking food is just that
    so don't expect miracles.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ALS from Tennessee on Tuesday, June 9, 2015
    This is the third time I have ordered this pack. The meals are surprisingly tasty, seeming to have more seasoning and flavor than a lot of Mountain House food. We particularly like the Katmandu curry and the red beans and rice. The deserts are also quite good. Many of the packages are also relatively healthy for food like this. One of the best parts is that with the discounts on STP this is cheap enough that we are using it for some car camping meals when we are tired and do not want to cook. As some others have mentioned, the expiration dates are a mixed bag, but everything has at least a couple of years and the food is good enough it will not last that long.
  • Reviewed by Avaphotog from Los Angeles on Friday, April 17, 2015
    I received some bags that expire in two years and others that expire in five years. It seems this the way they are getting ride of some packages that are nearing their end date. If you plan on using the food soon it's a good deal. I bought this for my disaster preparations so I'm dissatisfied.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lizzy,RN from Mount Vernon, WA on Wednesday, March 4, 2015
    This variety of backpacking vegetarian meals is a great bargain. Lots of variety. My Only complaint is that the two egg meals require cooking as opposed to just adding boiling water. I don't take a skillet backpacking so these meals will be saved for car camping or when the power goes out!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from Boston on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    Purchased for a future trip. Can't beat the price. I will be splitting this into six meals on a solo trip this summer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jonathan from Virginia on Sunday, November 30, 2014
    These Tasty meals save pounds on the back; the flattened pouches are airtight and small. Stand-alone meals allow you to pick and choose what to take on your next trip. Freeze-dried meals area great way to break-up the monotony of typical trail-fare and with a discount from Sierra Trading Post, the relatively expensive per-meal cost makes this package truly a great buy. Freeze-dried meals are shelf-stable for a few years, so don't worry about eating through all the meals in one trip.
  • Reviewed by coruscate from Petaluma on Monday, October 27, 2014
    Car camping, backpacking, earthquake/emergency kit, these meals are fantastic on their own. Rolled into a 3 day meal pack is brilliant. The price is sweeter than the dessert almost. Satisfies our family from the high standards of mom to the quantity standards of dad (6'3" and big) as well as the interest of our 3 year old hiking champ. We may not have ordered enough.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kay in Colorado from Colorado on Tuesday, October 7, 2014
    Great food at a lower price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dancur99 from alexandria va on Friday, September 12, 2014
    I found the food easy to prepare, tasty and a pure joy while spending time in the outdoors.
  • Reviewed by LilyCatsMom from SF Bay Area, CA on Friday, August 15, 2014
    Our family doesn't backpack so I can't speak to how well these would work for backpacking. Got these to follow a friend's system of keeping some on hand for the emergency/earthquake food supply and then using the ones close to expiring for camping trips. So far we've tried the lasagna (a bit salty - helps to have some plain boiled pasta to mix it with to dilute out the saltiness), wild west chili with beans (WAY too salty even with extra added rice, couldn't finish it), sicilian mixed vegetables (also a bit too salty, okay if you mix it in with some plain lettuce), vegetable medley (again mixed with some lettuce, kids liked it but hubby thought the 'buttery sauce' tasted a bit odd), huevos rancheros (best to roll up in tortillas, maybe add a bit of fresh tomato or salsa if you have it). Desserts were pretty decent for a just-add-water thing (the cobbler takes a little more work, needs to be cooked in a pot)-and one package split between the 4 members of our family was enough for a little-bit-of-sweets after dinner.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kibbles and Bits from Ohio on Friday, August 8, 2014
    Everything tastes better in the wilderness! These are all pretty tasty, except for the Denver omelet, which could use a little more seasoning. The curry was a little spicy and pretty delicious. Easy to prepare a hot dinner after a day of hiking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Climbingbum from California on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
    Hey, it's backpacking food. Of course it's never the best, tastiest morsels you will ever put into your mouth; but as they say "hunger is the best sauce." I'm giving this review 5 stars for the quantity of food and for the steal of a deal that you are getting from Sierra Trading Post. To answer some other prospective buyers questions, these meals have expiration dates 2-3 years or more out. They are not expired!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LikesTheRain from Washington on Wednesday, May 7, 2014
    My husband and I took these meals backpacking last summer. A few needed to be cooked, but most just need hot water. The portions were plenty for both of us.(He is known to be a big eater!) I found the egg dishes to be a bit funky tasting and haven't tried the deserts yet. The main dishes and sides were relatively good. These wouldn't be my first choice for a meal, but for backpacking they are great. We bought another set for this summer.
  • Reviewed by Disappointed from Tennessee on Sunday, December 1, 2013
    This is my second meal pack purchase. The food is okay, though the huevos rancheros were a wash. The complaint is that the packaging is not enviro or trail friendly. When for a two-week trek on the Appalachian trail with an assortment of dehydrated food brands. These were the most difficult to carrry until a trash recepticle was available: too bulky and rigid. This may not bother some, but I strive to hike/run as minimally as possible.
  • Reviewed by Adam from Wisconsin on Friday, September 27, 2013
    I am not a vegetarian. I liked that these were packaged in a 3 day pack so I bought them. I like the light weight and convenience of freeze dried meals when backpacking. They all taste pretty good. Some of the meals require a bit more prep work then just adding boiled water like some meals on the market. I would buy again
  • Reviewed by Pat from PG from Pittsburgh, PA on Thursday, September 26, 2013
    We haven't tried the food yet but have had other meals from the same company so that isn't a worry. Best thing was the variety in this group and we are truly looking forward to our backpacking trip (collecting gear). The price was incredible.
  • Reviewed by Wide feet from idaho on Sunday, September 15, 2013
    My husband was very worried that the servings would not be large enough for both of us to share, but we had plenty of food. The dinners include a main course, side dish and dessert. The breakfasts were a bit small to share. The taste was good for a dehydrated meal. The meals were light weight and we ate out of the packaging most of the time, so dirty dishes were minimal.
  • Reviewed by Heather from TX on Saturday, September 7, 2013
    After becoming a vegetarian, I was wondering how I would swing this whole backpacking/camping thing that typically consists of hotdogs, jerky, or hamburgers. I found this meal package and was so excited. The previous reviews said the food was delicious so I went ahead and ordered it for me and my husband. In the overview, it says "2 servings of each" for the many different meals. I had the impression that it meant 2 individual packets of the Denver Omelet and 2 individual packets of the Cheesecake, etc. I figured my husband could carry his meals & I could carry mine. Also that way if he didn't want the omelet one morning, I could still eat it while he had the granola. When the package was delivered, I discovered this was not the case. You still receive 2 of each meal but they are in ONE packet. This means less weight because there isn't as much packing material however, the meals cannot be split between 2 backpacks as well AND if someone doesn't want to eat what you are eating, then you both have to carry leftovers around on the trail or waste it. Having 2 servings in one packet also makes it tricky to pack the meals in your backpack if you choose to hike alone or for only one day, you will be forced to carry extra food= extra weight. Wish it had been 2 individual packets of each meal..... I gave it 3 stars for this reason as well as I have not tasted the food just yet. Will write another review later to comment on flavors.
  • Reviewed by Nevada Native Hiker from Nevada on Monday, September 2, 2013
    I just completed the Ruby Crest Trail over three days (38 miles). I had two days worth of food from this package with me and I returned with leftovers. The meals were very tasty and flavorful. The egg breakfasts and apple cobbler required extra cooking with a "nonstick" pan. Sorry didn't have one of those in my pack!
    Good food, great price, and I ate better than my hike mate. Of course, I shared the cheesecake.
    Great meals and good value.
  • Reviewed by Long distance runner from Idaho on Thursday, August 29, 2013
    Most of these meals were of the "just add water" variety. One dessert and two breakfasts required cooking so we weren't able to use them as we were packing minimally. Bought them with a coupon so they were a good value. There were 3 breakfasts, 3 dinners, 3 desserts and 3 side dishes (2 veggies and mashed potatoes). Yes, I would buy these again.
  • Reviewed by Larry from Longview, WA on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    These items were healthy, tasty and quick. I couldn't be more pleased with the price and quality of this food.
  • Reviewed by didee99 from Colorado on Wednesday, August 21, 2013
    Most of the meals are easy to prepare and all of the meals my husband and I have tried so far, we have really liked. I'm impressed! One of the meals for 2 people is not really enough but with a side dish and dessert, it's the right amount of food.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4