Customer Reviews Of:
Black Diamond Equipment Ice Gloves - Schoeller® (For Men)

Closeouts. Black Diamond Equipment's Ice gloves have the dexterity and warmth you need to run out the route. Flexible, hard-wearing Schoeller® is water-, wind- and dirt-resistant, breathable and shape-retaining. Pittards® Armortan leather is water- and abrasion-resistant, breathable and grippy.

  • Waterproof breathable BDry insert
  • Molded padding on knuckles and fingers
  • Comfort rated to 30ºF
  • Fabric: 73% nylon, 22% polyurethane, 5% spandex with polyurethane insert
  • Palm: Pittards® Armortan goatskin leather
  • Wrist: Nylon
  • Lining: Polyester
  • Made in China
  • U.S. shipments only.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews 3.500000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ajay from new york, ny on Saturday, February 5, 2011
    i used them for ice climbing in 30 degree weather without any liners and my hands were cold. with liners they were a little tight.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Working Outdoors
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Good Grip, Waterproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rod from Northern Colorado on Saturday, December 25, 2010
    I waited for these to get to a get STP price and then jumped on them. Nice gloves, lucky for me I have small hands. This is my second pair (wore out the first set in reasonable timeframe).
    • Best Uses: Ice climbingbc skiing
    • Cons: Too Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Ice Climbing
    • Pros: Good knuckle protection, Warm, Windproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by love2roam from LA, CA on Tuesday, December 21, 2010
    good gloves. super warm. a bit too bulky to handle gear like biners or screws well.
    • Cons: Not very dexterious, Too Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Grip, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Grungy Dave from Underhill, VT on Sunday, November 28, 2010
    I already had a pair of these exact gloves that are starting to get worn out. They are perfect for ice climbing, with good dexterity which is important when placing ice screws and clipping carabiners. I normally ice climb when it is in the 20's and low 30's and usually bring a warmer pair of gloves to belay with. But I think it is nearly impossible to have warm winter gloves that still have good grip on the ice tools, so 2 pairs seems to work for me.
    • Best Uses: Ice climbing
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: On The Mountain
    • Pros: Good dexterity, Good Grip
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JK from Maine on Sunday, November 28, 2010
    I bought these specifically for ice climbing. I suppose someone could use them for skiing, snowshoeing, etc. but I run so warm that I generally only wear a liner glove for those activities.

    For ice climbing, I think they're better than any of the updated & "improved" gloves available from BD or OR. They fit well, have great dexterity, and are surprisingly warm for how little bulk they have. I have climbed in the current BD Enforcer (good dexterity but feel less warm) & the OR Extravert (warmer, poor dexterity), and have tried on numerous styles of gloves.
    I have used these for a full season of ice climbing (@100 days), with minor wear. The palms are double-layer leather in areas of high wear, and the finger-tips are leather-capped for durability. As long as you take good care of them (don't dry with high heat, use leather conditioner occasionally, don't rappel/lower too quickly) you should be able to get 3 seasons before you have to replace them. I'm going to give my Enforcers a chance, but these gloves will definitely be seeing the most use this winter.

    Fit is pretty true to size. I have these in a Medium, and wear a Small or Med. in most gloves (Extravert-Med, Enforcer-Sm, Guide-Med). The fit is tight enough that there isn't a lot of extra fabric to dramatically decrease my dexterity, but loose enough that my hands stay warm.

    The only problem I've had with these gloves is that the insulation packed out relatively quickly (within a week of use). However, it didn't affect the overall fit significantly, so I wouldn't really consider it a con.

    In the "for what it's worth" category, the padding on the back of the hand is entirely superfluous since you never hit that part of your hand with leashless tools. If you're still climbing on older tools like the original Cobra or Grivel Machines then you'll appreciate that padding, but for most people it won't provide much benefit.
    • Best Uses: Ice climbing
    • Cons: Insulation packs quickly
    • Describe Yourself: On The Mountain
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Durable, Good Grip, Warm, Windproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Forest Gump from Montana on Saturday, November 13, 2010
    Padded to prevent knuckle bashing when ice climbing. Preshaped for gripping. Long cuffs that are wide enough to fit over jacket and effectively keep the snow out.
    • Best Uses: Ice climbing
    • Describe Yourself: Competitive Athlete
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zenith from Boston,MA on Saturday, September 18, 2010
    Everything is perfect except the fabric which is a bit too stiff.
    • Describe Yourself: On The Mountain
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Durable, Good Grip, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TB from Concord, NH on Friday, January 30, 2009
    Wore them once skiing -- 15 degrees out -- hands froze -- had to go back to my 14 year old Swany gloves with rips and tears and my hands were fine --

    Nice fit and grip, but not good for cold weather...
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Grip, Snug Fit
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Sort by: