Montane
Montane 3.974358 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Reviewed by Power Walker from Vegas and Vallarta on Monday, August 14, 2017
    Gift for my wife turned out to be a huge hit with this beauty from Montane...and she doesn't know I only spent $37 for it. I don't know the retail but I know its never under a hundred dollars anywhere. It feel really soft to the touch and nothing of that plastic feel that cheaper jackets have. She ran the water over her arm and it not only beaded right off but the jacket was super dry instantly, too. Fantastic product and deal here. Thanks, STP!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Amy from The Gunks from New Paltz NY on Wednesday, August 2, 2017
    Super comfy and stretchy. I thought it was going to be a bit insulated, but it is not. I looked up outside reviews due to the small # of reviews here before purchasing and hikers have made claims they they were stuck in all day downpour and remained completely dry. I haven't been in this situation yet, but it appears as if this claim is true.
  • Reviewed by Cosmic Alchemist from WA high desert on Friday, June 30, 2017
    I've tried a lot of different rain jackets on here and I haven't found one that fit me well. I got the marmot trench coat in a large, way too big, sent it back, got the arc'treyx norvan in medium, way too tight and lack of pockets, sent it back, tried a cheaper under amour rain jacket, it was bright neon green and plasticity feeling and had a cheap mesh that I knew I'd rip on the inside, medium was a little tight with layers and large was too big, those went back, tried the arc'teryx zeta lt in medium, it was also too tight too, so I returned it. I finally got this jacket in size 14, even though I'm usually a small-medium, size 6-8 usually, this is a UK 14, not an American, and they say it's more like a US 12, but I'd say more like an 8 or 10. The arms are long on me, I'm 5feet 4 inches tall, about 135lbs. and even though it is not gortex, the event fabric seems comparable, maybe a little thicker. I can comfortably fit 2 warm hoodies under it and zip it without getting my chest squashed in the zipper, so that's a plus. I like the 2 zipper system because I wouldn't be able to sit down in the jacket if it didn't have it. I also like that it has 2 large outside pockets, although they're a little high for my taste because I'm not a mountaineer cubit if you get the jacket for it's intended purpose and not just to use as an everyday rain jacket like I would use it for, it probably is beneficial.
  • Reviewed by Mary the hiker from Utah on Friday, June 23, 2017
    Haven't tried this outdoors yet, but this appears to be a high quality, good looking raincoat. The fabric is thin and lightweight, and the overall fit seems tailored for a slim, athletic fit. It is a European product, and I think the sizing is a bit off ... I ordered the 8 (which the label says is 36 EUR), and it fits just fine--I am 5'5", 120 lbs, normally a size 6 (and 36 or 38 EUR). The body and the sleeves don't leave a lot of room for layering, and there are no pit zips. However, for the clearance price, I am definitely keeping this. Definitely recommend, and definitely order a size up. (My husband owns a Montane jacket as well; he has an XL, even though he is normally a L.)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by No road rash! from Tetons on Tuesday, June 6, 2017
    The jacket is an athletic or European fit, but appears to run true to size. It appears from initial unwrapping to be of high quality. Field testing will show, of course.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Esther2 from Idaho on Saturday, May 27, 2017
    The pros re: this waterproof jacket is it's color and weight. I just couldn't stand the collar. When I zipped it up, the collar was so high and stiff that It rubbed my neck skin raw. It was stiff and it was uncomfortable to look down due to the fabric in the collar not giving. When the jacket was unzipped, the collar lay in a funny weird way because it was so stiff and the flaps so big. I chose to send it back and get an exchange. I bought a Marmot Crux Waterproof Jacket for the same clearance price and am REALLY pleased with my second try.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brindel from Pacific Northwest on Monday, February 27, 2017
    I absolutely love this jacket. It is completely waterproof. The only advice I would give is that this jacket is very narrow in the hips. I had to exchange U.S. size 8 for the U.S. size 10, and I probably would have been even better off going 2 sizes up (I am very curvy) It is not a jacket for warmth, it is for weather protection, so you will want to make sure you account for that when looking at the sizes. If you are very trim, you will not have any problems, but if you are curvy, be generous when picking the size. Also, it is cut to be trim fitting because it is a mountaineering jacket and you wouldn't want a lot of excess fabric when mountaineering. I am thrilled with this jacket. :-)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gary from Nv on Tuesday, January 24, 2017
    Didn't fit right
  • Reviewed by Olaf the Hiker from New York City on Thursday, December 8, 2016
    I’m 5’8” tall, 155lbs heavy and I wear 38R suits/Medium coats but I had to size down to a SMALL in the Deep Cold Down to get a proper fit. Even still the size Small is cavernous enough in the chest and arms to layer lots of clothing underneath. This is a big lofty warm expedition coat that wears easy and feels very light-weight on your back.
    With 400 grams of 800 fill responsibly sourced Down supplemented by 40 grams of Primaloft you will never need to layer more than a base and mid layer underneath the Deep Cold Down to keep warm in any type of weather inside the orbit of Pluto.
    There is much good to say about the Deep Cold Down so to keep it concise I will do a simple PRO and CON list below singling out aspects of this coat that set it apart from other big expedition down hooded coats I’ve owned (including the TNF Gore Dryloft Himalayan & Baltoro, Patagonia Hooded Fitz Roy, Rab Neutrino Endurance, Berghaus Ulvetanna and most recently the Mammut Eigerjoch-that I returned to buy this).
    PROS:
    Nice Shape – The number one thing that sets the Deep Cold apart from the pack is it has an actual shape instead of being this shapeless lump that most big expedition down coats tend to be. The Deep Cold is tailored with contoured stitched panels, dual hem cinches and a waistline bungee toggle cinch which keeps the shape rigid and tailored to your body (also keeps the elements out). In addition to this Montane uses different weavings of Pertex Endurance fabric throughout the exterior. There is thicker/firmer fabric at the arms, shoulders, hood and lower rear with thinner/softer fabric on the armpits, chest and mid-back regions. This gives the jacket a comfortable shape that wears well whether zipped or unzipped. Most other big down coats especially the Marmot 8000, Mammut Eigerjoch, Patagonia Fitz Roy Hoody and the TNFs Himalayans wear like big bloated shapeless bags of down that make you look like a giant potato.
    Durable Outer Fabrics- Montane reinforces the Pertex at the regions mentioned above so that you have a strong thornproof wear-resistant (not just weather-resistant) coat. Most down coats save weight here by using soft wispy thin outer fabrics that have no business in the outdoors! The Patagonia shell fabrics and my Mammut Eigerjoch’s thin Pertex membrane were the worst offenders.
    Warm to Weight Ratio – Compared to heavy burdensome coats like the TNF Himalayans this coat is just as warm but also the lightest I’ve worn in this category. Also having a removable hood and an ingenious substitute for a traditional heavy snow skirt/gaiter helps shed the weight. The Mammut Eigerjoch is the closest to this in terms of warmth to wear-weight ratio but the Deep Cold Down wins out because it has more features.
    Removable Expedition Hood – This coat has one of the best hoods I’ve ever experienced. It has EVERY positive (warm, waterproof, helmet friendly, full face and head coverage, easy on-off, tucks away when not used, wired brim, 3 way cinch system) that a hood could have with the addition of it being removable. The hood connects with a sealing zipper and baffle flap so that when connected it protects like a normal non-removable hood.
    High Baffled Cinching Fleece Lined Collar- This coat has a down filled baffle collar that wraps around your neck when the coat is zipped up so heat is sealed in and cold is locked out. The only other coat that I’ve seen with this was my 1995-era TNF Himalayan Dry Loft Heat-Radiant Lined coat. Not many big down coats today have this feature since having an non-removable hood in addition to a baffle collar adds weight. This double feature makes the Deep Cold Down dynamic with the choices of how you can wear it. The top of the collar also has a cinch toggle that can allow the collar to hug your neck when zipped up or be pulled back when zipped down if you get too hot.
    Internal Bungee Cinch– Instead of the traditional heavy snow skirt/heat retention gaiter the Deep Cold Down uses a bungee cinch toggle that runs along the waist at the back (not the front). When cinched the jacket hugs your torso and hips at the back to effectively seal in heat and keeps out cold and snow. It’s ingenious because the jacket is lighter and can be field-tailored for a snug or a loose fit.
    Sleeves – They are articulated sleeves that are purposely loose and long for the size. At first I was thinking they were too big but when the temps drop I can pull the cuffs down over my ungloved-hands for extra warmth.
    Belay Zipper – The Deep Cold Down gets praise for having this long forgotten, very useful, feature that most commercially sold expedition down coats no longer have.
    Full Torso Protection with Drop Tail Hem– The Deep Cold Down is long enough, with a well-defined contoured drop tail hem, so that your upper legs are well covered. If you don’t need the extra length then the hem cinches will shorten the coat. A lot of big down hooded coats are shorter like the Rab Neutrino Endurance with no protection below your belly button. Others that are as longer lack both shape and a drop tail hem. My Mammut Eigerjoch and Patagonia Fitz Roy Hoody were nice and long but shapeless marshmallows.
    Exterior Pockets For Days– All the pockets are well placed with down-filling on both sides so your hands will be warm in all of them. They all secure with either Velcro strips (lower bellow pockets), zips (side fleece-lined hand pockets), or both Velcro and zips (napoleon chest pockets). Most coats, worse offender being my Rab Neutrino Endurance, has a thin sheet of nylon between your body and the pocket so when the pockets are left open cold gets inside the jacket. On the Deep Cold Down there is down filling on both sides so an open pocket does not let cold in and a closed pocket is extra warmth. Also with the redundant Velcro closures it is nearly impossible to leave a pocket open on this coat.

    CONS (nothing substantial but if you need to nitpick):
    A lot of Velcro – This coat has Velcro on almost every pocket. It also has Velcro along every inch of the main zipper storm baffle flap, on the cuffs and all over the hood. If you are a fan of Velcro you will love that it makes using the coat easy and quick (closing the flaps and pockets as well as wearing the hood) compared to using tiny snaps and buttons. Everyone else will find the Velcro to be loud (until you get used to it) and distracting.

    Tiny Internal Mesh Pockets – Of all the coats in this category this one has the smallest internal mesh pockets. At best a 16 ounce Poland Spring water bottle will fit in the bigger of the two pockets. You definitely won’t get a 32 Ounce Nalgene bottle or expedition mitts/glove in there. The smaller mesh pocked is zippered but is only big enough for wallets, lip balm and keys. In 2016 mountaineers use the hydration pouches and the Deep Cold Down does have D-rings on the sleeves for hooking mitts/gloves to so this won't bother most folks.
    Cheap Looking Stitching around bellow pockets and cuffs- It is probably just me but I’ve always found Montane’s stitching to look cheap and loose even though it is indeed a durable coat and I’ve never had an issue with premature failure on any Montane product. My Montane Krypton Jacket from 5 years ago came out the wrapping with what looked like loose threads and cheap stitching but that jacket never had issues after many years of hard use. So it is more of an issue with just the way it looks.
    No Stuff Stack- This is the first expedition coat I've bought to not come with one. I guess Montane assumes if you are already in the business of extreme adventure where you need something as serious as this coat then you already have a stuff sack. Also pack ability is not great on this coat compared to other big down coats that stuff into their hoods, mini-stuff sacks or pockets. Here you will have to use a sleeping bag stuff sack that compresses or lash it at the top of your summit pack.
    OVERALL:
    This is a great coat at the end of the day. Apart from all the things I pointed out it is easy to wear and light on your back while providing the best warmth and weather protection anywhere your feet can take you on this green Earth!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Katie from Texas on Tuesday, October 18, 2016
    What a great jacket! These were running low in my size, which is normally a 4, however I ordered the 6 and I am glad I did. I wasn't quite sure how the sizing worked, but for the price and quality I figured I would take the risk. It fits a little snug around my hips....but I think thats base on me having larger hips, not because the jacket is too small in that area. The jacket has a nice feminine cut...who doesn't want to look cute while hiking? It feels really warm and is super lightweight. I am planning on using this in an area that may get below freezing at night, but 70s during the day, so that fact that it came with a stuff sack was great!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
;