AKU
AKU 4.419540 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 87
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by briandd43 from Maine on Friday, September 8, 2017
    Have gotten a few New England mountain miles on these. Comfortable out of the box. Look great - waterproof as described (walked through a couple small streams). Great construction for the price, and the soles grip great - even on wet rocks. My only issue is that the soft, supple leather (which looks great initially) is very susceptible to scuffing. After a 5 mile hike, the boots look like I'd been wearing them for 5 months. I don't mind the aesthetics of a worn-looking boot, but others might take issue.
  • Reviewed by Speardane5 from CA on Thursday, August 31, 2017
    The soles of my AKU Zenith 2 wore through, and was undecided for a while how to deal with that, AKU is uninformative regarding resole options. I went with these boots as a last minute decision before a backpacking trip. I left for the Sierras 10 minutes after UPS delivered them, so there was no time to assess the fit etc. While not as luxurious as my leather lined Zeniths, these Tributes are built really solid with a mean outsole, despite being so lightweight. I crossed multiple shallow meltwater streams without water spilling inside, and water rolls off the suede, mud seems to flake off quickly also. I had some arch trouble with 55lbs on my back, sharp tarsal pain, which lessened over the span of 5 days. The footbed seemed slightly flat, but my feet are aging, so whatever. I'll get inserts. A very simple boot, built to take a beating.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Backpacker from California on Thursday, August 17, 2017
    Wow.....very comfortable boot, doesn't need break in time. The boot is very comfortable and gives great ankle support. The size was spot on. It has a toe guard which is an additional great feature. Highly recommend this boot!
  • Reviewed by Robert the boot returner from LA on Saturday, August 5, 2017
    Quality seems fine but run narrow compared to American work boots like redwing. So had to return.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kryton from Indiana on Monday, July 31, 2017
    2nd pair of AKU.. I've been buying shoes for over 50 years.. some cost much more that these.. these are far and away the best quality shoes that I have ever owned! comfort beyond words.. must be worn to be appreciated!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PhillyME from Philadelphia PA on Friday, July 14, 2017
    Excellent fil, breathability, durability~
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Guri. from Republic of korea on Wednesday, June 7, 2017
    It keeps my feet comfortable and gives comfort and stability even after a long time. It was a good choice.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colorado Mike from Colorado on Thursday, May 11, 2017
    I purchased these after reading multiple reviews, and they are superb fitting mountaineering level boots. Every aspect is well designed, as are all AKU boots. In my opinion, they are simply the best constructed and functioning boots available.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stephen the [...] Sapien from California on Friday, May 5, 2017
    These boots felt sturdy out of the box and fit comfortably (with superfeet inserts). However, after 7 days in the snowy back country the waterproof seal layer along the bottom of the boot began peeling off. Trekking through snow and crossing numerous small streams (with gators), my socks were wet and toes cold, while my companions who had higher end boots (La Sportiva Nepal EVOs) had dry socks and comfortable feet.

    If you want a medium end boot that you don't expect to put through the ringer, these will be fine with these, but if you're looking for something more rugged/durable for 4 seasons, I'd recommend paying more to invest in a higher end boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe from Michigan on Wednesday, April 19, 2017
    True to size and not too heavy
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 87
;