Alico 4.516772 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 221
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Izzy the canyon hiker from Idaho on Sunday, March 18, 2018
    These boots are great for people with narrow feet. I didn't have a lot of time to break them in before our hiking trip to Utah but they were pretty comfortable to wear and I was the only one who didn't get blisters. I had to adjust one of the tongs a little bit because it was pushing on my ankle bone on our second hike. But it wasn't an issue on our third. They got scuffed up in the narrow canyons but held up great otherwise. I'm going to apply special leather oil with beeswax to them again to condition.
  • Reviewed by David from Tennessee on Friday, March 9, 2018
    I have a wide toe spread so i bought my normal size 11 in the WIDE. I'm not sure that was necessary but I do love the extra room. My Vasque Sundowners came apart after 15 years, and although I glued them back together I do not trust them anymore. These Alicos are en entirely different level of quality from the Vasques they're replacing. The leather, though thick, is SMOOTH whereas my Vasques were always stiff. The norwegian welt sole is much more stable than the somewhat rocketed Vasque glue-on. But most of all the boots are much taller--taller on my leg, yes, but I mean taller in the shoe. Plenty of toe room, no pinching at all. I wear a light merino hiking sock and then on top of that I pull on a mid-thick wool hiker, and THEN I stuff my feet in the luxurious leather-lined Alicos and tighten the laces to the max. But I still have plenty of room. Excellent heel pocketing. I've had them for 4mos and they're finally starting to flex with my foot. I will never buy another boot that does not feature stitched resolvable construction and soft leather lining. Thanks, Alico!
  • Reviewed by Chuck Beatty from Pittsburgh on Monday, February 26, 2018
    Worth the 200 bucks from my viewpoint.

    Breaking my first pair in of the Alico Summit Hiking Boots for the next couple weeks and months.

    The selling points for me, which the boots do have, are/were:

    a) Norwegian style/Italian style welt, or re-sole-able Vibram bottoms.
    b) full grain all leather uppers that ARE stiffish but well padded stable, I wanted hiking boots that can stand a lot of pounding and not deflate.

    My last 225 bucks all leather hiking books didn't have the re-sole-able footbed, and I had to toss them when they blew out the bottoms after 4-5 years constant (daily on a commune farm) use.

    I re-ordered size 10 1/2 after my normal size 10 for this model, was too short in the toes. 10 1/2 fits perfect for my size 10 foot.

    The shoe is a narrow "M", but I'm a narrow sided "M". If a person is a wider "Medium" you may wish to try the W model. But I'm guessing the existing "M" it will widen (my old hiking books widened after 3-4 years I noticed), I'll try remember and post what the width results are in 1-2 years.

    Impressive leather, impressive stable fit, for me.

    Well worth 200 bucks (190 something actually) to go all full grain leather hiking boots, this brand, this Alico model--Summit. This will be my last pair of hiking boots, and I'm happy with them so far. 26 Feb 2018
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by EdgeRider from Oregon Cascades on Wednesday, February 21, 2018
    I've only had them for a week so not much to report. They appear to be well built. Break-in period is going to be slow. I'll report back once they're in full use. It would have been nice to get better care instructions for the specialty leather.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ridge Runner from South Dakota on Tuesday, February 20, 2018
    This boot is of good quality leather and well made. For the most part it was comfortable for me. However, the toe box for me was a little narrow after trying both the D & W width. It is still a very good boot and well worth the money but I found the Tahoe to have a wide toe box which fit me better.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MichiganTroutBum from Michigan on Tuesday, February 20, 2018
    So after a long research campaign I finally decided to pull the trigger on this pair of boots as they seemed to be everything I was looking for. So the first impression out of the box is that they are HEAVY! I cannot express this enough! Unless you happen to have a 6lb. Pair of boots laying around, these will feel quite different to you. The next thing you'll notice is the overall durability of these tanks. The leather is very thick and seems quality. The Norwegian welt seems very sturdy and of course the thick vibram montagna sole. No doubt these boots would withstand years of abuse after a considerable break in period of course. Out of the box these boots are extremely uncomfortable, and ive owned several heavy leather boots but these take the cake for stiffness, something I initially attributed the the thickness of the leather. So every evening I woukd wear these around the house in hopes to break them in as the absolutely killed my feet after just minutes, then one evening upon setting the boots on the table, I noticed the huge problem. The soles of these boots are twisted in a mnnsr that the inside of the heel and outside of the toes are lifted off the table and rock back and forth diagonally. I'm taking a good 3/4" gap here. So what this does is pull you heels inwards when you step down and pull you forefoot outwards when lifting off from a step. Overall creating a very very uncomfortable stride. After investigating this extensively, I have come to the conclusion that this issue cannot be resolved except for possibly grinding down the soles to give a flat surface, thus loosing tread. I even emailed Alico about this issue because it is mirrored in both boots. They never responded. Therefore I am forced to return these boots as this is such a huge mistake on an overall seemingly quality pair of boots, hence my still 3 star rating. Maybe I got a lemon, maybe not, but if your willing to take a brand new $200 pair of boots to a belt sander to make them bearable to walk in, expecting to get 5+ years out of them..... Then these ARE the boots for you!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ridge Runner from South Dakota on Monday, February 19, 2018
    For me, this is the most comfortable of the Alico hiking boots. I have tried them all and this is the only one that gave me enough room in the toe box. 4 stars instead of 5 as I would have liked a leather lining.
  • Reviewed by Old geologist from Kansas - flat lander on Monday, February 19, 2018
    I am an old school sort of guy when it comes to outdoor gear and apparel, though I’ve come to appreciate the materials, design and construction of modern outdoor enthusiasts gear and apparel (tents, rain jackets and backpacks for example). However, I firmly believe that old-world construction and materials of hiking/backpacking footwear still offers the best comfort, durability and serviceability options (i.e. full leather uppers, welted lugged soles) when compared to the glorified tennis shoes that go for hiking/backpacking boots now-a-days. Having admitted up front my bias please keep reading . . .

    I’ve purchased several pairs of Alico boots from STP and found all of them to be true to size, extremely comfortable after a reasonable break in period and durable, except for the synthetic liners. More on that later.

    The full leather uppers are extremely resistant to rock abrasions and lacerations. Especially in highly crystalline, metamorphic and angular rocky terrains. I’ve worn tennis-shoe like boots in similar areas and they were nearly shredded (mosltly along the many seams joining the fabric/leather panels together) after only 4 weeks or so of use. If you do not want to replace your boots every year or so, I’d suggest more rugged materials (leather) and construction techniques (the fewer the seams the better).

    My only observation is that I recommend Alico construct all of their boots with full-leather linings. The boots I’ve owned with synthetic/fabric liners have worn out “prematurely” causing comfort issues and requiring that I take a boot out of service.

    The argument against non-GTX linings is that they are not “waterproof”. I’ve never had wet feet issues with any leather lined boot, but then again the boots were properly maintained and suitably “snow-sealed”. Also, I’ve purchased third-party foot beds since the OEM foot beds are not to my liking. They may work for you, but I find after market foot beds a better option for me and STP sells these as well; one-stop shopping. WooHoo.

    Finally, STP sales and service are exemplary. I can’t recommend them strongly enough.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chuck Beatty from Pittsburgh on Monday, February 19, 2018
    Shoe quality excellent. Am awaiting my return replacement due to size being small. The size 10 men’s for my foot was too small. Am awaiting replacement.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J.Kaverie from Connecticut on Friday, February 9, 2018
    These look & feel like old school hiking boots. In that light there are a couple of things I had forgotten about traditional leather hiking boots. The first is the squeaks & creaks and the second is the break in period. I have two coats of leather conditioner and 14 miles of hiking built up two miles at a time and still feels like there's quite a way to go before I would feel comfortable about taking these out on a 4+ mile hike. I replaced the inner soles after the first hike and so far the laces have held up.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 221