• Atlas Reviews

Atlas
Atlas 4.416666 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 11
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CynNH48 from New Hampshire on Tuesday, April 4, 2017
    These are beautiful snow shoes and I like the bindings and the grips for hiking and not just flat walking but they are going right back. Tested them out this weekend and had to take them off as they slung gobs off snow all over the back of my legs making my clothing sopping wet. Not sure why they do this. My husband has Atlas snow shoes as well with essentially the same profile but his are much longer. Very disappointed as the binding on my last pair of snow shoes disintegrated and I really need a new pair!!! Now what?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HikerKate from Oregon on Monday, January 30, 2017
    These snow shoes are awesome. I bought them about a month ago and have already used them 4 times. The straps are easy to use, my feet stayed secure, even on a 7 mile outing, I never had to readjust.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Lover from Colorado on Tuesday, January 17, 2017
    Bought two pairs of these for my daughters for Christmas! They have taken them out once on a long trek and loved them! The snowshoes worked well for both climbing up the trail and in the open meadow spaces. They felt they were easy to maneuver and the straps were easy to connect and release.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JB from WA on Tuesday, January 10, 2017
    Worked as advertised. Easy to buckle up and get going. Used in a range of snow conditions from deep powder to cat-tracks. Very happy with the quality of the product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SusanF from Pennsylvania on Friday, January 6, 2017
    Received my Atlas snowshoes in great condition; look well constructed. No snow here yet to try them out (PA).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sue from Eastern Washington State on Wednesday, January 4, 2017
    Easy to get into and out of and stay in place on the boots. Excellent grip climbing and descending. Big improvement over my old Atlas shoes. Heel strap retaining clips could be better, the excess strap flops around.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Larry the Liquidator from Indiana on Wednesday, January 4, 2017
    $150.00 cheaper than a local outdoor shop. My 104 lb. wife used them extensively over the holidays trekking in Grand Teton and all around the wilds of Jackson, WY. Good on inclines, good traction. Well designed, easy to put on strap system. Seem highly durable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snow Doubt About It from Montana on Wednesday, January 4, 2017
    Trying them on for the very first time, pulled the strap and the clasp/button broke immediately. Very disappointed. Will be returning.
  • Reviewed by Kyle from Reno, Nevada on Sunday, March 6, 2016
    Purchased these for some snowshoeing in the Sierra Nevada's and they are wonderful. Getting in and out of them with my big, bulky gloves on is incredibly easy. They are super light and even without the help of the heel bars for ascents going up any grade is a breeze. I would highly recommend these to anyone looking for a high quality pair of snowshoes.
  • Reviewed by Tommy from Colorado on Friday, February 19, 2016
    My Atlas 1030 snowshoes are older, but are largely the same as today's 1030s. Mine have neither the toe locator nor the climbing bar. But the bindings, decking, tubing shape and material, and crampon layout and makeup are largely the same. I weigh about 190 lbs and shoe with either a CamelBak or a pack with camera gear weighing up to 45 lbs. I usually wear Lowa Tibet GTX boots with these snowshoes, though I sometime will go with Lowa Renegade GTX boots in warmer winter weather. These snowshoes have taken me into the steeper back country of Rocky Mountain National Park as well as the more rolling terrain of Pike National Forest and vicinity. They float very well in deeper powdery conditions, but they also grip well in icier conditions where I'm traversing terrain or walking up or down steep areas. After 5 years, the shoes are still proving very durable, with the rivets still holding solidly with no pullout and no signs of wearing through at any of the points where decking wraps around the frame. The underside does have plenty of abrasion, but it is cosmetic with no threat to function. I love the Wrapp bindings. Entry and securing is quick and easy, even in gloved hands. And they hold securely and comfortably. And when I return at the trailhead all worn out, releasing the bindings is a quick and easy process, though I have to take my gloves off to get it done. I have two very minor gripes. First, the way the pivot works in deeper snow, the shoes fling snow on the backs of my legs. Second, because the bindings are so bulky, I've had to get creative when attaching the shoes to my pack for lowland walking or when packing them for travel. But overall, I cannot imagine a better snowshoe. When the day comes that I've worn these out, I'll be getting another pair of the same.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 11
;