Old Town
Old Town 4.326530 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5
  • Reviewed by TJ Menomonee from Ohio on Thursday, June 15, 2017
    Rugged, stable, packs a heavy load, but maneuverable. Great choice for a family. I have had mine for 25 years. Lakes, creeks rivers, ponds....even whitewater with the proper training and gear! It is a bit heavy to portage and load, but will provide a lifetime of fun memories.
  • Reviewed by Lewis &Clark from East Texas on Friday, June 9, 2017
    Met the 18 wheeler at a parking lot and found the canoe to be very well protected in bubble wrap. Seeing no rips or exposed areas in the covering I signed off and loaded on my car carrier. As I removed the covering I revealed a beautiful dust free canoe. I could find nothing wrong with the canoe as it was listed as a second. After close inspection I found very minor scuffing in a few places that one would get on their first outing anyway. I was impressed that such minor things could have downgraded this craft to a second. Just proves the high quality control of Old Town. Very impressed with the overall transaction and I saved over $400. Thanks Sierra Trading!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brandishing Brandy from Virginia on Monday, June 5, 2017
    Purchased for my spouse who has already owned a Loon, but not the Angler. He says it tracks just as well. The camo is attractive, and the seat is extremely comfortable. Haven't found the blemish yet on this '2nds'. Wrapping for shipping was good, perhaps a little thin in a few places, but it was received in good shape. Shipping time was good for freight, the estimate was 9-12 days, and I recd it 11 days after placing the order.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob on the Job from Alabama on Wednesday, April 5, 2017
    I got my canoe yesterday. It is exactly what I was looking for. However, there were some disappointments. I found a couple of deep gouges on the side and the underside that looked as though the canoe had been dropped. Also the plastic gunwale strip that was broken at a rivet near the bow. They are not deal breakers by any means, but they are not what you want in a new canoe. So, long story short, for a 2nd it is acceptable; for a new canoe it would not be.
  • Reviewed by Opie Wan Bepaddlin from Louisiana on Monday, May 2, 2016
    UPS delivered, but did not follow any of delivery instructions. Slid it out onto the ground dragging enough that packing torn top and bottom and keel dragged through mud, sticks and rocks. Left UPRIGHT in the rain with the packing torn, so it filled with water. The main defect I can see other than the scratching that UPS created is a large dent right in the line of the stern. It's about halfway between keel and gunwhale, so could actually affect handling a little. Dent is about 2.5-3 inches along the vertical line of the stern and about 3/4 inch deep. It looks like the canoe was rammed into something hard and square like a piece of 2 inch bar stock. Polyethylene is deformed to the point that there are two nasty looking folds in it. Is this the problem that made the canoe a factory 2nd or did UPS trash my canoe in the process of delivery?
  • Reviewed by Anthony from Missouri on Wednesday, April 13, 2016
    Don't be afraid of it being a 2nd, there were hardly any scratches on the canoe and no dents. I bought this canoe for fishing and camping. Also if you are worried about the canoe being too big for solo trips don't worry about it, to me it was easy to paddle by myself and it glides through the water and tracks well.
  • Reviewed by Paddler from Connecticut on Tuesday, March 15, 2016
    Canoe just arrived, packed very well. As noted it is a second, which in my case is a small dent, otherwise perfect shape. I would be writing this from the lake if it were warm enough! Great deal, highly recommend.
  • Reviewed by Tankdawg from Missouri on Tuesday, September 29, 2015
    Finally got the new canoe out for a real float trip on the Eleven Point River. I can honestly say the new canoe was a bit like a hot rod go kart on ice at first in comparison to my old 158 with its beat up hull. With the new, smooth undamaged hull it took a little time to learn how to drive her. She was twitchy and easy to over correct. After narrowly missing a tip over on the second rapid I started to get in tune with her and took some rapids I previously tipped in and even walked through. The new bow caps are a great redesign with places for rod holders and inline handles. The seats are another story. Why black? Who thought it was a good idea to make the seats black? In hot sun these things will fry your skin. The seats in my old 158 were a light tan and would not leave sear marks on the back of your legs. I did not try the supplied seat backs on the water, I tried them on land and felt like I was falling out of the seat. I use Sit Backers and would prefer a flat cane seat to the molded seat anyway. This is my only dislike and I can still use my Sit Backers on the molded seats or eventually replace them so no big deal. I would buy another from Sierra Trading Post in an instant. I should mention that as a "second" factory defect product I would pay someone to point out the defect to me because I sure can't find it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by thelastcoco from Oklahoma City, OK on Wednesday, September 9, 2015
    Wow, what a steal for this boat! I am thrilled about getting this kayak, much less at over $400 off retail. STP was super easy to deal with and the freight shipping was crazy fast - under 3 business days! As far as this being a "2nds", I only found one small scratch on the underside of the kayak. It got more scratched up going from my truck bed to my garage the first time I put it away. This boat is super stable, extremely maneuverable and really purpose built for the small water angler.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dustin from Iowa on Tuesday, May 12, 2015
    Had it out twice now my first week having it. Happy with my decision of this brand and model. Being a 300 lb guy 6 foot, seems pretty stable and comfortable, tracks pretty well. Do wish that it had the built in cup holder in the deck like the dirigo. Overall very pleased, and shipping said 9 to 12 business days and had 4 days after ordered it.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5