Primus
Primus 4.202830 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 106
  • Reviewed by camper from NC on Monday, September 18, 2017
    This is a nice stove. No problem with the igniter. Actually, the instructions say to push the button in, but you actually turn the knob to get spark. Maybe some users are pushing instead and not getting it to work?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bill runner/biker from Neptune Beach on Tuesday, July 11, 2017
    For such a well known company, this light was a big disappointment. It simply was not bright enough to be used in my tent for reading. Well made, clever solar power just not much light power..
  • Reviewed by Tsiutoo from Alaska on Monday, June 26, 2017
    This 2-burner stove is clearly of higher quality than most. The gauge and quality of the metal is better, although this makes the stove somewhat heavier than many others. Some reviewers note problems with the ignitor; I did not have that problem so far with my stove. The controls offer a wide range of flame, from low simmer to jet blast. Overall, I recommend this stove.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Guri. from South korea on Thursday, June 22, 2017
    Compared to existing products, the design is beautiful, and the body is fixed with magnets, so the stability is improved.
    Also, the fire is good and the water boils quickly. I recommend purchasing because it is windproof, light and easy to carry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yoshi13 from Los Angeles on Monday, June 19, 2017
    It is good product but not so bright. 2??
  • Reviewed by Clare from Boston on Friday, June 2, 2017
    Overall I'm really pleased with this stove. I bought it because I love the built-in wind screen and that the system is big enough for more than one person. Also love the built-in strainer on the lid. Everything fits together tightly and neatly. The stove base even has magnets to ensure it's secured nicely to the windscreen. Very nice design. I do a lot of hiking and camping with my two 9yo kids and this pot is big enough to cook a meal for all three of us. (Or two adults.) I could not figure out how to make the Piezo ignition work... but I always carry matches so it's not a big deal. For those wondering if you can use another pan with it: I'm sure you can but the instructions that come with it say that you shouldn't unless you remove the windscreen. I'm guessing it may not get enough air circulation without the included pot (which has a vent along the bottom built into it). I honestly think a pan would work even with the screen in place, but I haven't tried it so don't take my word for it.

    Used it for a camping trip this weekend and it was great. The low-simmer is a little stronger than I'd like but not too big of a deal. On high it's a veritable blow-torch (and given the non-stick finish on the pot I'd be really careful not to use it on high). The carry bag is great and all of it packs down into a nice little package. I'm planning on using it for a backpacking trip in another week. It's a little heavy but given I'm feeding 3 with it, the weight is fine with me.

    The only downside I could see is that since the pot has a non-stick finish, once you wear out that finish your "system" is faulty because you likely won't find a replacement pot that has the built-in vents--which appear to be an important part of the air circulation. That means it's just really important to guard the finish on the pot. I'm pretty gentle with my gear and take good care of stuff, so don't really expect it to be a big problem. Fingers crossed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tnicole from Cali on Thursday, June 1, 2017
    Overall I would suggest the stove at the $59.99 price. The igniter doesn't work, but with a long lighter you get it going very quickly. Sturdy, and light enough to carry around easily.
  • Reviewed by Tnicole from California on Tuesday, May 30, 2017
    This is a great little stove for all occasions. It was a great base camp stove for the past weekends Memorial day adventures. Set up is easy, and breakdown also simple. produced a good amount of heat very quickly. It adapted just fine to the little green Coleman propane tanks.
    The self igniter did not work. It didn't make a clicking noise, or feel any resistance as if it was broken from the inside, rather just spun around from side to side. I have heard that Primus has issues with the self ignite on many of their stove models, but all in all I would recommend this stove at the $59.99 price or less but not more. Just make sure to take a long lighter and you'll be fine.
    All in all a good stove.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Donna from Colorado on Tuesday, May 30, 2017
    I purchased this for car camping, and it works perfectly. Fits with the typical Coleman propane canister. I have had no problem with the starter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Randaid from Ridgefield WA on Monday, May 22, 2017
    This is an update on my previous review where I praised the piezo as 'brilliant'. I ended up returning the stove as after two uses, the piezo refused to ignite the burner. It was clearly making a spark, and it would light immediately with a match or lighter but for reasons that remain a mystery the piezo wouldn't spark a flame. I chose a replacement rather than a refund because a friend has this stove and it has worked mostly well for the past year and a half. My replacement does ignite, eventually. So far one out of five times the thing fires right up with the first flick. The rest of the time it can take 6 or 7 flicks before it ignites. The frustrating part isn't so much that it sometimes takes a few repetitive flicks, it's that I have a twenty year old Primus stove with a piezo that ignites first time, every time. Technology is supposed to continually improve right? I love the old stove but the pot supports don't extend very far, and won't support my cook pot with a heat exchanger ring on the bottom.
    Maybe the take-away is never leave home without a lighter or matches, and be happy when the technology actually works?

    Once it's going, the stove is a champ. The burner head is a little bit larger in diameter than half the stoves out there, so heat distribution to the pot is a little better, but if all you're doing is boiling water, it's a moot point.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 106
;