Evolv 4.113207 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 16
  • Reviewed by Eug from Pittsburgh on Monday, March 19, 2018
    These are a great alternative to La Sportiva TC Pros. Similarly designed but 1/3rd the price. Wear 9.5 street shoes, bought 9.5. Fits fine, all-day ready after four gym sessions.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Seth from Nevada on Friday, March 16, 2018
    I bought a pair for me in my normal shoe size (Men's 12) and they fit perfect. This is my second pair of climbing shoes and they are way better than my first. The material is nice and they stick to the wall like glue. I bought my girlfriend a pair as well, she is a size 8 in women's and ended up fitting in a size 7 in Men's. You can't go wrong with these shoes.
  • Reviewed by Larry S from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, March 14, 2018
    The evolv royale is a comfortable, durable climbing shoe which is perfect for beginner climbers, and also great for intermediate/advanced climbers who want a stiff comfortable shoe to train in at the gym or for longer outdoor climbing. The shoe is discontinued. It was a good shoe at $89, and it's a great shoe when it's at $50.

    I've been using this shoe for 2+ years as my gym shoe, and in that role it does not hold me back. I like the shoe so much for that role, i just bought a second pair so i can get the first resoled.

    It's got a symetric toebox and fits true to street shoe size - meaning it fits just the way a climbing shoe should fit - snug but not painful. I can wear them for hours.

    When climbing outdoors, however, i usually leave these home and opt for a more asymmetric shoe with better precision.

    Shoes i've also owned/used - La Sportiva Katana Velcro, 5.10 Galileo (personal favorite, sadly discontinued), 5.10 anasazi (tans), Evolv Pontas
  • Reviewed by mhif from Delaware on Wednesday, March 14, 2018
    my daughter said they are comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike from Colorado on Tuesday, March 6, 2018
    I wear 8.5 street shoes and heard these run small so i ordered a 9.5. 9.5 is still too small. There are no bigger sizes available so I cannot comment on the shoes performance.
  • Reviewed by gimmidealz from OR on Monday, March 5, 2018
    I (female) wear 7.5-8 in street shoes and I remember being confused by the sizing offered here when I was buying these about a year ago.
    I got the 7.5 size, what I think is men's 7.5, and I'm glad I did - incredibly, it is the right size for me.

    I like my shoes tight, and I accept the breaking in period, especially with aggressive shoes like these, when your feet adjust to the curvature as well as the shape. I had a week or two of only being able to tolerate the shoes for half an hour or so. Then I/ the shoes adjusted to become uncomfortable only after a few hours of climbing AND belaying in them (it's the standing around in them that's most uncomfortable, but sometimes you just don't want to stop, y'know).

    I would NOT recommend downsizing: go UP to be able to use these shoes.

    The other issue with those is that they are very smelly: the upper synthetic material somehow retains moisture for up to several days after climbing. Kinda gross in the same way as when you have to put on a damp swimming suit: it's weird, prompts "rationality vs. icky" internal debate, and you stop caring as soon as you jump into the pool (=start climbing). They do smell because if this.
  • Reviewed by Kookilook from Michigan on Thursday, February 22, 2018
    My primary shoe is La sportiva solution 38.5, second one is La sportiva TC pro 39.0, third one is Scarpa Techno 39.0, but this nexxo is really uncomfortable due to weird size, I chose US 7.5 which equals with 39.5, however, it does not fit my feet
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eugene Runner from Oregon on Saturday, February 17, 2018
    This is a comfortable shoe that is true to size and you can't beat the price!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nickie from California on Tuesday, February 13, 2018
    I am an 11 sitting and 11.5 pronated (after standing) and these shoes fit me like an aggressive slip-on but looser for a climbing shoe and more comfortable. They've been great so far, excellent tread.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MomOfThree from Albany, NY on Sunday, February 4, 2018
    The size 10 shoe was originally purchased for my son who wears a 10 Brooks Ghost running shoe however when it arrived we realized they were much too small and he could not even stand in the shoes. I wear a female 9.5 New Balance running sneaker so I tried them on and they were only about a 1/2 size too big. They had amazing arch support for my high arches and my toes scratched the toe end with a little curve but I ultimately decided not to keep them due to the toe box being a little wide and non-conforming for my narrow female foot. Overall, I was a fan on the stickiness of the rubber and solid support of the shoe compared to other beginner shoes I have tried on (5.10 Siren, La Sportiva Tarantulace, etc.) And had a very comfortable mesh tongue. However, they were never trialed in the gym.

    Upon the return of the size 10 my son attempted a size 11.5 of this shoe but this one was far too big with his toes did not even touch the toe end.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 16