• Guardian Gear Reviews

Guardian Gear
Guardian Gear 3.363636 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kiska Bear from Alaska on Wednesday, June 14, 2017
    I wanted to love this product, really. To start, I live in Alaska where it rains a lot, and I have an 80lb lab/mix named Kiska who has plates in her back knees from blowing both ACLs, and crazy arthritis in her front feet. I own a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. I was drawn to the 'non-slip' surface, and the ability to have stairs or a ramp. The first time I had Kiska try to walk up it she was kind of skeezed out, but with treats I got her to walk up it. The top bar is not grippy, so even with weight it was not staying in place on my tail gate. When I got Kiska to walk down it, it was lightly sprinkling and she slipped and fell off onto the cement. I keep her toe nails pretty short because I have hardwood floors, so it was not an issue of her nails being too long. It is possible that the small amount of rain on the hard plastic just made the step slippery. PLEASE NOTE: the steps are not grippy, they are just grooved hard plastic. After Kiska fell off the steps, she would not go back up them, understandably so. Also, when I went to fold them back up, the metal frame must be twisted because one side won't latch shut, and I have to slightly twist the frame to get the stairs to pop back in to make the ramp. I wanted to love this, I really did. But to make it really non-skid with any kind of moisture on it, I would have to hot glue something else to the surface of each step. I would also have to do something different with the top bar to have it not slide around on the plastic of my tail gate. If I am going to spend over 100$ on something, I don't want to have to twist the frame every time I want to fold it up and put it away and only be able to latch one side securely. But I will say the frame is a solid construction.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AWA from Maine on Monday, June 5, 2017
    The product arrived missing vital parts - the threaded rods necessary to hold the barrier in with pressure were missing. I was able to replace the parts by shopping around at the hardware store. It works well now. But the bottom line is that it should have come with the necessary parts to begin with.
  • Reviewed by AWA from Maine on Saturday, June 3, 2017
    The threaded rods required to make the barrier function were missing. Like the previous review, I will go to the hardware store to replace them. It will be far too tedious to get the parts I am owed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CJ from Wisconsin on Thursday, May 25, 2017
    We were happy with the overall fit of this pet barrier and it's very adjustable. And it arrived quickly by mail. However, the two threaded rods needed to support the barrier were missing from the box. Not an impossible fix, just had to find some at a local hardwear store and cut them to fit. (It was probably quicker than notifying the company and waiting for some to arrive in the mail.) So even though it arrived quickly, it took awhile before we could use it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zydequeen from NCalif on Tuesday, May 2, 2017
    Well made, but steps are very slick even though grooved.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by anonymous from Arkansas on Saturday, April 22, 2017
    Unit has some great features, implementation of the features is not great. The top extension is great to position on entry area of vehicle and adjust height reached, but is very hard to use the adjustment pins and move the extension takes three hands. Stair size is good but not non slip (they are hard plastic with groves in one direction) the dog slips off the step could not use as designed, I glued carpet to each stair which made the footing great. Very heavy design in general which is stable with the added plastic pieces on the top and bottom. Folding stair is a good idea but metal bar on stair is narrow and must be exactly aligned to lock both sides, a 1/2 inch wider would have solved. A handle for carrying would be nice but side bars work, a latch to keep extended to help when handling will fold and pinch hand, easier latch to close would also be nice. Overall I like the unit and would buy again because if the features it has. I searched long to find this unit vs 50 others that I compared.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pmontenc from coastal NC on Monday, April 10, 2017
    We use this primarily as a ramp. It is sturdy and will not wobble when a larger pet begins to step on it. It makes vehicle entry and exit much less painful for older dogs who either suffer from joint issues or can no longer easily jump the distance into an SUV. It is both easy to fold and to maneuver. It is worth every cent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by snowflake from idaho on Friday, January 6, 2017
    This is a good quality barrier, easy to assemble, keeps the dog from eating the car seats
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sarah from seattle on Sunday, January 1, 2017
    Great product. It is larger than I had envisioned. Sturdy. I got it for one dog that is having trouble getting into my Honda Fit. He is wary of it, so it will require some training. Turns out the problem is a cyst larger than a softball in his right front "armpit" that is being removed Tuesday. I may get to try it out when I pick him up from surgery.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Linda from Oregon on Thursday, December 22, 2016
    Seems to fit in my Ford Escape well - easy to install.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
;