Brooks-Range Mountaineering
Brooks-Range Mountaineering 4.237288 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 12
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by toms from nh on Saturday, January 20, 2018
    has a lot going for it but also a lot not. As many have said, pockets are weird, material questionable. Seems like it would be warm but not certain. Nice length, odd color, just like others of Brooks-Range. Had a softshell that was very tough but many comments of the ugly color, drab and lifeless.
  • Reviewed by Josh from New Hampshire on Friday, January 19, 2018
    I like the design and it seemed to be good quality but the sizing is way off! I typically wear a large or XL so i got the XL. Could not even zip it around my chest.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RagingTurtle from Ohio on Wednesday, January 17, 2018
    Very warm and very light weight. I've been wearing it as a car coat until the temperatures dropped below 30. When it starts getting very cold, I turn to a longer coat. For activewear, this is great.
  • Reviewed by Griff from Star Valley on Tuesday, January 16, 2018
    I like the idea of this suit and the material is top of the line from Polartec. However, the sizing is off. I am 5' 9" with a 40" chest. According to the description, a medium should fit. Unfortunately, it is too tight around the chest and a little short in leg length. I will have to return it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mon Lun Yee from Madison, WI on Tuesday, January 16, 2018
    5'8" 140 lbs asian - small fits perfectly. not slim fit. but from a perspective of gear, perfect as a light weight outer layer with heavier midlayer underneath. I've also used it as a hoodie with just a T-shirt underneath and another shell over this hoodie - in single digit Chicago nights by the River - if you know what I mean, then that will give you an idea of how well this works.

    I'd purchase it again - the hoodie part is helpful and tabs and sleeves are functional at eliminating draft.
    Doesn't compress down as well as my Montbell gear but they use an exceloft insulation - which seems to be slightly more efficient. but this compresses down to a pretty flat gallon ziplock. and I'll be keeping this in my fishing pack for the San Juan on those colder days on the river.
  • Reviewed by Griff from Star Valley on Monday, January 15, 2018
    I like the idea of this suit and the material. However, the sizing is not correct. I am 5' 9" with a 40" chest. According to the product description, a medium should fit. Not even close. I will have to send it back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fly2mike from seattle on Sunday, January 14, 2018
    I got the size large. 5'8" x 170 pounds. Fits me very good. The sleeves are a good length, good freedom of movement. The sleeves are pretty baggy in the forearms Do you have Popeye style arms? Nope, my arms taper towards the hand end, maybe they need a different arm model :-) Anyway, I like this as a super lightweight "sweater" ? I wouldn't rely on it for real super cold weather as an outer garment, it is more of a shell liner in my opinion, and works great in that role. Skiing in cold weather with a shell over it is really nice, almost too warm in moderate temps. I like the high collar to seal out the wind, but the collar is just a tad snug around my neck, but really not bad, OK. Not complaining. I will definitely be keeping it. The main attraction is the super light weight. This could almost be stuffed in a pocket, or at least in a pocket of your pack to pull out on a windy ridge during a tour. I really like it for that type of use. If the sleeves wern't so baggy , and the neck a tad looser, I would definitely rate it a 5.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tracey from California on Friday, January 12, 2018
    My husband absolutely love this jacket! its very light abut surprisingly warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bmorstad from Michigan on Thursday, January 11, 2018
    My 3rd jacket of this kind. Great for cross country skiing.
  • Reviewed by NurseSue from Pennsylvnia on Wednesday, December 27, 2017
    This is perfect for a family member who struggles with temperature regulation issues. It's warm and thin enough to fit under a sweater if more layers are needed. The thumb holes are a big hit!!!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 12
;