Customer Reviews Of:
Burton Monarch Down-Filled Trench Coat (For Women)

Closeouts. With quilted down insulation, DWR-treated shell fabric and an extra-long fit, Burton's Monarch Trench coat makes you feel like royalty in cold weather.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews 3.625000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TQB from Maine on Friday, January 9, 2015
    Not the warmest coat, but pretty and stylish. The fit is very trim and more fitted than it appears on the model. The exterior has a nice waterproof coating that makes the coat smooth and have some sheen. I thought I would hate the cuffs but they are actually nice and warm. As many others have noted, the coat runs very small. I am 5'5", 135 lbs and wear a 4 or 6 usually. The medium coat just fits and is not comfortable over a thick sweater, but for the price ($66), I'll just change my shirt! In addition to the overall smallness, the arms are quite short. I do not have very long arms so I'm used to having sleeves come down over my hands and these just fit. Good value for the price but I can't imagine that even the XL would fit anyone who wears a size 10. It's just tiny!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Great car coat from Kentucky on Thursday, November 20, 2014
    Nice, simple and elegant - not puffy at all- very small in size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lukie from Buffalo, NY on Monday, November 17, 2014
    Overall, this jacket is pretty nice. It's slim fitting and doesn't make me feel like a tube of sausage. Unfortunately hood has no drawstring and fills up with air. The cuffs are nice and snug but the resulting pouf at the wrists just weren't my thing. It's too bad, really. It's pretty cute otherwise.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by outdoors woman from MN on Wednesday, November 5, 2014
    I have returned this coat. It was very flimsy and cheap looking and did not appear to be very warm. Disappointing.
    The sizing was also too small.
  • Reviewed by None from alaska on Wednesday, October 8, 2014
    I just put this on yesterday after having it for a couple of months - got it on sale so got it early. Today I am left with two little scratches/cut on the top of my hand from getting into my pocket. I usually put my phone in my left pocket - the action of me sliding my hand in and out of the pocket has made thee scratches as the zipper does not have a soft trim or piping on the underside like a lot of other jackets. It's just "zipper" on the inside so when I pull my hand out, I think that's when my hand rubs on the zipper and causes the little scratches. It's in a bad spot for me as I use hand sanitizers at work and it just STINGS! I love the style and comfort so but am wondering if this is going to go back. I do use my pockets alot, for keys and my phone so this jacket/coat may not work for me although I dont know if I'll find another one just as cute, comfortable and slimming as this one. I'll have to think about it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WalkingMom from MN on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    I have been looking for a lightweight down jacket to replace an old one and have had a hard time finding one. This coat is just the weight I was looking for and I love the fact that it covers my rear end! My only complaint is that it is sized to run a little small. I got an XL and wish it were a little more roomy (I usually wear a 14 in coats). Haven't used it yet, but winter will come soon enough to Minnesota.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lost in the Hills from Texas on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    Perfect for what I wanted - an inexpensive well-made lightweight (1 lb. 5 oz.) down coat ( 500 fill power ) to throw on when I'm running errands or going on a hike that I can wear under my 3/4 length shells. The two way zipper, a must, lets me cool off. I love that it's not bulky

    Note: This runs small/slim. I usually take a medium, but get a large for the extra space/moveability. In this, I needed an x-large.
  • Reviewed by Far North from Alaska on Monday, March 31, 2014
    This is an attractive and functional coat. It has a few cons: It's not super-warm (probably good down to the mid-30's, unless you're being very active); it leaks tiny feathers pretty constantly (not in huge numbers, though); the hood is non-adjustable, so it tends to fall back a bit, at least on me; the pockets are a little low; and if you're walking or getting into a car, you're going to need the two-way zipper zipped up about 6-8 inches at all times, a design issue that could have been avoided with a vent or pleat in the back. On the pro side, it is highly water-resistant, comfortable, true to size, and not at all marshmallow-puffy. Despite its design flaws, I'm pretty happy with it. For reference, I'm 5'4", 123 pounds, 36"-29"-39", and I ordered a size M.
  • Sort by: