Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Carhartt Sandstone Sierra Jacket - Sherpa Pile, Factory Seconds (For Tall Men)

Item #41429
$79.99 Save 40% Compare at $134.99
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Carhartt Sandstone Sierra Jacket - Sherpa Pile, Factory Seconds (For Tall Men)

2nds. Legendary durability plus rugged good looks make Carhartt's Sandstone Sierra jacket a perennial favorite for work, chores and casual wear. Warm, soft sherpa pile lining takes this classic over the top when temps start to drop.

Specs

Specs about Carhartt Sandstone Sierra Jacket - Sherpa Pile, Factory Seconds (For Tall Men)

  • Closure: YKK®,Zipper
  • Zipper: Right
  • Length: 29" (based on size large)
  • Fabric: 100% cotton
  • Fabric weight: 12oz.
  • Lining: 55% polyester, 45% acrylic (body) or, 100% nylon (sleeves), 82% polyester, 18% acrylic
  • Care: Machine wash, tumble dry
  • Total weight: 3 lb. 8 oz.
  • Made in Mexico (fabric USA)
  • Visit our Workwear Guide
  • US shipments only

Sizing

Carhartt Mens Shirts and Outerwear Size Chart

S M L XL 2XL 3XL 4XL
Chest 34 - 36 38 - 40 42 - 44 46 - 48 50 - 52 54 - 56 58 - 60
Waist 28 - 30 32 - 34 36 - 38 40 - 43 45 - 48 51 - 54 58 - 62
Hip (Seat) 34 - 36 38 - 40 42 - 44 46 - 48 50 - 52 54 - 56 58 - 60

Note: Measurements are in inches. If your chest /or waist falls between sizes, buy the larger size. Carhartt knits have a generous fit, with the exception of our Work-Dry shirts, which fit closer to the body. Please check the product description of the shirt you are ordering to determine the fit.

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.639344 5 Overall Rating: 4.6 Based on 183 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Large Tall
Reviewed by RickyPheromone from mississippi on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
i bought a large tall. im 6'4 205lb. i wear 36" sleeve length, 42-44" chest, 34"waist. large tall is a perfect fit. Not baggy in the waist. Regular/athletic/slim guys will like the v-shape cut. if you have a belly, an XL may fit you better.

cannot find why this jacket was considered irregul... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Carhartt-Sandstone-Sierra-Jacket-Sherpa-Pile-Factory-Seconds-For-Tall-Men Remove reviews search
  • Carhartt Sandstone Sierra Jacket - Sherpa Pile, Factory Seconds (For Tall Men)
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sierra Shopper from Tennessee on Wednesday, December 27, 2017
    Jacket works great for tall man.
  • Do Not Buy!!!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Albert from San Francisco on Monday, December 11, 2017
    Im 185, 6"1' and this jacket was way to big on me. The jacket proportions were completely off and is a manufacture defect. Chest and length was fine, but the sleeves were way to big and hung. So i returned it but the fun doesn't stop there. I was refunded $20 shy of my original order. On there return policy it only claims about the charges for the shipping, but yet some HIDDEN FEE surfaced. Beware Guys, Sierra Trading Post has the worst customer service and return policy.
  • Carhartt jacket
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by brad from Colorado on Wednesday, December 6, 2017
    This jacket is warm and a good style. The only thing that I had an issue with is the color I ordered the light tan one and I received the grayish greenish one. I do like this one but like I mentioned it isn’t the color I ordered
  • Amazing Jacket - Exceptional Quality
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by DWM from Arkansas on Wednesday, December 6, 2017
    6 ft x 5 in @280 lbs puts me in the "Not an easy fit!" category. This typically works out to 3XL-T sizing which few manufacturers bother to accomodate these days. I found that Carhartt isn't afraid to place themselves front and center in the big boy market, and i highly commend them for that.
    I followed their sizing chart and placed my order. The coat arrived quickly and I was very pleased to find that it not onlyb fits me very comfortably, but it's actually quite roomy too. Most 3xlt products from their competitors barely fit, without much room to spare, and the sleeve length is often inadequate. But Carhartt isn't the least bit stingy with the materials or the measurements. I could probably go down to a 2xlt and still be quite comfortable.
    This coat is supposed to be a factory-second, but i cannot find anything wrong with it, even after about 2 hours of very critical inspection.
    If the zipper holds up, i'm going to be wearing this coat for a very long time.

    Anyway... i think the sizing, the fitting, the style, the materials used, and the overall built quality that goes into this coat is quite remarkable to say the least. I wouldn't change a thing. And I think this reflects VERY WELL upon the management, who sets the standards, establishes the priorities, and directs what elements are the most essential, and practical, along with the feature sets, without compromise. Their high standards are quickly apparent in both quality of materials, and the manufacturing. These attributes are tell-tale signs which show that they are in this for the long haul, establishing and maintaining their own standards that set them so far ahead in the market that the competition simply cannot compete.
    Well done Carhartt !!! I love this jacket.

    Suggestion:
    Always carry more inventory for *XL-Tall sized products.
    Few companies offer XL-Tall sizes to begin with, which makes shopping far more difficult for Tall persons. (Nøt sø øbvious tø merchandisers)
    This, of course, adds to the problem of keeping XL-Tall products on the shelf. It's not like these products aren't available to the market... they're just not available to the customer. In other words... tall shoppers buy everything they can get their hands on, and the shelf goes bare very quickly.
    For the last forty years the pattern is always the same : "OUT OF STOCK"
    What does that tell you?
    This tells me that there is a strong market in these sizes, they sell quite well, and that a great many of tall people would buy a whole lot more products if they could find them on the shelf.
    LL. BEAN is the worst when it comes to inventory. For example, for the last 20 years, without fail, they sell out of tall sweats BEFORE winter... long before Christmas. [...]? And it seems that Sierra Trading Post is following the same sales formula because they ran out of 3XLT sizes on all but perhaps two styles of jackets two weeks ago... and even before that it was slim pickings. Christmas is still three weeks away, and nada. Even when they still had inventory the colors selections were quite limited.
    There is much that can be improved... especially in the first-quality retail selection... and this applies across the board in all products and categories.
    You cannot sell what you will not supply.
    Keep in mind that us tall folks have to buy our clothes somewhere, and that somewhere, to us, is limited to anywhere that stocks it. Might as well be you! Right?
    May i ask, what is a merchandiser's prime objective? It is to sell products and make a profit!!! Right? All the other mickey-mouse issues that HR focuses upon are irrelevant if you fail to uphold your prime obective.
    It is my opinion, that you need to get back to basics.
    Just sayin'.

    Anyway... Thank You Sierra Trading Post.
    It was a pleasure doing business with you... and I Thank You for at least stocking some XL-T product. (More would be better.)

    Merry Christmas to all.

    Best regards,
    DWM
    12-7-2017
  • Nice and warm!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Freezing! from Wisconsin on Thursday, November 16, 2017
    Ordered 2 different styles and this one is the best of the 2!

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “When your going to have a medium size”
    Asked by San from Ca on 5/22/2017 6:29:22 PM
    • Due to the nature of the closeout business, we often receive items in limited quantities. Therefore, some sizes and colors can sell out quickly. Occasionally we are able to reorder a product, but closeout items are typically unable to be reordered. We suggest signing up for the My Updates as the best way to monitor incoming products. You will receive email notifications of our newest stock items.
      Answered on 5/23/2017 5:40:14 PM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “How tall is "tall"? I'm 6'1" would I need the tall version?”
    Asked by Griffinator from Colorado on 11/10/2015 4:07:14 PM
    • According to the product overview above: Length: 29" (based on size large)
      Answered on 11/18/2015 1:12:03 PM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “I notice it says 2nd's next to the items, are these less than first class items, are they defective in any way?”
    Asked by Kevin the inquistor from New York on 11/5/2012 12:00:00 AM
    • 2nds: Minor cosmetic blemishes or irregulars which do not affect the fit, performance, or longevity of the item. Label is usually clipped by the manufacturer. A small flaw means big savings.|**You can find the meaning of any unfamiliar word in our content by clicking on our glossary link located at the bottom of every page.
      Answered on 11/6/2012 12:00:00 AM by Product Specialist Lee from Sierra Trading Post
  • “This coat says for tall men in the description, but the sizes available don't specifically say "Tall", my husband needs 2XL-Tall in his sizes, are these in fact talls?”
    Asked by Julie from Unknown on 10/19/2012 12:00:00 AM
    • Yes these the tall version. Item # 41428 is the regular sizes.
      Answered on 10/23/2012 12:00:00 AM by Prod Spec Kevin from Sierra Trading Post
  • “How does the tall size differ from the regular size in sleeve length and coat length ?”
    Asked by marilym from Bend oregon on 10/14/2012 12:00:00 AM
    • Carhartt tall sizes are 2" longer in the sleeve and coat length than regulars.
      Answered on 10/17/2012 12:00:00 AM by Prod Spec Kevin from Sierra Trading Post

About Carhartt

If you're looking for durable, comfortable clothing and outerwear, few other brands can compete with Carhartt. Although the venerable Carhartt clothing company has become one of the most respected names in American work wear today, the brand comes from humble roots. Founded in 1889, the family-owned business started out in Detroit, Michigan with just two sewing machines and five employees. During The First World War, the company made uniforms for the US military and also manufactured work clothing for the Navy during WWII. Today, Carhartt clothing is still known for robust fabrics, top-notch construction and a great fit. From rugged Carhartt jackets and coveralls to jeans and shirts, this is one brand you can trust to deliver the real deal -- every time.