Customer Reviews Of:
Columbia Sportswear Rare Earth Interchange Jacket - 3-in-1 (For Men)

Closeouts. With the option to wear it three ways, Columbia Sportswear's Rare Earth 3-in-1 jacket is highly versatile and super protective. Choose between the water-shedding Omni-Tech® plain weave shell as a jacket and a zip-out fleece soft shell liner, or combine them both for slope-ready performance in colder temps.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews 4.400000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by neraho from Louisiana on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    Fits great, and warm. Warm so far in 27Deg F
  • Reviewed by 808inAZ from Arizona on Friday, July 5, 2013
    I ordered this jacket in preparation for a trip to England in March. The women's coat selections at the time did not suit me in both style and size so I went with a men's coat. I'm so glad I did. I got the length I was looking for in the torso and the construction was durable and flexible. The 3-in-1 was awesome but I rarely split the shell from the liner since it was pretty breathable to begin with.

    Only 4 stars because the sleeves were just a tad bit longer than I needed (as a woman, it is to be expected in a man's coat!) but it was nice to have some protection over my knuckles while towing cargo around. Also, the hood is fastened and tightened with an elastic string-like band which made it cumbersome to tie down in high wind and ice. I guess this is the style now but I had a bit of trouble with it especially with my hair tied back (taking up more room in the hood.)

    Overall, a great buy for what I needed! I'm sure I'll use this coat till it falls apart! :)
  • Reviewed by Gary from Miami on Monday, April 22, 2013
    I have been looking for a ski parka that could also serve as a shell. This one does it. It is a very nice shade of red and better looking than in the picture. WIth the liner in, you do lose access the the interior pockets.
  • Reviewed by Sleepr from Michigan on Friday, April 19, 2013
    Purchased this to replace a 20 year old "Bugaboo" that is starting to ware around the cuffs. Thought I'd upgrade. Not only is this "upgrade" not as nice or as warm as my old coat but the fit is all wrong. Too small in the shoulders, chest and the circumference of the arms. Total different than my old coat. Returned for XXL. Don't know if this will rectify the situation or not. Stay tuned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by happy camper from Lawrence, MA on Monday, February 4, 2013
    this was upscale version of the Columbia coat I wore out. That coat was XL and still fits. New coat is 1 size too small. I plan to return it and order a larger size. 3 in 1 makes it the right coat in any degree of cold.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chetrow from Chicago,IL on Saturday, February 2, 2013
    I have only had this a week or so, so I haven't tried it in too many situations. Seems good to about 0°F. Would be good for winter walks in the woods, snowshoeing and maybe cross-country skiing. I expect it will last many years. My lighter Columbia is 6 and doing fine. Looking forward to trying this one on a rainy spring day.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Crash from Steilacoom WA on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    I've been looking for a replacement for my old medium-weight Columbia waterproof/breathable hooded jacket. This fits the bill and me just about right. I can't ski any more due to hip surgery, but I like this style jacket for multiple-use cool-weather wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by steigl from wisconsin on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    great coat for the value. you can use it year round.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stylish Mom from Denver, CO on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    I bought this jacket for my husband. We were interested in the Omni technology which provides warmth without weight. He is delighted with the jacket and I was delighted with the price!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by XXL Scott from Marblehead, MA on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    I have 2 Fleeces and 1 down interior jackets to interchange with the waterproof shell. I cover all temperatures. The fleece that comes with this Jacket works best 25 F to 45F together with the shell. The interior fleece is a good quality.
  • Sort by: