Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Fjallraven Kyl Down Parka - 500 Fill Power, UPF 50+ (For Men)

Item #316TR
CLEARANCE: $199.00 $399.99 Save 75% Compare at $800.00
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Fjallraven Kyl Down Parka - 500 Fill Power, UPF 50+ (For Men)

Closeouts. The Fjallraven Kyl parka packs the powerful warmth of goose down inside an incredibly durable shell. Luxurious and functional, its faux-fur-trimmed hood is ready for cold days in the country and winter nights in the city.

Specs

Specs about Fjallraven Kyl Down Parka - 500 Fill Power, UPF 50+ (For Men)

  • UPF rating: 50+
  • Closure: Two-way,YKK®,Zipper
  • Length: 36" (based on size medium)
  • Fabric: 100% nylon (fabric 1), 65% polyester, 35% cotton (fabric 2), 100% polyester (fabric 3), 100% acrylic (faux fur), 86% nylon, 14% elastane (fabric 5), 100% polyurethane (coating)
  • Lining: 100% nylon, 100% polyester fleece
  • Insulation: 80% goose down, 20% feathers
  • Fill power: 500
  • Faux fur: 100% acrylic
  • Care: Professional laundering recommended
  • Total weight: 4 lb. 12 oz.
  • Made in China
  • Visit our Down vs. Synthetic Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.692307 5 Overall Rating: 4.7 Based on 13 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Great Parka
Reviewed by Dan from Wisconsin on Wednesday, December 6, 2017
The outer material G-1000 is great, very durable and has a really nice look to it. The jacket is incredibly warm, I don't even zip it up if its above 30 degrees F. It is a little bulky due to all the down however this increases its insulating properties. The sizing is a little big I'm 5'8 160 lbs an... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Fjallraven-Kyl-Down-Parka-500-Fill-Power-UPF-50-plus--For-Men Remove reviews search
  • FANTASTIC WINTER COAT!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sue the mermaid from MA on Monday, January 29, 2018
    My son needed a coat for walking across the UMASS-Amherst campus in blinding snow and driving wind. Nothing felt quite right for him. I ordered the XS and S for him-at 5-7, 145#. The XS was perfect, and he didn't take it off for whole first week because of the freezing weather here!
  • Great parka!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by JJ from Ottawa Canada on Monday, January 29, 2018
    So warm, great coat! This model does fit big!
  • Very Warm and High Quality
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by JohnP from Maryland on Thursday, January 18, 2018
    Fjallraven is getting a lot of attention with many good reviews which are merited. I do want to mention sizing since this seems to be a stumbling block for some. I’m 5’11” 170 pounds. In most garments I’m a medium. I have two Canada Goose coats, a Citadel and Langford parka. Those are in their slimline collection so in those I wear a large. In Marmots, Eddie Bauer, LL Bean, and almost everything else, a medium. If you go to the Fjallraven site and select a coat’s info page there is a “what’s my size” button. This will ask you a few questions, height, weight, age, body shape, etc. It will pretty much nail the proper size for you. It states the size that most people matching your size purchased and did not return. It was spot on for me recommending a medium.

    I’ve seen recommendations to size down. If I had sized down to a small it would have been too snug, too short, and the sleeve length would not have been as useful and probably felt weird. In fact I also ordered one of these in large from Sierra just to see if that might feel even more comfortable. The Kyl has both hem and waist/back drawstrings so the fit is adjustable. But the large would really only be appropriate for me if I planned to or needed to add additional layers underneath. That would rarely, if ever, be needed with this coat. The medium is really the perfect fit for me, although I do like the additional length of the large. But it will be going back. And I do not recommend sizing down. Just check their site and use that “what’s my size” option. That should get you just what you need. If it’s windy and bitter cold that hood will not seem big. It only seems big because it’s stuffed with down and lined with fleece. I’m always wearing a fleece hat/beanie, so the hood sits just right and is much appreciated in raw conditions.

    I will also comment on the zipper, the only significant annoyance I have. It’s not because it’s left handed. I have my Canadian coats so I’m used to that. You just figure out you have to use your left hand to zip up and especially to unzip or you will be struggling to get the coat off. However the Kyl has the right side portion partially obstructed by the material. You have to make certain to clear and fold away the material before trying to insert it into the other side. It frequently requires a couple tries.
  • Toasty in -0F with -20 to -30 windchill
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Walking the dog in Minneapolis from Minnesota on Wednesday, January 17, 2018
    I agree with the other reviewers who have found this coat to extremely warm in arctic blast conditions. The 500 down fill power belies those who believe that number indicates a coats ability to keep one warm in very cold conditions. (As does the 600 fill power of a very thin "down sweater.")

    What I can add to the other complimentary reviews is that:
    1. I've warn this coat a few times in -0 to -10+F with additional windchill while walking my hound dog. (Hound dogs LOVE to stop at every tree and post and corner to check their social media accounts.)
    2. The fur on the hood is much softer than that on my NorthFace parka, but is not real.
    3. In part because of the lower fill power, this parka is not as stiff as my higher fill expedition weight NorthFace parka, and is thus easier to maneuver in, both for driving and simply kneeling to clean up solid nitrates left by my dog.
    4. Yes, the sleeves are glove friendly. The inner cuff is very long and attaches higher. The outer cuff has a long velcro strip and is bell shaped when the velcro is loosened entirely. My extreme winter gloves with cuffs that extend a few inches above my wrist bones usually fit over the outside of coat sleeves. With this coat, I can stuff them up the inside of the cuff and tighten the cuff velcro at the wrist. I would expect these cuffs could accommodate most any glove. The velcro is attached at the proper spot on the cuff to make it easy to pull it in order to wrap it around the cuff. Anyway, my hands don't get cold nearly as often and when they do, it's when I've been a fool by leaving my hat off. (Exposing the head is a great way to dissipate heat build-up inside a toasty parka, but leave it off too long and one's body adjusts by decreasing blood supply to hands and feet. Hands or feet cold, put a hat or a warmer hat on and make sure you're adequately hydrated.)
    5. Speaking of the hood, it's very deep, yes. So much so that it causes tunnel vision. BUT, there's a velcro strip on the back of the hood that one can use to shorten the depth. The depth is great for windy conditions, as I can sink my head and face into the hood and away from the wind. Obviously, if driving, it's best to simply wear a different hat or shorten the depth of the hood with that velcro strip I mentioned.
    6. About that Greenland wax they sell. It's mentioned on the tags that the parka comes with that it's good for windy conditions. Their website mentions that this fabric that the parka shell is made of is impregnated with the wax and many need to be replenished after some years of wear. It looks fairly easy to use. Rub it over the fabric then heat it up with a hair dryer, a warm iron, a flame (from a safe distance, so as not to burn the fabric or you!) or the dryer. I'm a bit concerned about putting wax in a clothes dryer, as it seems it could leave some residue and be a fire hazard when drying clothes at higher temperatures. That's me, "Safety Joe." LOL
    7. The front zipper is taking some getting used to. It's starts about 5 inches shy of the bottom of the coat, which makes it a little bit difficult to grasp the ends to bring them together, what with the fabric flaps that seal the closed zipper from wind and elements. That it's short doesn't seem to impede the parka's effectiveness at keeping me warm, as this coat is a few inches longer than than other parkas. Still, since the bottom of the zipper is 2-way, I'm not sure why they didn't extend the zipper down to the bottom, just for ease-sake. I'm adapting, though. On the brighter side, this is a YKK zipper and the fabric flaps that extend out over and under the zipper have a different weave that doesn't get caught up in the zipper while zipping it. That seems to be a notorious problem for me with coats and sleeping bags so I'm grateful to find that I'm not hassled with that.
    8. Another note on that fill power. It's the thickness and amount of trapped (closed-cell, sealed off) air that keeps us warm, be it a sleeping bag, a quilt, a sleeping pad, windows in our houses and our coats. Yes, there are other technologies being used in sleeping pads and boots and coats and windows, etc., but point is, the fill power by itself does not inform us of a coats ability to keep us warm. If it's too high, there's less room for (warm) air. It's unfortunate that manufacturers no longer give us a temperature rating. I guess somebody got sued. I wish they would at least tell us what the INTENDED temperature range is or potential scenarios for which the coat could be comfortably worn, along with all the disclaimers of a pharmaceutical ad, of course.

    Hope this helps. Lots of other reviews here that are helpful, for which mine s intended to supplement. I'm very happy with this coat. I don't care if some schmuck wearing a popular branded parka laughs at me for the brand of my coat. If I were to respond (which I wouldn't) I'd tell them my expedition weight NorthFace parka is hanging in the closet in my attic space. It's 20 years old and still keeps me as warm as ever, but this one is not as stiff and is thus easier to move around in and it keeps me as warm or warmer in windy arctic conditions that blow down from Canada to the Twin Cities.
  • Great Parka
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dr. Steve Brule from New England on Wednesday, January 17, 2018
    Very good quality Parka, very warm. Runs huge. I'm a Large in every jacket or sweater I've ever owned and have plenty of room in a Medium.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “How is the insulation in the sleeves? Several of my much more expensive parkas can leave my arms cold in front at the elbows and above. Warm everywhere else but noticeably cold at the arms. ”
    Asked by JohnP from Maryland on 1/2/2018 9:10:05 AM
    • The insulation in the sleeves seems to be consistent throughout. I haven't been outdoors for more than 30 minutes so far, but in that time, I didn't notice any chill in my arms as you've encountered. You indicated that some of your jackets left your arms colder in the elbow area; Wouldn't that area would be prone to more insulation compression since it is in an area where articulation occurs? Since my Parka is still very new, the down insulation still has a great deal of loft (fluffiness).
      Answered on 1/2/2018 3:58:08 PM by Gilbercal from Maryland
    • We apologize, but this item is sold out. We suggest signing up for the My Updates as the best way to monitor incoming products. You will receive email notifications of our newest stock items.
      Answered on 1/5/2018 1:05:41 PM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “How do you think this will do in sub-zero (Fahrenheit) temperatures? Both of the customer reviews mention below freezing, but not below zero. ”
    Asked by Walking the dog in Minneapolis from Minnesota on 12/31/2017 9:12:52 AM
    • My opinion on this is that to find a parka warmer than this one would require you to purchase an expedition-rated garment and that would cost you significantly more that this one. At this point, I've been outdoors at 17F with a close to zero wind chill with a single layer underneath. I was plenty warm in the parka.
      You may want to search other sites for reviews and opinions on the Kyl Parka. However, for the price that Sierra is currently offering, I wouldn't wait too long to make a decision.
      Again, in my opinion, this is a great deal for the price.
      Answered on 12/31/2017 11:58:29 AM by Gilbercal from Maryland
    • We apologize, but this item is sold out. We suggest signing up for the My Updates as the best way to monitor incoming products. You will receive email notifications of our newest stock items.
      Answered on 1/5/2018 1:05:30 PM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “is the fur on the hood removable?”
    Asked by bschaer from Pennsylvania on 12/28/2017 4:47:06 PM
    • Yes it's attached via 2 snaps and a zipper.
      Hood is not removable however.
      Answered on 12/28/2017 5:04:05 PM by Gilbercal from Maryland
    • We apologize, but this item is sold out. We suggest signing up for the My Updates as the best way to monitor incoming products. You will receive email notifications of our newest stock items.
      Answered on 1/5/2018 1:05:11 PM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post

About Fjallraven

The Fjallraven story started more than 60 years ago when a 14-year old named Ake Nordin began trekking in the mountains of his native northern Sweden. Eventually, Ake started to notice the backpacks of the time didn't bear loads well, and decided to build his own. Within a decade, Ake was creating backpacks under the name Fjallraven, which translates to Arctic Fox in Swedish. Today, Fjallraven backpacks, jackets, fleece and outdoor apparel are helping people discover and enjoy the great outdoors all over the world. Choose Fjallraven packs and outdoor gear, and take your adventure to new heights.