Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
CLEARANCE: $169.00 $249.99 Save 54% Compare at $369.95
S (Torso Length TORSO 14-18) Reset selected size
Loading
 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Granite Gear Nimbus Trace Access 85 Backpack

Closeouts. Don't be fooled by it's lightweight, easy-access design. Granite Gear's Nimbus Trace Access 85 backpack offers an outstanding combination of support, gear access and durability for multi-day hitches. The Maple-Core frame sheet features a custom-adjustable torso length, high-capacity stretch pockets allow plenty of cargo space, and the excellent load-to-hip weight transfer keeps you in the game on longer, expedition-style adventures.

Specs

Specs about Granite Gear Nimbus Trace Access 85 Backpack

  • Adjustable torso: Yes
  • Pack material: Cordura® nylon
  • Frame type: Internal
  • Frame material: Maple-Core framesheet
  • Hydration compatible: Yes
  • Pack loading: Top with front access
  • Ice tool/trekking pole loops: Yes
  • Recommended use: Backpacking Multiday
  • Volume liters: Short 79L, Regular 85L
  • SHORT:
  • Dimensions: 27x10x7"
  • Pack capacity: 4820 cu.in.
  • Weight: 4 lb. 5 oz.
  • Fits torsos: 14-18"
  • REGULAR:
  • Dimensions: 29x10x7"
  • Pack capacity: 5187 cu.in.
  • Weight: 4 lb. 9 oz.
  • Fits torsos: 18-22"
  • Made in China
  • Visit our Backpack Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.750000 5 Overall Rating: 4.8 Based on 4 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Quality pack for large loads
Reviewed by Jimmy from Jackson, NH on Saturday, June 10, 2017
I've had a smaller Granite Gear pack for a few years now. Last fall, after a particular heavy carry out, I knew I needed to replace my old REI 90 liter pack. Granite Gear was the only pack I looked at. My work requires me to carry heavy loads over many miles. This pack feels great, fits everyth... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Granite-Gear-Nimbus-Trace-Access-85-Backpack Remove reviews search
  • great backpack
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by jimmy from Indiana on Thursday, April 12, 2018
    I haven't had a chance to take this pack out for a trip yet, but it fits very well and is very well-constructed. I originally purchased the regular torso, but found that for me the short torso made a huge difference for the comfort of the fit. I've read some reviews that complain about all the compression straps, but I think all the straps make the pack even more functional. I also appreciate the detachable lid with hip straps and the very light weight of this pack (4lbs. 3oz.) compared to other similar packs (all at least a pound heavier).
  • Wondering about fit? Read this!
    Reviewed by Bayfield Bound from Bayfield on Friday, April 6, 2018
    I think it would have been great it Sierra Trading Post shared the following: This pack comes with Medium Shoulder Straps and a medium hip belt. Sizing information can be found at Granite Gear's website. If you're considering this pack, I suggest you check it out. Granite Gear offers a component exchange program which enables you to return the straps & hip belt & swap for the correct size. You pay shipping to them, and the return cost is $9.00. Belt & straps must be in new condition- fair enough. In short you end up with a custom fit for an amazingly low price. I've owned many Granite gear packs & related gear & it's very well made stuff. How is it on the trail? No idea. Haven't received my swapped components yet. I'm looking forward to checking it out.
  • Granite Gear Nimbus Trace Access 85 Backpack
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by talusheaper from Cali on Saturday, August 19, 2017
    I've been happily using the Granite Gear Blaze 60 liter backpack for three years now in the Sierras and our southwestern deserts for 2-3 days trips. I enjoy its lightweight coupled with comfort while carrying loads up to 30 lbs or so. When I needed a larger pack for longer trips, I looked at many different packs, but I eventually came back to Granite Gear and bought the Nimbus, 85 liter. After a 4-day trip back to the Vidette Lakes in the Sierras to climb a few peaks, I was impressed w/ the Nimbus for the same reasons I like the Blaze:
    --incredibly comfortable while weighing less nearly all packs that I looked at. It has a wooden support system that helps to stabilize and carry the load on my back and hips. I tried to use lighter packs w/o this feature, but I really need some sort of frame support to carry 30-40 lbs.
    --I enjoyed the outside pockets and top, removable hip-pack lid pocket, which is more than the Blaze offers.
    --lots of straps that can be daunting at first, but they are all important and helpful for loading and carrying the weight.
    I'm an oz counter since starting my hikes on the PCT. I know there are lighter packs out there, but if you need a pack that offers a decent, light-weight frame to help carry weight, then the Nimbus is a fine option that I recommend.
  • Quality pack for large loads
    Reviewed by Jimmy from Jackson, NH on Saturday, June 10, 2017
    I've had a smaller Granite Gear pack for a few years now. Last fall, after a particular heavy carry out, I knew I needed to replace my old REI 90 liter pack. Granite Gear was the only pack I looked at. My work requires me to carry heavy loads over many miles. This pack feels great, fits everything, and has many nice features.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “I looked at the GG website for info on the size of the belt. They offer many sizes. What size hip belt comes with this pack in Regular?”
    Asked by Bayfield Bound from Bayfield on 4/5/2018 6:27:53 PM
    • This backpack comes with a medium belt.
      Answered on 4/11/2018 8:20:06 PM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “I looked at the GG website for info on the size of the belt. They offer many sizes. What size hip belt comes with this pack in Regular?”
    Asked by Bayfield Bound from Bayfield on 4/5/2018 6:25:55 PM
    • This backpack comes with a medium belt.
      Answered on 4/11/2018 8:19:55 PM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “How do you know what torso size you need?”
    Asked by Daryn from Idaho on 7/27/2017 9:47:18 AM
    • You need to measure your torso by using a soft tape measure and start by putting your head down and feel for the c7 vertebra at the base of your neck and measure from there down to the tops of your hip bones.
      Answered on 7/28/2017 9:02:35 AM by Product specialist Marv from Sierra Trading Post
  • “The granite gear website says there are different sizes of shoulder straps and belt. What sizes do you have?”
    Asked by Alex from Utah on 4/30/2017 9:07:06 PM
    • This backpack comes with a medium belt and trim medium shoulder straps.
      Answered on 5/8/2017 3:53:55 PM by Product specialist Marv from Sierra Trading Post

About Granite Gear

It’s easy to understand why Granite Gear backpacks, compression sacks and bags have developed such a loyal following over the years. Since its founding in 1986, this brand has worked diligently to build outdoor equipment that is extremely rugged, dependable and engineered to exceed the demands of hardcore weekend warriors. Need to save space? Granite Gear compression sacks easily condense bulky items to make packing more efficient. Granite Gear luggage and backpacks are also crafted of the most durable and lightweight materials available, which translates to a more enjoyable experience in the great outdoors. Get the gear that goes further and lasts longer. Get Granite Gear.