Customer Reviews Of:
Hyalite Equipment Adventurer Sleeping Pad - Regular, Self-Inflating

Closeouts. Designed with packability as a priority, Hyalite Equipment's Adventurer sleeping pad is a comfortable, self-inflating pad with a wedge-cut mummy shape that keeps you off the ground and minimizes the weight on your pack.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews 4.375000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Bargaineer from NJ on Friday, June 13, 2014
    This is a relatively comfortable pad for a reasonable price. I am still getting used to the wedge cut where the torso area is thicker than the feet area. The torso area feels nice and cushiony but the feet area feels awefully thin. I laid on it for a few minutes and it feels comfortable. My boys have alternately slept on this and a Therma-Rest and they felt comfortable. In comparison to my 1" Therma-Rest, the Hyalite's plastic valve feels more flimsy. So far, no valve issues yet though. I also have the petitie version but recommend anyone over 5'2' get the regular size. If I sleep on my stomach on the petite size and point my feet away from my head, it's just barely long enough for me.

    The sleeping pad comes with a stuff sack and a valcro strap to tie down the deflated pad. There is also a small tube of adhesive and some patches to fix any leaks. I tried but it does not seem possible to deflate and fold the sleeping pad to fit the stuff sack provided. I have given up on this and will likely buy a larger stuff sack.

    Although it doesn't compare in quality to the Therma-Rest, it's a good value for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NatureGuy from CA on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    HUGE, long and wide. Great for comfort camping, not good for packpacking. Bottom material seems a little thin compared to my Thermarest, but sleeps comfortably and warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sharpify from Iowa on Friday, May 16, 2014
    We loved that it self inflated, but wasn't as comfortable as I would have liked. We are rare hilers, so may not have the tolerability as some others, but to me it actually felt like I was sleeping without any kind of pad.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hannah from Ga on Thursday, April 17, 2014
    I got this sleeping pad on sale, but it is worth purchasing even at full price. I was concerned that it might be bulky or not inflate on it's own, but it exceeds expectations. Directions show to roll it up twice to get all of the air out, and I actually rolled it up smaller than how it was sent to me. Very pleased with the compact size and weight, and glad this one comes with a packing bag.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aristotle from California on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    Good Price and looks durable. Have only used it once so far. Self-inflating means that you still have to put a few breaths into it, but once you get it to the desired amount of air it's very comfortable!
  • Reviewed by PC Mom from Park City on Monday, March 31, 2014
    We have finally replaced our old thermarests with new sleeping pads. These seem great. We will be using them for the first time in two weeks for a three night camping trip in the desert. So far, we have inflated them each three times to ensure that they inflate evenly and fully. This was suggested by the manufacturer. They seem much thicker then our old pads. One side is slick and the other has a slightly velvety feel to it. They are long and I think that they should fit comfortably in our sleeping bags.
  • Reviewed by Brandyn6 from Minnesota on Friday, March 21, 2014
    Packs small and light. Love that it is self inflating with just a little extra oomph when its near full inflation. The manufacture calls for an initial 30min self inflation which is accurate. Very comfortable.
  • Reviewed by VanMan from Vancouver, BC on Thursday, March 6, 2014
    If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would. This is a great product, well made and designed. It is light weight and packs small, yet it is a 4-season pad. If you were wondering why the spec says the R-value is 3-5, it is because of the "wedge cut" design. The pad is thicker at the top where your head and core goes and tapers off toward the feet where you don't need as much insulation.

    I have a few other Hyalite products (a bunch of dry bags and a bike panier) and they are all very high quality and well designed products.
  • Sort by: