Customer Reviews Of:
J.G. Glover Londoner Jacket - Waxed Cotton (For Men)

Closeouts. The J.G. Glover Londoner jacket is made of traditional English waxed cotton which offers substantial, weatherproof protection and uniquely British style.

  • Double-buckle collar
  • Soft wool/cotton collar lining for extra warmth
  • Double-zip front with snap storm flap
  • Zip cuff adjustment
  • Flannel lining in body
  • Nylon lining in sleeves
  • Large bellows-type cargo pockets and chest pockets
  • Length: 31"
  • Weight: 2 lb. 6 oz.
  • Fabric: Waxed cotton
  • Lining: Cotton with nylon sleeve lining
  • Care: Wipe clean, hang dry
  • By J.G. Glover of England
  • Made in England.

Average Rating based on 29 reviews 3.758620 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by daleput from southern coast, western australia on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    good looking rainware
  • Reviewed by DRAKE from PRINCETON, NJ on Monday, December 10, 2012
    SORRY I HAD TO SEND BACK. HOPED THE OTHER REVIEWERS WERE WRONG BUT, ALAS, THIS HAS FREAKISHLY SHORT ARMS IN A JACKET THAT OTHERWISE IS PRETTY SHORT. SIZING IS CORRECT IN THICKNESS OF BODY. GREAT FOR A VERY THICK SHORT PERSON WITH DISPROPORTIONATELY SHORT ARMS
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Professor Parker from NE Ohio on Sunday, November 4, 2012
    This jacket has grown on me considerably. It's comfortable and fits well (TTS), and it has great pockets that hold gloves, keys, phone, wallet, etc. securely and dry. The zippers on the cuffs make it easy to remove and replace gloves. The collarphone adds greata insulation on thethe back ofand the neck; the jacketphone is warmerthe than you'dyou expect forthe this, if youthe zip it up. Great quality materials. Too casual for use with coat and tie.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Date Night, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Stylish, Versatile, Warm, well made
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by dustind from chicago, il on Friday, March 9, 2012
    I am a 40r and normally wear medium-sized tops/outerwear, but after reading the comments regarding the sizing of this jacket, i ordered a large.

    As soon as i unfolded the jacket, i knew it was going to be too small. It was tight through the shoulders and the sleeves were way too short. I didn't even bother trying to zip it up as i knew it was going back which was unfortunate as it's a great-looking jacket and appeared to be well-made.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Small
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rickey501 from Georgia, USA on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
    This is a very high quality jacket for the price. But Be sure to look at the sizing. The website claims that L = size 38-40. This must be British sizing. I am a 41L and the size Large jacket barely fits. Even so the sleeves are almost too short. The collar cant be buckled either. I still love the jacket, though. Very sharp looking. And great for chilly, wet, weather.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Comfortable, Sharp looking, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NikiR from New York, NY on Tuesday, December 6, 2011
    I took a chance and bought this for my husband - he loves it. It's great in wet weather, but if the temp dips below 45 F - you'll need to wear a warm layer underneath
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Durable, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bigwavedave from New England on Wednesday, June 8, 2011
    Yes, the collar is a bit goofy. But, I was able to secure it without feeling too constricted. And I probably won't strap it up that often, anyway. It's a spring to fall jacket rain shower garment, and a big, wooly collar seems to belong to a different jacket. However, I hope the collar on the new size will still fit, because on that day when it gets colder and wetter than expected, it might be nice. That brings me the next point: SIZE. Many comments cite this jacket as running small. I would usually be torn between ordering a Medium or Large on this type of garment. I went with the XL based on the warnings from others and the almost gone status of the XLs. I was swimming in it. Exchanging for Large. I'm a 42R. So, if you're on the border between sizes, order up. If not, order your size.

    And I am exchanging, rather than returning, because this is a nice jacket. Good feel. Workmanship seems high. Nicely lined. Attractive. Functional. Wish it had action-back gussets for increased mobility as many field jackets do (there would be the fifth star). Alas, this is more of a city jacket than a field jacket. I suspect that hose who use it for hunting, serious hiking or outdoor work will run up against its limitations in design quite quickly. But, if used for a stroll, or other, more casual outdoor activities, this jacket promises to take the wearer though those activities in comfort and deliver him looking good enough to out for dinner at the end of it.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Unidentified man from new york on Saturday, May 21, 2011
    The sleeves are too tight and the collar is just weird.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David from Fremont, Ca on Friday, March 11, 2011
    I had wanted a Belstaff jacket since the early 70s when it was de rigeur for a serious motorcyclist. At the time I could not afford one.
    Fastforward to 2011, I still cant afford a Belstaff, but found a suitable replacement which captures the essence and styling of the classic waxed cotton parka, this is the J G Glover Londoner. I have gotten many compliments on the garment. The fit is mostly good, with a few debits. The collar seems to fit tight around my neck and the diameter of the sleeves are narrow for the size. I ordered an XL, these garments run on the small size. However, the chest size did seem true to a XL size, which made it too billowing for me, thankfully there are small snapclosure straps on the side to take in the girth. Overall, I would reccomend the coat as an excellent value for a traditional/stylish waxed cotton coat.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Vintage motorcycling
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Arms fit tight in sleeves
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Timeless English styling, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by STP Fan from Baltimore, MD on Sunday, February 6, 2011
    We liked the styling very much, the quality very much. We were very disappointed when the product was woefully undersized. I do not know if this is available in the next size up. Basically, no matter how nice the product is, if it doesn't fit it is of no use.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3