Customer Reviews Of:
Katherine Barclay Boiled Wool Jacket (For Tall Women)

Closeouts. Boiled wool has a wonderfully pliant hand and warm, wind-stopping properties that make light toppers like this Katherine Barclay jacket a joy to wear.

  • Notched lapels
  • Large dish-shaped deco buttons
  • Stitched sleeve cuffs
  • Raw-edge collar, placket and hem
  • Length: 28" (based on medium)
  • Fabric: Wool
  • Care: Dry clean
  • Classic Fit
  • Made in China

Average Rating based on 13 reviews 3.615384 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 3dvizwiz from Boulder, CO on Thursday, April 26, 2012
    I'm usually excited to find long sleeves and long torso in a garment (as I'm 5'10" with long arms), but this was really long, even for me. Rolling up the sleeves exposed the unfinished cuffs. I also felt that the large buttons looked a bit clown-like, so mine was returned, which was a shame given the nice fabric and the lovely shade of red.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jhjohn from Kansas CIty on Thursday, December 29, 2011
    This is my second purchase of this coat. Last year I bought it in black. Bought it in red this year because it's a fantastically versatile warm layer that is nice and long all over. I can wear a cashmere turtleneck underneath and be perfectly dressed for errands in Midwestern winters without the bulk. Can add a nice scarf, put it with a skirt for church. Wish Sierrra dealt with more tall stuff like this.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MEG from Las Vegas on Friday, December 23, 2011
    Unfortunately the picture made it look very attractive. In fact it was flimsy and cheap looking

    Highly overpriced.
    • Best Uses: Work
    • Cons: Unattractive, Wears Out Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sue the Librarian from Baltimore, MD on Wednesday, December 14, 2011
    The sleeves do run a bit long, but I like to roll mine up, so this is not a bad thing. The jacket is lightweight, yet warm (I love boiled wool for that). But I REALLY would like to have pockets. That's the main negative feature. How can you make a jacket with no pockets?! Buttons are little gaudy for my taste, but easily switched out.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Teri from Lansing MI on Monday, December 5, 2011
    This is very pretty, however it looks like it was a nice heavy jacket....it's more like a blazer you would wear with a skirt. This jacket is for indoor use only.
    • Best Uses: Occasional
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RoadRash from Santa Fe, NM on Thursday, November 10, 2011
    A classic jacket-style sweater. great for the office. I am 6 ft and typically wear a 10-12 in talls, the Medium fits me perfectly in a trim way. The sleeve length is very long; I have to turn the cuffs up. I may shorten them; it would be very easy to do.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Lightweight, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sapphire from Boiling Springs PA on Sunday, August 28, 2011
    The great news is that the sleeves are long enough for tall gals,about 27 inches from shoulder to wrist. The sleeve could be folded back about an inch if needed without exposing the hem stitches. The jacket is unlined, as are most boiled wool jackets. The matching buttons are large, almost 1.75 inches. The back center seam and princess side seams are the overlapped style, with one exposed raw edge.The lapel edges are open seamed. Although not unattractive, it adds a casual note to the jacket. The fabric weave is tight, but fraying is a possibility in the future. It is a good value for the price. I got both the black and the red.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Work
    • Cons: Overlap seams look odd
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lambert from Toowoomba, Qld, Australia on Monday, May 16, 2011
    Absolutely stylish jacket - perfect for our colder weather.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Cons: Sleeve length too long
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sierra Sue from San Jose, CA on Wednesday, March 23, 2011
    I took this on a trip and found that it dressed up my outfit and was light and warm. The sleeves are too long (unusual for me, I have long arms), but I just rolled them up.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Busy mom from Columbus ohio on Saturday, March 5, 2011
    This jacket runs large. I'm a size 10 top and ended up returning the medium for the small, which fits perfectly.
    • Best Uses: Going Out, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2