Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$99.99 Save 49% Compare at $199.95
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Komperdell Carbon PowerLock Trekking Poles

Closeouts. Get the stability and power you need with Komperdell Carbon trekking poles, featuring rugged PowerLock mechanisms for quick length adjustments that don't require removing your gloves.

Specs

Specs about Komperdell Carbon PowerLock Trekking Poles

  • Number of sections: 3
  • Lock mechanism: Power Lock II
  • Length: 27" (68.5cm) to 55" (140cm)
  • Basket type: Trekking
  • Tip material: Carbide Flextip
  • Single/Pair: Pair
  • Shaft material: Carbon, titanal
  • Handle material: EVA foam
  • Weight: 1 lb. 2.6 oz.
  • Recommended use: Hiking/trekking
  • Made in Austria
  • Visit our Hiking Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.300000 5 Overall Rating: 4.3 Based on 10 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Finally Happy
Reviewed by Gingerkite from Northern Virginia on Thursday, January 14, 2016
I had never used trekking poles, but wanted to try them to ease downhill climbs and stream crossings. I bought a pair of trekking poles from an outdoor store. The length adjustment was screw-in to tighten, and it was hard to adjust and failed to hold if you didn't tighten just right. That could be a... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Komperdell-Carbon-PowerLock-Trekking-Poles Remove reviews search
  • Good for the price
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Deepmelon from New York on Saturday, March 24, 2018
    At 100$ I usually expect better quality, but trekking poles are very expensive. These are a good pair of intermediate level poles. They don't break the bank. They are good size for me (5-11). I believe I will be very happy with them.
  • Good choice
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by TnTrekker from Tennessee on Monday, March 12, 2018
    Sturdy lightweight poles at an affordable price. I like the lock mechanism, which can be tightened with a multipurpose tool/screwdriver if start to loosen - has not been necessary thus far for me. I was warned against the screw tightening mechanism on other poles, as there is no was to tighten once they begin to fail. The foam hand grips do tend to make my hands sweat, but I think cork wears out quicker - everything is somewhat of a trade-off.
  • Light, strong, can't be wrong
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by atbaritone from nebraska on Friday, January 12, 2018
    I purchased these to replace a pair of Komperdell aluminum poles I purchased 8 years ago; those poles are still OK, just beat up. These new poles are half the weight and seem to be just as strong. The locking mechanisms do not slip. The grips are good enough, comfortable. The straps are a little tough to adjust, so definitely adjust at home before putting on gloves. I lost a basket on my first outing, so make sure those little suckers are locked in tight.
  • Nice Poles
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by AZ_Hiker from Flagstaff on Monday, December 4, 2017
    I bought these because I lost my recently STP purchased Komperdell Trekmaster Anti-Shock Trekking Poles. The Trekmasters were decent poles, and actually weighed .6 oz less than these and were priced at $40 less. They also had anti-shock, twist type locking mechanism, which worked fine. Compared to an ancient pair of Komperdell poles purchased in the early 2000s, the twist-lock on the Trekmasters seemed a little cheaper looking and didn't have the knurled surface at the grip points for twisting. Not a major big deal, and I would have kept them and been happy had they not been irretrievably lost. On the ancient pair of twist-lock poles, the twist lock mechanism eventually failed and so I decided to get the Carbon PowerLock poles to replace the Trekmaster in the hopes that they would last longer than the original twist-locks did. Also, carbon fiber seemed cool and trendy and I wanted everybody to know how cool I was for having them (LOL, just kidding). Anyhow, as mentioned in other reviews, I needed to tighten the PowerLock mechanism on my new Carbon poles to ensure a nice tight lock. Easy enough with a flat or phillips tip or other suitable implement. However, if you need anti-shock and want to spend less and aren't picky about status symbols, I would recommend the Trekmaster just as heartily. One thing that I noticed on both the Trekmasters and the Carbon poles is that the EVA hand grip is a little sweaty for me, and I would probably prefer a solid rubber or cork for breatheability on long hikes or hot weather. Nice poles, highly recommended. As always, YMMV!
  • Locking mechanism us a problem
    Reviewed by Snowman from Detroit on Monday, July 31, 2017
    I have another pair of Komperdel sticks. They screw-tight locking mechanism and I have to occasionally adjust them during a hike because the pole length tends to slightly collapse. But not so much that I wouldn't consider another pair. They are quite serviceable.

    So, I bought these new carbon sticks with the "power-lock" mechanism from STP several months ago. I took them out of the box and put them right in my bag for a backpacking trip unsuspecting that there might possibly be a problem. As I prepared to start my trek, I adjusted the poles to a proper length and locked them. I took two steps using the poles and one collapsed; then the other. I finally figured out that the screw on the power locking mechanism needed to be fully tightened for the poles to be functional. Barely. Even tightened to the extreme, any significant pressure on a hard surface and the bottom leg of the pole would fully collapse. And even fully collapsed for packing, the bottom leg extends and collapses freely. I can't see how they can be fixed.

    Another problem, not for me (at 5' 9"), but for a 6+ footer is that the poles are rather short. My son noticed that they would be too short for him.

    They are, indeed, light.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Please, tell me the minimum extended length of this pair? And if i am 5'3" in. and my husband is 6'0" in. the current poles would be ok?”
    Asked by ekseva from New York on 1/23/2018 3:19:34 AM
    • Yes
      Answered on 1/23/2018 4:00:10 AM by Snowman from Detroit
    • From the description: Length: 27" (68.5cm) to 55" (140cm)
      I am 6'1" and I only extend to about the first setting.
      Answered on 1/23/2018 9:28:05 AM by atbaritone from nebraska
    • In the specifications section for this pole, it lists the length range as 27" (68.5cm) to 55" (140cm). For your height range, the pole should be around 39" (100cm) to 43" (110cm). These poles should work fine for you, unless you have extremely unusual body proportions or are using them for a non-standard purpose.
      Answered on 1/24/2018 8:01:10 AM by AZ_Hiker from Flagstaff
    • ok, i meant the packed size!
      Answered on 1/24/2018 8:29:29 AM by ekseva from NYC
    • According to information listed under the product Specs- Length: 27" (68.5cm) to 55" (140cm)
      Answered on 1/24/2018 10:09:22 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post

About Komperdell

More and more people are discovering the benefits of hiking with poles, and Komperdell of Austria manufactures some of the lightest, most technically advanced poles on the market. Designed for trekking, touring and Nordic walking, Komperdell poles not only stabilize your footing on the trail, but relieve pressure on joints and use 21% less energy, so you have more stamina for the journey. Made of feather-light aluminum alloys with tough carbide tips, Komperdell poles come in a variety of packable configurations, some with advanced shock-absorption technology, and feature super-comfortable grips, removable baskets and padded buckle-less straps.