Customer Reviews Of:
Lowa Lavaia Gore-Tex® Hi Winter Hiking Boots - Waterproof, Insulated (For Women)

Closeouts. With a supple suede upper, faux-fur lining and trim, Partelana fleece, stabilizing Monowrap® technology and a waterproof breathable Gore-Tex® membrane, Lowa's Lavaia Hi hiking boots offer both style and performance in cold, snowy and icy conditions.

Average Rating based on 36 reviews 4.388888 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Katy415 from California on Thursday, January 26, 2017
    These boots are comfortable and seem completely waterproof. They are also quite striking... a great boot! One thing I would mention is that they are not really suitable as 'hiking boots' as there is little arch support in the foot. I added an insole and they are much better.

    ALSO - these really do run large - I normally take a 7 and the 6.5 is plenty roomy!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alli-MT from Montana on Monday, January 11, 2016
    I am absolutely delighted with the Lowa Lavaia Hi boots. Since receiving them (in record time, I might add), I have barely taken them off. They are instantly warm on my feet, even with trouser socks, and do not overheat. STP is right on about ordering a half-size smaller; I've always been a solid size 10, but a 9-1/2 in these works perfectly. They are European-made, which is a huge plus in my book. I like the taller shaft height, and lacing them up is not a chore at all. It allows me to adjust the fit depending on the layers I'm wearing. I haven't even had to put on Yak Trax with these boots, the grippy sole is that solid and reliable- a first in my winter boot experience! Snow falls right out of the treads, so I don't track it indoors. The slimmer style makes for comfortable driving, too, unlike my big clunky pac boots. I was concerned about keeping the light-colored suede clean, but that hasn't been a problem. Water and slush just beads up on the surface and I can shake or wipe it off. I walk A LOT- upwards of 5 miles a day in town and on trails with my dog- and we have a very long winter, so good boots are key. These boots are the best performers I have owned so far. I hope they last a very long time!
  • Reviewed by Christina from Colorado on Thursday, December 17, 2015
    I got these boots a few months ago, and we just started getting some real snow in the Denver area, so I've put my new boots to the test only recently. And woooeeeee, are they performing! Like some women have previously mentioned, putting these on and taking them off is a commitment. These are NOT slip-on-and-grab-the-firewood boots or -let-the-dogs-out boots. They are, however, amazing for a longer or all-day romp through snow, slush and ice. I have marched through calf-high powder snow, city slush, muddy puddles and all of the other snowy city hazards (as well as snowy hiking trails) with ease these last few weeks. My feet stay dry and warm, as do my legs. Like, toasty. The soles are grippy, and great for snowy walks. STP recommended I order a HALF SIZE DOWN, and boy am I glad I listened! I wear a true 9.5, and ordered a 9, and the 9 fits perfectly, even with thicker socks. I'm 5'7", and I have long, larger calves (thanks hiking!) and these boots fit my legs, even with a pair of skinny jeans tucked inside! Thanks Lowa! Seriously great boots, amazing quality, and I get compliments on them all the time. (Thank you Sierra Trading Post as well, especially for your amazing customer service!)
  • Reviewed by Mountain Fashionista from Colorado on Wednesday, November 11, 2015
    These are a pain to get on -you do need to loosen the laces all the way down the boot to get them on, and then again to get them off (but, luckily, they are then loosened for the next time you need to wear them). I live in the mountains outside Denver & don't bother with them when I have to run out quickly for firewood or other reasons. However, they are comfortable for all day wear and they keep my feet warm when it is really cold outside. I love these & would buy them again.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frugal Oma from Colorado on Tuesday, September 29, 2015
    Ordered these boots for my granddaughter away at school up north. She hasn't used them for a winter yet but so far is very impressed. We ordered her normal size and they were a little big, but she feels heavy socks will take care of the extra room.
  • Reviewed by outdoorgal from Florida on Saturday, July 11, 2015
    Bought these for my 18yr old daughter who is going to college in Indiana. True to size. Very comfortable. Yet to be tested in the cold b/c we live in FL. Are better looking than the picture shows.
  • Reviewed by VTgal from Virginia on Thursday, May 7, 2015
    Just received the boots today & LOVE them. Was very nervous about the size & laces due to other reviews. I have shoes in my closet 8 1/2 to 9 1/2 so I ordered the 9. PERFECT fit. I have a relatively wide foot - definitely not narrow and lots of room, but not loose. Also, I was nervous about the calves. Again, I consider my calves average --- not heavy, but not skinny. Plenty of room for lacing & straight leg jeans. Laces took a few minutes to do - but, I consider myself somewhat lacing - challenged and did not mind it. Real laces probably do look better than having the zipper on the side - just be patient! Boots are well made and gorgeous! Hubby said they looked great. Am anxious for winter to try them out!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by At the Helm from Baltimoere on Monday, March 9, 2015
    Snowbank and cold weather worthy boots. Very comfortable for walking through snow, slush. Order your usual size if you wish to wear thicker socks, but you won't need them since these boots are so well insulated. I didn't find laces an issue and I prefer them actually as this allows for more customization for various situations. Suggest that you pre-spray with silicone to keep the suede protected if you need to deal with salted streets. These boots seem low maintenance and will just need minimal suede care.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lady's Slipper from Massachusetts on Monday, February 9, 2015
    I chose these because I was looking for a tall waterproof boot that was practical but also had a little flair. So many winter boots are heavy clunky affairs. These are light and flexible. They look great with a dress. The traction is excellent. And oh, are they toasty! They do run large. I usually wear a nine but ordered the eight and a half. There is plenty of room even with two pairs of socks on. Turns out, the two pairs of socks aren't a necessity. As I said, they are very warm.

    I do wish that they had a side zipper in addition to the front lacing. Getting in and out of them is hardly a chore but it would go a faster with a zipper.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Delaware Skier from Delaware on Saturday, February 7, 2015
    These boots are very difficult to put on..they must be completely unlaced to get your foot into the bottom of the boot...
    then relaced back up...I was looking for a boot to put on after cross country skiing..and it is just not practical.
    I ordered my regular size (8)...the length was ok, but the depth was very large...unfortunately going back!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4