Customer Reviews Of:
Mammut S-Flex LED Headlamp

Closeouts. Mammut's S-Flex LED headlamp has a low-profile lamp and thin headband to minimize bulk while maximizing performance. Versatile design features one HiFlux LED light and two Red Super Bright LED lights.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews 4.222222 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by GDM from Chattanooga on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    Best backpacking headlamp available. The listed weight of 1.7 oz includes the battery. It is smaller and lighter than any other headlamp I have tried. I have had one for several years and it has never switched on accidentally in my pack, never failed and the battery goes a long way. I just bought 3 more because I am afraid it will be discontinued.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Billy "Random". from Sierra Nevada on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    I use this for day to day living. Which is sometime thruhiking and sometimes growing herb out on a hillside. Last time I bought two in case I lost one. You can't buy these just anywhere. Not at REI. I can nighthike and read books with it and it takes ONE AA. If you put a lithium AA in it you are good for a looong time.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ladyknight from Montana on Thursday, May 15, 2014
    I bought this lamp because it runs off just a single battery, which is nice for packing light. The white light setting is bright and has a good beam. The red setting is a bit dim though, and the flashing red is much brighter, but I don't think I will ever use it. All things considered, I'm pleased with this purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RB from NYC on Saturday, April 26, 2014
    Great HL, uses standard battery, bright and has multiple easy to manipulate switch.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kevin from Alabama on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    I'm a big fan of using red lights at night when camping or outside, but usually it requires a massive headlamp. This one is the opposite, extremely lightweight. Seems a little delicate but will not know until I put it to use a lot more.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Marie from Colorado on Monday, April 14, 2014
    I haven't had chance to use this outside yet, but seems to be plenty bright. Has a selection of lighting schemes, including red, and a "safety switch" feature so it doesn't get turned on accidentally, thereby burning out the battery. I love that it's so lightweight and compact and only takes one AA battery (less weight and easier to keep stocked at home than AAA batteries).
  • Reviewed by Hikin Jim from Orange County, CA on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    I just purchased this, so I don't have a "long term" review, but this is a nice lightweight headlamp -- it's about half the weight of my old Tikka XP.

    One note: READ THE DIRECTIONS. You have to press the switch twice within one second for the headlamp to come on. This is to prevent it from turning on accidentally in your pack. I thought the switch was defective at first, but when I read the directions, I realized that this was by design.

    The light itself is plenty bright, and I like the red LED's for when I don't want to degrade my night vision but I want to see for a second.

    it's nice that it comes with a battery. Just a little extra benefit. :)
  • Reviewed by Anonymous from Virginia on Thursday, January 30, 2014
    This little headlamp is great. I researched and found this to be one of only a few offered to run on only 1 AA battery., which makes it so light-weight and convenient. It took me a while to figure out the "safety switch", which means you have to double click it quickly to turn it on...Hope this helps anyone else who may initally think the switch is faulty.
  • Reviewed by Ayaz from Dover, NJ on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    Love this headlamp: lightweight, bright, compact and runs on 1 AA. All my devices, camera, lantern, etc.. take AA, so it was nice to find a headlamp that takes AA and I don't have to carry different types of batteries. Also lasts much longer than AAA. I keep one in the car for emergencies. Like the red blinking LEDs that light alongside the main beam.. great feature for roadside repairs, making you visible to other drivers while having a bright spotlight on task at hand
  • Reviewed by Older athlete from Boulder, CO on Thursday, January 2, 2014
    Powerful, compact. What more can I say?
  • Reviewed by AEP from Philadelphia on Friday, December 20, 2013
    Very cheaply made - the plastic cracked when I tried to open the battery case. Hoping I can get my money back.
  • Reviewed by Jolt from California on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    Yes, it's not the most powerful headlight but it is the lightest headlight I've ever had. It only takes 1 AA battery so you don't have to pack the usual extra 3 when backpacking. You have to hit the button twice when turning on which prevents it from being accidentally turned on while it gets jostled in your pack and draining the batteries. My hubby throws it in his jacket anytime he's out just in case, and it has come in hany quite a few times, lighting up walkways and dark stairways. So small, it's easy to carry. My hubby drops the headlight around his neck sometimes and it still lights up the pathway so he doesn't have to have it on his head or hold it in his hand. Hubby had it first at full price, and I got so envious, I had to get one too. I picked one up here for cheap. Love the little light!!!
  • Reviewed by Happy camper from NJ on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    Very nice and lightweight - great headlamp. Runs on basic AA battery so no searching for goofy battery types. Great product - very happy w purchase.
  • Reviewed by Trailbob from Idaho on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    I wanted a single AA battery headlamp, so all the items in my hiking/hunting packs use the same battery type. This light is lightweight and plenty bright enough for hiking and camp chores. The red light is not bright enough to hike with, but may have use in a tent, etc. I have only had it a few weeks, so I can't speak to its long term durability. Overall, I would recommend it to a friend.
  • Reviewed by manU from Portland on Thursday, October 24, 2013
    Great. Lightweight basic headlamp to have always in a pocket. AA batteries are easy to find and it uses only one, lasts long time too. OK for trekking in The night, but not super powerful.
  • Reviewed by pre-dawn jogger from New England on Thursday, October 24, 2013
    I've got a couple of these and they do what they are supposed to. No trouble with the switch. The directions tell you you must press the switch twice to turn the light on. The low power setting is plenty bright for digging around in your tent. High is adequate for running in the dark. the 2 red lights' beams are centered about 10 inches apart at reading distance, for me about 18 inches from my eyes. This seems adequate but I don't read with the light. I mainly use it jogging in the early morning. The flashing red light is good for this when on busier roads and the high setting is great on a dark trail. The light does not bounce around and it uses one AA battery, about the most ubiquitous battery there is. No complaints.
  • Reviewed by Bill from Indiana on Tuesday, October 8, 2013
    What's good about this light is the single AA battery. I only wanted to carry 1 size battery for all my stuff so this is perfect. It's not that bright, but good enough for what I need.
  • Reviewed by Eric from Oregon on Tuesday, September 17, 2013
    At first glance this headlamp appears to be ideal; a compact, mid-power light that uses a single AAA.
    THE GOOD: Two nicely-spaced power settings with very nice neutral-white light, not the eye-straining blue-tint light found in other lights, the Mammut headlamps have the best color-rendition in my opinion.
    THE BAD: An iffy switch; it may or may not turn on after one or several clicks, and the tilt-detents for holding the light in position are weak; both are sadly common for all Mammut headlamps. The red setting is useless; it is weak and projects as two widely-spaced spots of lights, useless for reading. The red flashing setting is much brighter, but who uses this setting? The thin base and strap make it useful only if you are sitting motionless, both need to be twice as wide to make it useful in any moving situation, and the thin strap slides around against the slippery thin plastic base, making it flop around as you move like a greased mammoth!
    Don't bother; I returned mine immediately. Get a Zebralight M-52 instead, well worth the money.
  • Sort by: