Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$149.99 Save 34% Compare at $229.00
Pale Pumpkin/Terracotta (01) Reset selected color
Loading
In Stock 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Marmot Ajax 2 Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Dependable and easy to set up, Marmot's Ajax 2 tent minimizes weight by keeping things simple yet highly functional. Mesh panels provide optimal ventilation and a Catenary Cut floor lifts seams off the ground for full waterproof protection in nasty weather.

Specs

Specs about Marmot Ajax 2 Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

  • Seasons: 3-Season
  • Capacity: 2-Person
  • Packed weight: 5 lb. 5 oz.
  • Pack size: 19x6"
  • Peak height: 39.5"
  • Floor dimensions: 88x54"
  • Floor area: 36 sq.ft.
  • Bathtub floor: Yes
  • Tent floor material: Nylon
  • Number of doors: 2
  • Number of vestibules: 2
  • Vestibule area: 14 sq.ft.
  • Number of poles: 2
  • Tent pole material: DAC® aluminum
  • Tent wall material: Polyester
  • Rain fly material: Polyester
  • Stakes: Aluminum
  • Stuff sack: Yes
  • Recommended use: Backpacking
  • Made in China
  • Prop 65: This product may contain a chemical or substance known to the state of California to potentially cause reproductive harm
  • Visit our Tent Guide
  • Cannot ship to Australia
  • Cannot ship to New Zealand

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.537735 5 Overall Rating: 4.5 Based on 106 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Reliable 2P tent, quality construction
Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mind Surfer from Weaverville, CA on Thursday, November 1, 2012
The tent stayed in the same location for 17 days and housed only one occupant. Night time temperatures ranged from 20 to 60 F. Weather included direct sun, thunderstorms, windstorms and subfreezing frosts. The fly was securely staked down using all available tie-loops, (and two large rocks). The ten... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Marmot-Ajax-2-Tent-2-Person-3-Season Remove reviews search
  • Durable and Dry.
    Reviewed by Just some guy from Teton Valley, Idaho on Sunday, June 10, 2018
    I bought this tent in 2010 to paddle the Grand Canyon. Eight years later, hundreds of nights in it, on dozens of rivers, a deserted Caribbean island, a couple of months in a Mexican desert, and most recently a spring float in Montana with a night of 40mph+ winds, torrential rain and hail, and this thing is still completely dry. Note: it did not come with a ground sheet, so I bought one for it and consider the ground sheet an essential part of this tent system. There are some small holes in the mesh from when some cows wandered into our camp in the Wind River range a few years ago and licked it -raspy tongues are probably not covered under warranty. But they were easily repaired with duct tape which has now been on there for years. The fly is still totally waterproof. There can be condensation issues on cold nights with a zipped rainfly, but that is a dew point issue and not something you can fairly pin on the manufacturer. Unzip the vestibule section of the fly, enjoy the night air, and quit whining about condensation. That said, it is a three season tent. I’ve never tried it in full winter conditions, nor would I want to. It’s too small to fit a wood stove.

    I am 5’10, 170 lbs. It is luxurious for one person. It is cozy for two people. For two of us and our two year old daughter it is at maximum capacity. With a second child imminent we are shopping 4 person tents and will most likely buy another Marmot.
  • Big room
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike from Nj on Tuesday, November 7, 2017
    I like the double door
  • Marmot Ajax 2 tent
    Reviewed by Iowa winters from Iowa on Sunday, July 9, 2017
    Love this tent. Two doors and vestibules is great. We have used it for backpacking and its great to have a dry place for 2 packs. Lightweight to carry. Room enough inside for 2 females.
  • Great Bang for the Buck
    Reviewed by akrafty1 from NC on Monday, June 12, 2017
    Having used this tent for a while I am really happy with it. Understand going in that it is a compact backpacking tent that is a simple efficient design and you will be happy. It sets up fast and is well designed. The pockets in the mesh are a nice touch. The fly gives fantastic coverage and has great vestibules. The tent is easy to get into and out of and is very comfortable.

    I wish more equipment was as efficient as this. no bells or whistles just a great tent at a fantastic price.

    I did replace the stakes with MSR stakes and use a generic footprint.
  • worst tent I've ever owned
    Reviewed by HoneyParker from Florida on Tuesday, February 7, 2017
    It gets a star for simple set up....I've been a camper for over 50 years and have owned a few tents over the decades. For the life of me, I can't figure out how so many love this tent.
    First, it's really small. I'm 5'7"/120lbs and I feel cramped. I can't lay flat without my feet or head touching the end of the tent. Two adults? Can't imagine.
    The vestibule doesn't tie down tightly. Only one side (the short side) can be rolled up and secured open to allow you to squeeze into the tent. It's VERY awkward. Granted, when I was younger and more flexible this wouldn't have been such an issue. But I'm still a [...] yogi, and I dread getting in and out of this cocoon.
    I've only used this beast in decent weather conditions, so I can't speak of it's hardiness in bad storms. I'm ISO a replacement and plan to donate this to Goodwill.....

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Do you accept international orders paid by visa ? I am in Hongkong right now and it seems there isnt any Marmot retailers around. I am willing to pay the DHL delivery fee .”
    Asked by gordon from hongkong on 8/18/2016 9:46:01 PM
    • We do accept Visa. All of our international shipping information can be viewed here: http://www.sierratradingpost.com/lp2/international-orders/
      Answered on 8/19/2016 7:47:24 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “What is the coating on the floor and the fly?”
    Asked by Wil from Florida on 7/19/2016 4:34:33 PM
    • I'm sorry but I'm unable to help with this question. I set it up once so far, (in the living room) and stretched out in it. Seemed roomy and quite comfortable. Can't beat the price.
      Answered on 7/19/2016 11:39:25 PM by Stan from California.
  • “Can anyone recommend a footprint that would fit this tent?”
    Asked by Becky C from Michigan on 5/28/2016 11:50:20 AM
    • Yes: Big Agnes Scout Plus and Super Scout footprint fits perfectly
      Answered on 5/28/2016 9:28:44 PM by Poudre Mike from Timnath, CO
  • “Does the Marmot Trailight 2 footprint work with this tent?”
    Asked by Amy B from Michigan on 3/2/2016 10:06:40 PM
    • I can't guarantee it as we don't carry the Traillight 2, but they do have the same floor dimensions, so I would think it would work.
      Answered on 3/4/2016 10:29:26 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Does this tent come with a footprint?”
    Asked by Julian from Austin on 1/27/2016 10:42:38 AM
    • No, it does not.
      Answered on 1/27/2016 5:35:13 PM by Lucy from Montana
    • This item does not have a footprint.
      Answered on 1/28/2016 10:15:41 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post

About Marmot

Conceived in a university dorm room by a pair of climbing buddies, Marmot Mountain Works first opened its doors in the spring of 1974 in Grand Junction, Colorado. At the time, the base of operations was a 100-year-old stone building. That same year, the first Marmot down jacket was produced specifically for an action flick called “The Eiger Sanction,” starring legendary actor Clint Eastwood. In the four decades since, Marmot has continued to engineer reliable gear that exceeds the expectations of outdoor athletes. Today, Marmot tents, backpacks, outerwear, clothing and Marmot sleeping bags are still pushing the limits in the planet’s most challenging conditions, from the summits of the world’s highest mountains to the deepest river basins.