Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$179.99 Save 30% Compare at $259.00
Pale Pumpkin/Terracotta (01) Reset selected color
Loading
In Stock 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Marmot Ajax 3 Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Dependable and easy to set up, Marmot's Ajax 3 tent minimizes weight by keeping things simple yet highly functional. Mesh panels provide optimal ventilation and a Catenary Cut floor lifts seams off the ground for full waterproof protection in nasty weather.

Specs

Specs about Marmot Ajax 3 Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

  • Seasons: 3-Season
  • Capacity: 3-Person
  • Packed weight: 6 lb. 2 oz.
  • Pack size: 23x7-1/2"
  • Peak height: 46"
  • Floor dimensions: 93x66"
  • Floor area: 42 sq.ft.
  • Tent floor material: Nylon
  • Number of doors: 2
  • Number of vestibules: 2
  • Vestibule area: 19 sq.ft.
  • Number of poles: 3
  • Tent pole material: DAC® aluminum
  • Tent wall material: Polyester
  • Rain fly material: Polyester
  • Stakes: Aluminum
  • Stuff sack: Yes
  • Recommended use: Backpacking
  • Made in China
  • Prop 65: This product may contain a chemical or substance known to the state of California to potentially cause reproductive harm
  • Visit our Tent Guide
  • Cannot ship to Australia
  • Cannot ship to New Zealand

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.612903 5 Overall Rating: 4.6 Based on 186 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Great tent
Verified Buyer Reviewed by Craig in the mtns from mtns of PA on Sunday, June 17, 2012
Used the tent this weekend for the first time. Very easy to set-up. Very packable for an adventure motorcycle. Weather was good, so I don't know about ability in the rain, but all of the tent seams appear to be of high quality.

There is no footprint; I used a cheap 8x10 tarp. The short side of t... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Marmot-Ajax-3-Tent-3-Person-3-Season Remove reviews search
  • Great Tent
    Reviewed by 12teachscience from Wyoming on Sunday, August 19, 2018
    I have an older version of this tent I have used for 4 years. It was a year end model close out that I got at a very good price from Sierra Trading Post. I only have an opportunity to use it 3 or 4 times a year. I use it with my wife as a backpacking tent. I have been extremely pleased with the tent. It is however only comfortable for 2 people but I realized this before I bought it. With our air mattresses we could not get 3 people in it. We weathered a night of heavy rain on the Pebble Creek trail in Yellowstone with no leaks and without a footprint. It is quick and easy to set up and take down. The 2 vestibules and entrances are very convenient especially if it rains. They are good for entering without crawling over things inside and for storage. The only negative is that it is a little heavy for backpacking. That being said the extra weight has been worth it.
  • The Vision is Real
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by tiarefait from Pennsylvania on Thursday, August 16, 2018
    This is such a cool tent... the bottom is sealed, but the top is nothing but net. I set it up in my living room, by myself, in 15 minutes at a leisurely pace and was very impressed at how they engineered the mesh. The clips that fasten to the tent poles are sewn securely to the mesh on the seams, which makes it quite durable (I had no fear of ripping the netting). With the cover in place, I'm sure this tent will withstand all 3 seasons comfortably. I also like the dual entrance / breezeway. This tent will be with me until the end.
  • Ajax4
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ryan from Pennsylvania on Monday, May 21, 2018
    This is a good tent for the money. Setup is fast and straight forward, it's roomie and relatively light weight for what it is. The only negative I can see is that the bottom of the tent is thin .
  • Fantastic Find
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by COWABUNGGGGGGAAAAHHHH J from South Carolina on Saturday, May 5, 2018
    It is a great all warm season tent, simple and brainless set up that takes but a minute. Great for two people with a little extra room for pacls and such easpecially on a great starry night. I would look into securing the rainfly a little tighter to contain heat if planning to use it during cooler nights. The is a gap on the bottom that allows for air in which is great for venting when warm but might be a downer in the mountiains.
  • Small for a 3P
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rh!no from Colorado on Wednesday, April 25, 2018
    Tent functionally is par. Overall its small for a 3P maybe 2P+ dog. I returned this tent.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Is this a tent that would be easy for one person to set up alone? Looking for a tent for me and my 90lb Rottweiler.”
    Asked by Akb1113 from Michigan on 6/28/2018 9:51:24 PM
    • I don't mind setting this style up by myself, it's not too bad at all really.
      Answered on 6/29/2018 11:22:22 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
    • havent used it yet but it seems big.
      Answered on 6/29/2018 11:27:19 AM by ddjfoster from oregon
  • “How many pieces/segements are each of the poles in? Roughly how long are each of the pole pieces/segements?”
    Asked by JennyJo from Tennessee on 6/12/2017 7:34:03 PM
    • Each pole assembly consists of 8 segments of about 22" that are held together by an internal elastic band. The segments fit end to end to create a pole of approximately 165" total length. All it takes are these two assemblies crossing at the mid point to set the tent up. It's extremely easy and we love it.
      Answered on 6/13/2017 4:00:02 PM by MichaelDSikora from Ohio
    • The poles break down into 8 pieces approximately 22" each.
      Answered on 6/15/2017 8:29:48 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Is it a problem that the tent doesn't have a footprint? Is the bottom waterproof or do I need a tarp?”
    Asked by Ann the Hiker from Minnesota on 5/29/2017 7:22:05 PM
    • The floor is waterproof but I ordered a footprint from gofastlite to protect the bottom from rocks, twigs, etc.
      Answered on 5/29/2017 8:18:53 PM by MichaelDSikora from Ohio
    • According to information listed under the product Overview, this item has a fully waterproof floor with taped seams lifted off the ground.
      Answered on 5/30/2017 9:13:39 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “One review said the length was 86" and not 93" as advertised. Is the width truly 63"? I want this for a roomy 2 person camp tent.”
    Asked by Brett A from Washington on 9/4/2016 12:54:07 PM
    • No, most tents have "bathtub floors" where the seams rise off the ground to protect the floor from water. The measurements listed on tents are frequently seam to seam. This is the case with this tent, as it's not really 63" across unless the bathtub floor were laid flat. I measured, and I forget what it was exactly, but the ground width is less than 63.
      That said, it's a super roomy two person tent and a pretty great deal. (Wide and long sleeping mats are generally 25" wide, more standard backcountry mats are 20" wide. Extra extra extra wide mats are 30" wide, so you would easily be able to fit two of any of these in the tent, and there is ample vestibule room for packs and gear, as well as room inside the tent for gear/clothing making a mess etc.)
      Answered on 9/4/2016 1:22:03 PM by hike bike cook from Seattle
    • I use this as a 1 person camp tent and wouldn't call it "roomy". You might also want to note that you have to really bend over to get in and out with the extra vestibule in front of you. I have the tent packed up presently but will be using it in a few weeks to go camping. I really enjoy it but wish I had paid more attention to the height inside and the opening for getting in and out. I do enjoy it and wouldn't have any other tent right now. I use a single air mattress that fits inside with not much room for other stuff. You might want to rethink using it as a roomy 2 person tent, unless we are talking about a different model tent.
      Answered on 9/4/2016 5:27:31 PM by Happy Camper from Florida
    • I don't have the tent handy to measure the dimensions, but like you, I bought this tent intending it to be a roomy 2 person tent. I used it several times this past summer (me at 6'4" with my son who is 5'9") and it did suffice. We kept out backpacks outside under the vestibules. I was impressed with the tent but don't have much experience. I was hoping it might fit a third person too next year (another one of my boys who might be around 5' then), but it might be too snug. We'll see.
      Answered on 9/4/2016 8:10:20 PM by Bunkman from Montana
    • I measured about the same - 86" x 63". I would consider it roomy. Have only used it for 2 people so far on several backpacking and several camping trips and have had plenty of room to set up bedrolls and store our stuff/backpacks inside with us. Will be using it for 3 people at the end of the month.
      Answered on 9/7/2016 8:08:11 PM by FB from Wisconsin
  • “hello is the whole tent mosquito netting? thats what im looking for. Just want to make sure thanks”
    Asked by rick from california on 11/3/2015 1:46:44 PM
    • the "bathtub" floor is solid, but, as in the picture, the whole tent upper is mosquito netting. It comes with a waterproof rain fly. If the weather is nice, its absolutely super to sleep without the rain fly and see the stars. We love ours.
      Answered on 11/3/2015 2:06:20 PM by hike bike cook from PNW
    • Not the entire tent. Id say it's 90% mosquito netting, that's really durible and flexible - to a certain extent ..obv. the bottom is a different material. Which is also strong and durible. Slept in snow in Yosemite a few weeks ago (north dome) and it was great.
      Answered on 11/3/2015 2:55:38 PM by Jose C from CALIFORNIA
    • It is true to the picture. The entire top portion is a mosquito netting and the bottom is a waterproof solid material. Then there is the rain fly. I hope this answers your question.
      Answered on 11/7/2015 4:21:53 AM by VMS from Iceland
    • Yes, it is!
      Answered on 11/10/2015 9:16:21 PM by The Outddors Girl from Upper Peninsla of Michigan

About Marmot

Conceived in a university dorm room by a pair of climbing buddies, Marmot Mountain Works first opened its doors in the spring of 1974 in Grand Junction, Colorado. At the time, the base of operations was a 100-year-old stone building. That same year, the first Marmot down jacket was produced specifically for an action flick called “The Eiger Sanction,” starring legendary actor Clint Eastwood. In the four decades since, Marmot has continued to engineer reliable gear that exceeds the expectations of outdoor athletes. Today, Marmot tents, backpacks, outerwear, clothing and Marmot sleeping bags are still pushing the limits in the planet’s most challenging conditions, from the summits of the world’s highest mountains to the deepest river basins.