Customer Reviews Of:
Marmot Ajax 3 Tent - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Dependable and easy to set up, Marmot's Ajax 3 tent minimizes weight by keeping things simple yet highly functional. Mesh panels provide optimal ventilation and a Catenary Cut floor lifts seams off the ground for full waterproof protection in nasty weather.

Average Rating based on 176 reviews 4.636363 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 18
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Annette from North Carolina on Tuesday, July 4, 2017
    Bought this tent in preparation for a camping trip in August, but have already used it twice, and love it. Easy up, easy to attach rain fly and to cinch up tight. With the everyday/evening rains, it has kept me dry and happy. I love it. Light weight, easy to pack up. No muss no fuss! I'm a happy camper.
  • Reviewed by the_magikal_bean from Texas on Friday, June 16, 2017
    excellent-value, tent is awesome and easy to set up. love the mesh-dome look. the rain tarp needs more ventilation and I'd be worried about the mesh ripping. I would upgrade the tent stakes because they are minimal. very study and love that orange look. if you think you'll like it you'll probably love it, especially at this price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Clinger from SE Louisiana. on Tuesday, April 25, 2017
    I am in south Louisiana so I needed a well vented semi compact tent for car / four wheeler camping and possible use for canoe camping on rocky beaches in Arkansas i.e. I was not weight concerned. I use hammocks most of the time. I have been running a small 2 man seira design for twenty plus years but I have to drink too much now to make a wimpy pad comfortable so I wanted something to fit a mattress. REI has a nice 6 inch air mattress with dims to match this tent footprint and with the mesh upper I was in. I have only set this up in the house but I am pleased. Slept in it twice in the den with my son and it looks like everything is in order. Quick setup. Free standing. Big vests on both sides. Daddy likes. Highly recommend.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MichaelDSikora from Ohio on Tuesday, April 11, 2017
    So far we have set the tent up twice inside the house. Real easy for a beginning camper like me!
    Can't wait to take it outside to try it!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SeaShell from California on Thursday, November 10, 2016
    Ordered this tent based on a recommendation of a coworker. Our last tent ended up leaking in a storm and we just had it. Needed something that could handle water. We haven't taken this tent out yet, but based on other reviews, I have good faith. The other day we did a test run on putting the tent together, it's very easy to set up. Spacious on the inside. We picked the 3 person tent only because we like extra room to place our luggage in.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by grandmak from California on Monday, October 31, 2016
    I have not used this tent although I did set it up to check it and found it reasonably easy to put up alone. It will be roomy for 2 people and possible for three people. It does not come with a ground cloth but I will purchase a 6'x8' tarp. One should always use a tarp under a tent, both to keep it clean and to avoid punctures. Remember to tuck it so that any rain runs off and not under, and to use a trowel to dig a trench if heavy rain is expected. I found the poles and the stakes in the package, plus an emergency pole repair sleeve and some line to stake the tent in high winds. My one complaint is that there are tie-offs for the rain fly only on one side, whereas one might not want to use the vestibule in really nice weather. I plan to add an extra tie-off. There are doors on both sides of the tent, which I like. So far I am happy with the tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shawn from Colorado on Wednesday, September 21, 2016
    One of the easiest tents I've ever set up and can easily be done with one person. Only used once so far, but we are very happy with the purchase. It doesn't come with a footprint; however, those can be purchased easily after-market.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Family backpacker from Idaho on Tuesday, September 6, 2016
    We used this tent for the first time backpacking this weekend and it was perfect. We bought it to accommodate our growing family as a two-person tent was just too small for the husband, child and myself. This tent is light-weight, easy to set up and roomy enough for a bouncing toddler. The vestibules also had plenty of space for the two dogs and gear. The one downside of the tent (and the trip) was it rained on us during the night and there was some water leakage if you touched the rain cover. We didn't get dripped on or anything like that, but if you rubbed up against it on the inside you got a little wet. Not a big deal all in all. It is definitely a good find for the price!
  • Reviewed by Happy Camper from Florida on Sunday, August 21, 2016
    Most folks don't want to spend money for tents, but I invested in my 3-person, 3-Season and I love it. It sets up pretty fast and it does give great ventilation. I had to get used to the extended vestibule when getting in and out of the tent but did fine once I got used to it. I camped at the Dry Tortugas in Florida for two nights with this tent and stayed totally comfortable in strong winds. I've used the tent several times camping in hot, buggy, rainy Florida and found I was the only one that stayed dry in the rains. Glad to know that others use "cheap tarps" versus paying for footprints. I throw a little mat in the front vestibule and even a tiny step stool in the tent for "stuff", so it's great.
  • Reviewed by Julz from Lafayette on Wednesday, August 17, 2016
    I love this tent! This is actually the third one I am buying. It is super breathable, amazing for stargazing and ventilation, goes up in 5 minutes and the double exit with the vestibules is the best! My singular warning is that the mesh screening is very delicate so I would recommend carrying screen patch if you camp with dogs or children who are both hard on equipment! It is also super light and freestanding, which is amazing for a 3 person tent! The price is also a steal for marmot quality!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 18