Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Ethereal Bivy - Conduit® SL

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Ethereal Bivy is an ultralight shelter that uses Conduit® SL AXF fabric for superb harsh weather protection without weighing you down.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews 4.125000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Mushroomer Man from The Rockies on Wednesday, August 22, 2012
    Am most impressed that my sleeping pad fits with the bag in the bivy. Excellent amount of headroom, the breezeway screen adds a nice profile. Just bring your own spikes to bolt the tassel bars down to the Earth.
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Packs Small, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by steve in pton from Pleasanton, CA on Tuesday, July 31, 2012
    Seems well built. Need to try on a hike to fully review. No instructions related to setup. However, MH was most helpful via email.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking, Mountaineering
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Lightweight, Packs Small, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by DebtheHiker from California on Friday, July 13, 2012
    The ethereal bivy is an excellent piece of mountain gear; have used it now for seven nights; two in howling wind; three at elevations higher than 10,000 feet. Set up is quick and intuitive and performance is excellent. No problems in the wind as long as you or your gear (if you are out hiking/climbing) are inside to weight it down. In fact, it perfomed better in the wind than many tents I have used. Comfortable inside; full side zips work well. Ventilation is excellent; minor condensation when the temps dipped outside and I closed the vents. When at base camp in snow I used a lightweight groundcloth underneath and a good, insulating sleeping pad that fit inside under my bag. Packs back into its carry sack quickly and easily. Very satisfied.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Mountaineering
    • Cons: Stakes small
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer, Environmentalist
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Packs Small, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mustang from Columbia, MD on Wednesday, April 18, 2012
    Not cold enough yet to get the full benefits of this bivy, but one day it will be. So far it's great with a quick set up and take down. No problems with excessive condensation, sticky zuppers, or pushy poles which go where they are not wanted. Loads well in the pack, bike, or clipped on front of a fastpack harness for overnight trail runs at higher elevations.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Birdman from Colorado on Tuesday, February 21, 2012
    I haven't used it yet, but trust the maker and they're products. Small and light and will take hiking and fishing for emergency shelter. Great for minimal backpacking. What a great price from Sierra.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Didee99 from Keystone, CO on Sunday, February 12, 2012
    Since I am yet to use this, I am unable to comment on the performance of this bivy. The set-up is easy and the poles give some space around the head area. Construction seems good but I am worried about whether there will be a lot of condesation and how breathable the fabric will be.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Hammer from Skaneateles, NY on Monday, February 6, 2012
    Christmas morning my sons invited me to climb the Grand Teton with them. This sets the bar pretty high for me because my next birthday I will be 70 and I haven't slept on the ground in 35 years. I have embarked on a fitness program and a search for the lightest gear to support me on two nights of camping at 12,000 feet. As soon as I got the Ethereal bivy, I slept in it on a 20F night with 4" of snow fall overnight. I discovered that my very, very old thermarest was too narrow for me at 20". I have ordered a new one that is 25" wide and will resume testing. My first night in the bivy was acceptable. I was warm except for where my arms touched the ground off the sleeping pad. There was some condensation on the inside of the bivy but not objectionable. As of now, I am of the opinion that this is essential for hikes of 6-10 hours whereby weather or accident may keep you out overnight.
    • Best Uses: Alpine hiking
    • Cons: Difficult to use in snow
    • Pros: Lite weight, Size of nalgene
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ddoli from ca on Thursday, January 26, 2012
    Ultra lightweight, Good product. Performance is excellent for the price.
  • Sort by: