Customer Reviews Of:
Mountain Hardwear Ghost Whisperer Q.Shield® Down Hooded Jacket - 800 Fill Power (For Men)

Closeouts. Mountain Hardwear's Ghost Whisperer jacket is engineered from ultralight, ripstop nylon with insulating Q.Shield® down that seals in the heat even when wet. Packable and featuring a low profile that's ideal for layering, the Ghost Whisperer is ready for anything your next backcountry adventure has in store.

Average Rating based on 38 reviews 4.526315 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Judge Jim from Tennessee on Monday, December 4, 2017
    Perfect for backpacking, it's extremely light to the point of I'm still surprised every time I pick it up. Great instant warmth. I wish it had an inside zipper pocket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DogMan from Vermont on Friday, December 1, 2017
    Bought this in hopes of having an "at rest" or "oh no" jacket. It's not that. Too bad, as it is really nice, super light, seems well made. But it's a shoulder season or active wear item, not something that is go to for keeping warm when you need to, or even just for a trail snack in winter. At least not in the North East. Assume some of this is on me for not realizing but dang, so many choices anymore...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MAD from Colorado on Tuesday, November 21, 2017
    This jacket is bound to get mixed reviews. But you have to ask yourself, who is wearing it and why. It's for hiking, thru light weight - ultra light hiking. It packs down small in your pack. Yes, definitely keeps you warm, "activity activated" so walking out your front door and standing in the cold won't do you much good. The build feels delicate, but that's why it's lightweight.

    Bottom line, Ultra Light Hiking Warmth.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WW from WI on Wednesday, March 15, 2017
    This thing is light! And warm! And packs uber small. Definitely a great addition to the backpack at almost no weight penalty. My only concern is durability--the outer fabric just seems fragile, so we'll see how it holds up long term. Overall highly recommended, especially at STP's prices!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KAS from Sierras on Tuesday, March 14, 2017
    Not quite as warm as all of the hype, and it's has a bit too much volume in the middle. Overall a great, light weight insulation layer with a nice athletic fit and fantastic hood.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by train rider from NJ on Tuesday, February 28, 2017
    I'm 6"1' 215#s with ape like arms. The Large fits me very well. I use this jacket as a run-around-town-over-a-tee-shirt-jacket in temps from 20 to 45 degrees. It lives in my ski pack and is pulled out as a mid layer when it gets cold. So packable it's in my work bag and comes out when the train is late and the temps drop. Light and warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trail Tails from California on Friday, February 10, 2017
    I originally ordered this jacket and on my first time using it, I walked by a random bush and it ripped a hole in one of the sleeves. SierraTtrading Post exchanged the jacket for me no questions asked. I couldn't be more happy with the product and my experience at Sierra trading Post. The jacket is super lightweight, extremely warm and very attractive to the guy. Very happy with my purchase.
  • Reviewed by Dusk the multi-sport enthusiast from New England on Friday, January 6, 2017
    This jacket really is everything that they advertise it to be. It is amazingly warm and windproof for its incredible light weight. It is incredibly versatile I have used it in temperatures ranging from 40- 20 . The most extreme condition I've tested it in so far was 20 degrees with a 35 mile an hour wind on a Mountaintop. With nothing but a long sleeve microweight Merino wool shirt underneath and I was comfortable I could feel the coolness but I was never cold to the point where I felt I should add an additional layer. I rarely pay full price for anything but if this were lost or damaged Beyond repair and I couldn't find it again at this price I will consider buying it at retail
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sun Jian from Hefei on Saturday, December 31, 2016
    The Ghost Whisperer is very thin,and very warm.
    It is very good to put on a coat, suitable for -5 to 5 degrees.
  • Reviewed by John E. from Massachusetts on Friday, December 23, 2016
    Extremely light and comfortable. So light that I was concerned about it being warm enough. What I find is that it might not be the best thing for standing around in the cold, but that any level of even moderate activity really warms this up and that it then retains my body heat excellently. Sleeve are a little long for me, but easily pushed back a bit. Otherw ise fits very well. Hood fits really well and is also warm. I got the silver color, and it is very nice, not as flashy as pictured.



  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4