Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$119.99 Save 33% Compare at $179.95
Lotus Blue (01) Reset selected color
Loading
In Stock 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Mountainsmith Celestial Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Mountainsmith drew on their backcountry knowledge to create the Celestial tent, a versatile, 3-season performer featuring Yunnan aluminum poles that provide 25% more strength than titanium poles.

Specs

Specs about Mountainsmith Celestial Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

  • Seasons: 3-Season
  • Capacity: 2-Person
  • Packed weight: 5 lb. 3 oz.
  • Pack size: 18x7-1/2"
  • Peak height: 43"
  • Floor dimensions: 92x56"
  • Floor area: 35 sq. ft. sq.ft.
  • Bathtub floor: Yes
  • Tent floor material: 75 denier polyester with 5000mm polyurethane coating
  • Number of doors: 2
  • Number of vestibules: 2
  • Vestibule area: 17 sq. ft. sq.ft.
  • Number of poles: 2
  • Tent pole material: Aluminum alloy
  • Tent wall material: 68 denier polyester
  • Rain fly material: 68 denier polyester ripstop with 2000mm polyurethane coating
  • Stakes: Aluminum
  • Stuff sack: Yes
  • YKK®
  • Recommended use: Backpacking
  • Made in China
  • Visit our Tent Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.413533 5 Overall Rating: 4.4 Based on 133 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Great 1-Man Tent!
Reviewed by Sunhammer from The Pacific Northwest on Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Me - - - - - - - - - - - -Solid outdoors-man. My pack weighs in at 40 pounds so ultralight is not for me.
Mountainsmith Celestial Tent - - - 4.5 stars rounded up
Where Used - - - - - Lower Mt. Hood, Pacific Coast, and Eastern Oregon High Desert.
TLDR - - - - - - - - - -Great Tent. Well sewn, goo... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Mountainsmith-Celestial-Tent-2-Person-3-Season Remove reviews search
  • Month-long Ungava Expedition
    Reviewed by Paint N Paddle Studio from Vermont on Sunday, September 16, 2018
    In preparing for an expedition from Hudson Bay to Ungava Bay, I found myself looking for a one-person tent. By "one-person" I mean what tent manufacturers rate as two. I was hesitant to buy this one though, ironically because it was so cheap! I found it on sale at Sierra Trading Post's new outlet in South Burlington, Vermont for $75! How good could it be? I went over it thoroughly though and it checked most of the boxes. It was early yet (May) and I figured I had time to get another tent if it seemed necessary. Never got around to looking for another tent of course so this one went in the kit as we departed for Montreal and then Umiujaq, Quebec on the east shore of Hudson Bay.

    Ungava is famous for horrendous weather and hordes of biting flies, so a good, reliable tent is critical gear. This tent is good and reliable. It stood up to gale force winds and driven rain without a hitch. Its small footprint made it easy to find a space for (good campsites were few and far between on this route) and it was easy to pitch.

    My only critique and the reason I haven't given it five stars, is the vestibules. They are miserly; only about 12" at the best so that there is barely room to get a pair of river boots in under them. The resultant proximity of the fly to the interior door also meant that the fly had a tendency to get caught in the door zipper. That was not only immediately annoying but could also eventually lead to leaks. That notwithstanding, I've never gotten so much for so little. This tent came through the long and at times difficult expedition with no damage and appears good to go for next time. A good deal at twice what I paid for it.
  • Less is more!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by DE from North Carolina on Thursday, April 12, 2018
    Disclaimer: I just got this tent and haven’t used it outside yet.

    Super easy setup right out of the bag; color-coded and perfect fit for the poles all around. The design is simple and elegant- no bells and whistles, aka less things that could go wrong/break!

    I love that the tent is a perfect rectangle. Two people can fit comfortably in the tent, and there are enough pockets inside to hold valuables.

    The color is somewhat dark with the rainfly, so I plan to get some reflective tape to stick somewhere on the tent for finding it at dusk.

    I think this is a great value for a sturdy and smart tent. Definitely a good deal for someone who is looking to share the weight load with another backpacker for weekend hikes!
  • I bought two - what does that tell you?
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kris hikes Flagstaff from Flagstaff, Az on Thursday, March 8, 2018
    I purchased my first Celestial 2 tent last year for backpacking. It has worked so well we just bought a second Celestial 2 tent for our son who is also an avid backpacker. The tent sets up easily and is very stable in windy conditions. I backpack with my 50lb. dog frequently and the tent is perfect for the two of us. The netting on the tent prevents condensation problems and allows for star gazing when you don't need the rainfly. The vents on the rainfly work well to keep air circulating in the tent. The details in this tent make it a winner in our books!
  • Perfect for me - 1 person no-brainer!
    Reviewed by Jead from New Jersey on Wednesday, January 17, 2018
    I wanted a 1 person tent for car camping. Setup is really fast. Throw in a single or double size air mattress - inflate - and you still have room at your head or foot for an overnight bag or pack - Ideal for me. Full coverage fly, sturdy poles, good ventilation and 2 doors are a bonus. I've been in all kinds of weather from 100 degree heat to full on downpours and the tent has performed perfectly. Wind blasts from the side will try to push it in - but they will fail. Haven't had it out in the snow but I'm sure it will shed snow like a champ. Had this for 3 years now and used it probably 15 - 20 times. Still in like new condition. Replaces a Moss Starlet I paid 4X as much for in the 80's. Features on Celestial are better and durability is on par or better. Enough room for 2 - GREAT for 1. Buy good stakes and the footprint and for $150 or less you're good for a long time.
  • Easy set up And roomy
    Reviewed by Air nav from Wyoming on Sunday, December 31, 2017
    I set it up in the living room when I got it home. Super easy and self-intuitive. The floor is thin so I recommend a ground tarp to protect the bottom and a ground cloth of some type to protect the tent floor from shoes and dog toenails. Suitable for two people of normal size (170 lbs) and a beagle size pooch with some gear. I’ll be using it for motorcycle, airplane and car camping. With rain fly on it immediately started to warm up. Appears to be a comfortable tent and a wise purchase. I’m satisfied so far.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Is there a footprint sold with this tent? If not, can one be purchased separately?”
    Asked by teton cpa from Wyoming on 7/5/2017 8:47:06 AM
    • This item does not come with a footprint. We do not sell one separately.
      Answered on 7/6/2017 11:52:08 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
    • There was not a footprint with this tent. I don't know if there is one sold separately, but I plan to make one with a tarp or heavy drop cloth plastic.
      Answered on 7/7/2017 4:32:36 AM by Greybeard from West Virginia
    • the footprint does not come with - they are available though
      Answered on 1/17/2018 9:26:20 AM by Jead from New Jersey
  • “How much does it weigh?”
    Asked by Raquel from California on 5/30/2017 8:25:54 AM
    • According to information listed under the product Specs: Packed weight: 5 lb. 3 oz.
      Answered on 5/30/2017 10:25:13 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
    • Packed for the trail was under 6 pounds not including footprint
      Answered on 5/30/2017 3:35:45 PM by fixer from Topeka KS
  • “How long are the tent pole sections (not total length when assembled)?”
    Asked by Afry from Ca on 6/30/2014 5:26:16 PM
  • “Hey, just wondering. Does this tent have any interior gear pockets or loops for a gear loft? Thanks!”
    Asked by Mr. Jim from New Mexico on 6/22/2013 11:33:20 AM
    • The tent does have gear pockets.
      Answered on 6/25/2013 2:51:16 PM by Jack from Sierra Trading Post.
    • Yes, it has pockets and a gear loft!
      Answered on 9/1/2013 5:24:47 PM by Karen from Calif.
    • It has many gear pockets and has a floating ceiling vestibule
      Answered on 5/4/2016 4:12:04 PM by Hphiker from Phx az
  • “The tent I received has a seam on the floor where it meets the start of the wall. I thought a "bathtub" by your definition means no seams on the floor?”
    Asked by Johnny the Hiker2 from New Mexico on 5/14/2013 9:30:41 PM
    • no, bathtub designs means the floor goes up on all 4 sides - like a tub - majority of tents have seams on the floor. As long as they are taped, it's all good
      Answered on 5/30/2013 2:03:45 PM by ipartner48 from Alberta

About Mountainsmith

Founded in 1979 by legendary outdoorsman Patrick Smith, the Mountainsmith brand has become synonymous with rugged, adventure-ready gear, including tents, sleeping bags, backpacks, fanny packs, trekking poles and the popular modular hauler system. For more than 35 years, Mountainsmith backpacks and lumbar packs have been engineered to meet the rigorous demands of backcountry adventure. Whether it’s an alpine climbing expedition or an easygoing day hike, you can trust these products to go the distance. Experience the difference for yourself, and you’ll quickly understand why Mountainsmith is fittingly represented by an anvil logo. Mountainsmith backpacks, tents and camping gear are simply among the most reliable on the market today.