Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$29.99 Save 40% Compare at $50.00
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Mountainsmith Dog Pack - Small

Closeouts. Sized for spaniels and terriers, this dog pack has Mountainsmith high-performance features; it allows your best friend to tote water, food and accessories with ease.

Specs

Specs about Mountainsmith Dog Pack - Small

  • Material: 600 denier rip stop nylon
  • Capacity: 420 cu.in. Dog girth: 20 - 30" (Cocker Spaniel / Terrier) Min. torso length: 15"
  • Weight: 15.6 oz.
  • Dimensions: Each pack 8x8x3-1/2" (HxWxD)
  • Made in Viet Nam

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.060344 5 Overall Rating: 4.1 Based on 116 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Nice pack
Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andrea from Alabama on Tuesday, July 19, 2011
I wanted to get a pack for my dog that is a mutt that's around the size of a border collie (48 pounds) and the small size fits him fine. I like this pack for a few reasons. The compression straps on the sides of the pockets lets you really secure the load. It also has a bungee to attach stuff to the... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Mountainsmith-Dog-Pack-Small Remove reviews search
  • nice hiking pack
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Monster (the dog) from North Carolina on Saturday, December 13, 2014
    I am pleased with this pack, it came in a timely fashion, is attractive(which we all know is important to our dogs), and appears to be well made. I have a pit bull (med. size) who is all muscle but trim. Although skeptical, after reading other reviews I decided to order the small-its fits perfectly. I did measure him like the instructions on the site said and he measured right on the s/m line. If I had ordered a med. however I feel that it would have been too big and slid around making the pack uncomfortable to carry. The small works great with even a bit of room for adjustment in the straps. My only complaint would be that the packs are a bit on the small side. They are perfect for day hikes but if you want to have your dog carry some gear for a weekend camping trip there would be room for his food, water, etc. but not much else. All in all I, and my dog, are pleased!
  • Awesome!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anita from Nomad on Monday, September 22, 2014
    Got the small for our golden/Aussie mix (48 lbs) and it fits great!
  • Nice pack!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by cneajna from Texas on Monday, September 15, 2014
    We purchased this for our Pom. Fits her perfectly and she looks great in it.
  • came off and was gone
    Reviewed by sparklepoop from Arizona on Monday, August 4, 2014
    as other users stated, the buckles are not perfect and we got a dud one (partner ordered it) and the pack was gone on hike #2! and not found.....
    cannot recommend this because of that.......
  • Dog Backpack
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aussiemini from WA on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
    My dog always seemed comfortable carrying her Kelty pack, even when fully loaded. Not so with this pack, even when the weight does not exceed that of the Kelty. I believe the problem is the width across the shoulders, between the panniers--5" for the Kelty, only 3.5" for the Mountainsmith. This does not allow the panniers to hang naturally, placing undue pressure on the ribs.

    Other than the problem mentioned, the pack appears to be well made. If you have a real narrow bodied dog, this may be the pack for you.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Hello there my dogs gerth is a 32" She is a mix of Pitbull and Boxer. She is around 60 lbs. I am torn on wether to get her a small or a medium. She is not a pack dog, but it is nice to have some of her essentials at hand when hiking into the back country.|Any one have similar situations?”
    Asked by Amy from Anacortes on 8/22/2012 12:00:00 AM
  • “How do you measure the dog for sizing?”
    Asked by Bob from Sherrills Ford, NC on 4/22/2012 12:00:00 AM
    • You will need to measure the widest part of your dogs chest. The vest will fit chest girths of 20 -30". thanks for asking and have a great day.
      Answered on 4/23/2012 12:00:00 AM by Prod. Spec. Ryan from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Is this too large for my mini dachshund?”
    Asked by Becca from Grants Pass, Oregon on 11/24/2011 12:00:00 AM
    • Most reviewers have wrote that the Mountainsmith Dog Pack is perfect for Border Collies and 34 lb. beagle mixes. I hope this helps.
      Answered on 11/28/2011 12:00:00 AM by Prod. Spec. Ryan from Sierra Trading Post
  • “are the pockets removable?”
    Asked by Drewby from Ophir, CO on 10/13/2010 12:00:00 AM
    • No this is a one piece pack where the pockets are stationary.
      Answered on 10/14/2010 12:00:00 AM by Customer Care from Sierra Trading Post

About Mountainsmith

Founded in 1979 by legendary outdoorsman Patrick Smith, the Mountainsmith brand has become synonymous with rugged, adventure-ready gear, including tents, sleeping bags, backpacks, fanny packs, trekking poles and the popular modular hauler system. For more than 35 years, Mountainsmith backpacks and lumbar packs have been engineered to meet the rigorous demands of backcountry adventure. Whether it’s an alpine climbing expedition or an easygoing day hike, you can trust these products to go the distance. Experience the difference for yourself, and you’ll quickly understand why Mountainsmith is fittingly represented by an anvil logo. Mountainsmith backpacks, tents and camping gear are simply among the most reliable on the market today.