Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$129.99 Save 34% Compare at $199.95
Citron Green (01) Reset selected color
Loading
In Stock 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Mountainsmith Equinox Tent - 4-Person/3-Season

Closeouts. Known for making premium packs, Mountainsmith utilized their backcountry expertise to create the Equinox tent, a versatile 3-season performer featuring lightweight Yunnan aluminum poles that provide 25% more strength than titanium poles.

Specs

Specs about Mountainsmith Equinox Tent - 4-Person/3-Season

  • Seasons: 3-Season
  • Capacity: 4-Person
  • Packed weight: 6 lb. 7 oz.
  • Pack size: 19-1/2x8"
  • Peak height: 52"
  • Floor dimensions: 96x84"
  • Floor area: 56 sq ft sq.ft.
  • Bathtub floor: Yes
  • Tent floor material: 75 denier polyester with 5000mm polyurethane coating
  • Number of doors: 2
  • Number of vestibules: 2
  • Vestibule area: 30 sq. ft sq.ft.
  • Number of poles: 2
  • Tent pole material: Aircraft aluminum
  • Tent wall material: 68 denier polyester
  • Rain fly material: 68 denier polyester ripstop with 2000mm polyurethane coating
  • Stakes: Aluminum
  • Stuff sack: Yes
  • Recommended use: Backpacking
  • Made in China
  • Visit our Tent Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.370786 5 Overall Rating: 4.4 Based on 89 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Great Tent - 3 years and going strong!
Reviewed by Fenwick Periwinkle from Oregon on Wednesday, February 24, 2016
I thought I would write a review due to a previous review that questioned the quality of this tent. I bought this tent from STP about 3 years ago and it is still going strong. I have spent nights in it when it is sub-freezing, nights when it is hot and buggy and also nights that were rainy - from... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Mountainsmith-Equinox-Tent-4-Personand3-Season Remove reviews search
  • Route 66
    Reviewed by Route66Rider from AZ on Thursday, July 26, 2018
    My sister bought this tent and has taken it on many of her adventures. We just finished biking Route 66 this summer and that tent was a lifesaver! During a lightening storm we had a tree fall on us and brake the orange tent pole, so we had to splint and tie it every night we camped after that bc there wasn’t really a way to order a new one along the route. The tent has a lot of ventilation-2 mesh walls and mesh door windows that can be opened or closed. Also has 2 mesh pockets in the corner to hold phones and things so they don’t get lost in the tent. Lots of loops and things around the tent for hanging flashlights or a fan! We fit 4 adult women in there, it was shoulder to shoulder, but it was nice only having to pack, pay for (in certain camping sites), and set up one tent.
    The tent fly is water proof and kept us dry during many a rainstorm!
    Love this tent!
  • Took out this weekend
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kevin from Tennessee on Monday, July 2, 2018
    Just got it in the mail and took it out this weekend. It will fit a queen sized airmatress which is important for me and my gf. We had heavy (but short lasting) rain and the tent did not leaking at all.

    Super easy to set up for a novice camper, quite roomy if you do a smaller air mattress. It can fit 2 people, a full sized air mattress and I'd say 1 maybe 2 full sized dogs.

    With the queen we can fit our dufflebags in the tent easily and some random things.

    My biggest concern is airflow, bit if the rainflu is on and it's not raining just unzip both doors. If you want more airflow take the rainfly off completely. I'd suggest 2 battery operated fans as well.
  • Not a 3-Season Tent
    Reviewed by WyomingAlpine from WY on Friday, June 15, 2018
    This tent is only for good weather (when you don't really need a tent). It has only 2 poles and they are flimsy. This tent collapses and twists in even light winds. This is like the kind of tent you buy at Walmart called "camp friend" or something. A 15 mph wind will lay it on the ground. This is more of a toy than a tent. Spend a little more, get a real tent. I returned mine.
  • So far so good!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Amanda from Colorado on Thursday, July 20, 2017
    I have taken this tent out only once so far this season, but so far so good! It appears well-constructed, very simple to set up, and I really like the zip up window flaps on each door. Not sure how it will stand up in super windy conditions, but is still a great tent for the price.
  • only a dip in torrential rain
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Guilford hiker from Northeast on Monday, July 17, 2017
    I recently returned from a canoeing trip of the Adirondacks and we had torrential rain one night. there were only drips from the top vents. Other major brands of tents in our group were swamped. the only drawback is that the fly doors are a bit cumbersome to get in and out of and the screen door swings opens into the tent because of the angle. But it was a good, easy to set up tent suitable for wet climates. The venting was good so it didn't rain back condensation.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Will the screens on the tent keep out No-see-ums and other very small insects? ”
    Asked by Laura from Minnesota on 7/7/2017 9:47:30 AM
    • I could not find it listed specifically as keeping out No-see-ums, but after looking at it, I would think that it should work just fine.
      Answered on 7/7/2017 4:45:27 PM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
    • Yes. The screens work very well for me. This tent is a good quality tent, and the mesh is very fine.
      Answered on 7/7/2017 9:40:20 PM by Inua from Massachusetts
  • “Does this tent come with a foot print, or does it have to be purchased separately? ”
    Asked by Jules from San Francisco on 10/2/2016 9:53:56 AM
    • No, it doesn't. You'll have to buy one.
      Answered on 10/3/2016 10:19:01 AM by Divadog from Michigan
    • This item does not come with a foot print.
      Answered on 10/4/2016 11:50:32 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Looking for a lightweight tent for 3 oeople for backpacking Appalachian trail. What is the weight of this tent?”
    Asked by Michele from Illinois on 5/1/2016 9:31:46 AM
    • About 7 1/2 lbs I think. Pretty light for a 4 man tent but also kinda tight spaced for 4. It's huge for 3 though.
      Answered on 5/1/2016 12:59:43 PM by Keith FL River Runner from Tampa Bay
    • We apologize, but this item is sold out. We suggest signing up for the My Updates as the best way to monitor incoming products. You will receive email notifications of our newest stock items.
      Answered on 5/2/2016 10:09:25 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “The size says 96 by 84. Are the sides with the doors the 96 or the 84 length? ”
    Asked by Karen from Orlando, FL on 12/2/2015 4:55:23 AM
    • I believe the 96 is the door side. I am fairly tall, I usually sleep parallel with the door and I believe that was why.
      Answered on 12/2/2015 6:18:34 AM by Cam from Killington
    • Yes, the doors are on the long side. It is quite roomy - we slept comfortably this summer: 2 tall adults, a 9 year old, and a 60 pound golden retriever. :)
      Answered on 12/2/2015 7:55:21 AM by JeninWY from Jackson, WY
  • “The specs for the Vestibule: 15 sq.ft. each has to be wrong. The 2013 model from mountainsmith has them at 21 ft² for both. Just wandering if anyone knows the correct Vestibule space on each side of the tent? Thanks”
    Asked by Anonymous from USA on 5/20/2014 6:49:50 PM
    • I helped a friend with essentially this same question last summer and set up my tent and made some rough measurements for him. By my calculations, each vestibule is about 8 sq ft. 21 sounds like it might be a cubic foot specification for the total volume of the vestibules.
      Answered on 5/21/2014 4:36:34 PM by ogg from Southern California

About Mountainsmith

Founded in 1979 by legendary outdoorsman Patrick Smith, the Mountainsmith brand has become synonymous with rugged, adventure-ready gear, including tents, sleeping bags, backpacks, fanny packs, trekking poles and the popular modular hauler system. For more than 35 years, Mountainsmith backpacks and lumbar packs have been engineered to meet the rigorous demands of backcountry adventure. Whether it’s an alpine climbing expedition or an easygoing day hike, you can trust these products to go the distance. Experience the difference for yourself, and you’ll quickly understand why Mountainsmith is fittingly represented by an anvil logo. Mountainsmith backpacks, tents and camping gear are simply among the most reliable on the market today.