Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$49.99 Save 44% Compare at $89.95
Charcoal/Teal/Red/Blue (02) Reset selected color
Loading
In Stock 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Mountainsmith Modular Hauler 3

2nds, slight cosmetic blemishes on fabric. With Mountainsmith's Modular Hauler 3, you'll never waste time looking through your unorganized gear again.

Specs

Specs about Mountainsmith Modular Hauler 3

  • Material: Hauler is 600 denier polyester oxford; cube has 150 denier mini ripstop
  • Capacity: Hauler: 5500 cu.in.; Cubes (each): 1600 cu.in.
  • Weight: 3 lb. 15 oz.
  • Dimensions: Hauler: 15 x 25 x 15"; Cubes (each): 15 x 15 x7.5"
  • Made in China , Viet Nam

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.500000 5 Overall Rating: 4.5 Based on 356 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Much better than the modular 4
Verified Buyer Reviewed by Janet from washington on Saturday, November 1, 2014
The strap that goes around near the top is key. The modular hauler 4 lacks this strap and the entire unit flops around. Also has attachment points for a shoulder strap (that does not come with it) that the Modular 4 is lacking. Yes the extra cube is nice, but having your stuff restrained is nicer... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Mountainsmith-Modular-Hauler-3 Remove reviews search
  • Awesome bag system
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Molly from Colorado on Sunday, July 29, 2018
    We have two of these!! Great for camping or overnight trips for our family of 5. Highly recommend. You can use one bag to pack for a day trip too. Very convenient to put them all in one big bag for transport.
  • Handy for road trips
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sandy from California on Sunday, July 15, 2018
    Love this! I was going to get the 4 cube version but this one fits perfectly behind the back seat of my minivan. Modular design means everyone gets a cube to call their own.
  • As advertised. Love it.
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by KatieKayak from Washington State on Monday, June 18, 2018
    Looking forward to my next trip - holds an amazing amount of gear.
  • Durable
    Reviewed by TripleDog from Washington on Thursday, May 24, 2018
    I bought some of these 12 years ago and still have them and still use them almost daily. They hold a ton of stuff, are incredibly durable, and easy to use. We use them mostly for groceries, but on trips they are perfect for gear for our dogs, camping supplies, etc. Best thing I ever bought and am tempted to buy them again, though the ones I have now are in perfectly good shape.
  • Organized
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Camping Friend from Layton, Utah on Friday, May 18, 2018
    Pros: The zippers are quality made and so is the construction.The individual totes help keep things organized and handy. Con: The individual totes need filled to stay rigid. I purchased the Mountainsmith Modular Hauler 4 in the past and have not had any issues. You can also purchase a cooler tote that will fit this organizer. I use the Mountainsmith Modular Hauler 3 in my Subaru Outback so I can easily move it to a desired location to make room for the dog, human, or whatever.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “The pictures don't match the one shown in the video. Which one are you selling?”
    Asked by Griff from Star Valley, WY on 4/7/2018 10:25:24 PM
    • The one in the video is currently sold out. The item is the images is correct.
      Answered on 4/16/2018 5:14:01 PM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Will if fit under the seat in a commercial airplane?”
    Asked by Stan the Man from South Carolina on 8/30/2016 10:38:36 AM
    • According to the product overview/specs tab: Dimensions: Hauler: 15 x 25 x 15"; Cubes (each): 15 x 15 x7.5"

      Most airlines allowable carry on dimensions are 22”x14”x9” for a total of 45” linear (all together) and weighs 40 lbs. However you may want to check with your air carrier since these may vary some from carrier to carrier
      Answered on 9/1/2016 11:44:49 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
    • Only one case would fit under the seat of a commercial airplane but most definitely not all the cases and tote together. This mod hauler is huge. But one of the colored cases would fit.
      Answered on 9/13/2016 2:05:06 PM by Forge808 from Honolulu
  • “I already own these with the vinyl tops. THEY ARE GREAT! Which colors do you get? The site pictures are confusing. Some show red/blue/green no vinyl top; others show orange/gold/blue with vinyl tops. Description states vinyl tops which the red/blue/green DO NOT HAVE. I would prefer the vinyl tops irrespective of color. Thank you.”
    Asked by Anonymous from MN on 4/25/2016 1:59:10 PM
  • “What color is the carrier? I have seen black, grey and orange so I'm unsure.”
    Asked by Xeries from NJ on 8/1/2015 5:26:07 PM
    • The one we received had a dark grey outer hauler
      Answered on 8/2/2015 8:11:36 PM by thehelferfamily from South Dakota
  • “Can you use this in a BOB bike trailer?”
    Asked by OnEno from NC on 8/23/2013 12:38:49 PM
    • Looking at the cargo area dimensions of the BOB bike trailers on their web site, it would appear the hauler would fit.
      Answered on 8/23/2013 1:14:38 PM by Jack from Sierra Trading Post

About Mountainsmith

Founded in 1979 by legendary outdoorsman Patrick Smith, the Mountainsmith brand has become synonymous with rugged, adventure-ready gear, including tents, sleeping bags, backpacks, fanny packs, trekking poles and the popular modular hauler system. For more than 35 years, Mountainsmith backpacks and lumbar packs have been engineered to meet the rigorous demands of backcountry adventure. Whether it’s an alpine climbing expedition or an easygoing day hike, you can trust these products to go the distance. Experience the difference for yourself, and you’ll quickly understand why Mountainsmith is fittingly represented by an anvil logo. Mountainsmith backpacks, tents and camping gear are simply among the most reliable on the market today.